We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I underestimated the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Budget Dandenong
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Dandenong
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“I underestimated the location”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel and staff were great.

I didn't have a car and I found that the location was a few kms from Dandenong CBD. I stayed on a Saturday evening and the public bus were infrequent and it rained most of the day. Accordingly I used taxis. Had I have paid more attention to where this hotel was located, then I would have opted for one that was in the CBD.

My fault for not considering the location.

Room Tip: The hotel is located in a light industrial area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nipper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudget-Dandenong, General Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and our service despite underestimating the hotel location.Your postive comments about the hotel and the staff means a lot to us.We appreciate your feedback and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    31
    31
    24
    13
See reviews for
24
33
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A beautiful part of Victoria is the Dandenongs, so this hotel ticked all of the boxes for me. Plenty of secure parking for my hire car, close to all of the sights I wanted to explore, and clean, quiet rooms.

I did have trouble locating the hotel with my GPS, so I suggest you use the corner of Edgewood Road and Pacific Highway as the location. The young lady on reception was very friendly and helpful at all times, as were all staff. Initially on the downside, there are no elevators, so I had to carry my bags up the stairs (no major problem). The rooms are fine, but not having carpet on the floor tends to make them feel a little cold. The was no tea making facilities in the room, but thanks to a previous review, I had purchased an immersion element and was able to boil my own water.

Showers were fine, water hot, and mattress firm and comfortable. Would I return, absolutely.

Room Tip: All rooms are budget. If that's what you're after then all rooms will suit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lusky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudget-Dandenong, General Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for the beautiful comments about our hotel and service.We try our level best to look after our guests and cater for their needs.
Our rooms don't come with tea/coffee facilities but that should not stop you from enjoying coffee down stairs in our breakfast area.A kettle is available if you wish to make your own coffee or the coffee machine on ground floor makes excellent coffee at $2/cup.
Your feedback is very much appreciated.Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

After finding ourselves stuck in south east Melbourne at the last minute on a Saturday night, there were not too many options available.
This place has 24 hour check in thru a machine and rooms are auto allocated via this machine.
A machine cannot give bad service, nor good.
It was a bed for the night...that's it.
This hotel is an ex Formulae one ...need I say more?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelforsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudget-Dandenong, General Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest
We thank you for your feedback.Ibis budget are the only hotels with 24hr check-in kiosk.Very handy for a room required after hours.You will need a credit card to check in via the the after hours machine.Yes we were previously called Formule 1.Our hotel has changed name 2 yrs ago to Ibis Budget and rooms have been recently refurbished to match ibis standard.You got to appreciate the budget brands for what it is.Our aim is to offer you a good night sleep at a budget price.
Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dandenong hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dandenong
1.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Dandenong
Ramada Encore Dandenong
#1 of 5 in Dandenong
130 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandown Regency
Sandown Regency
#2 of 2 in Noble Park
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Dandenong
Comfort Inn Dandenong
#2 of 5 in Dandenong
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Atura Dandenong
Atura Dandenong
#1 of 2 in Doveton
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dandenong Motel Melbourne
Dandenong Motel Melbourne
#4 of 5 in Dandenong
24 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandown Heritage Motel
Sandown Heritage Motel
#1 of 2 in Noble Park
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Dandenong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Dandenong

Property: Ibis Budget Dandenong
Address: 185 - 193 Princes Hwy | Cnr. Edgewood Road, Dandenong, Victoria 3175, Australia (Formerly Formule 1)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Dandenong
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Dandenong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Dandenong 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Princes Highway, 1km from the centre of Dandenong,local shops,restaurants and train station.Clean and cosy rooms,featuring television,air-conditioning,clock radio and a private en-suite bathroom.Slide into supercomfy bedding and enjoy a happy sleep without breaking your budget!Queen room,Queen/Bunk room and Twin room.Disabled access rooms also available.At ibis budget,you can come and go as you like around the clock.For your convenience, an arrival kiosk is located at the front of the hotel to check-in or access a room after hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Budget Dandenong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing