We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good aussie pub accommodation”
Review of Australia Hotel

Australia Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cessnock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Australia Hotel
Ranked #12 of 32 Cessnock B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good aussie pub accommodation”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We just spent two nights at the Australia Hotel in Cessnock and stayed in one of the rooms upstairs above the pub. (They also have the motel next door which is another option). It's a nice country pub with good pub-style accommodation - the room was clean (and serviced after the first night) and the shared toilet and bathroom facilities were plentiful and also clean. The pub's car park is gated and locked each night for added security. Our room was close to the main road. We slept with the window open the first night and it was a bit noisy with the road traffic. The second night we closed the window and turned the fan on - small problem solved.

We ate dinner both nights at the Swill n Grill bistro - great feed - moroccan lamb and scotch fillet steak the first night and we both had the pork ribs n steak chips the second night (following our afternoon in the wineries). Best feed of ribs we've had for a very long time - big serve, very meaty, very tender and the hickory BBQ sauce was YUMMO !!! Tip - save a few $ by printing the discount voucher off the hotel's website - by one meal, get the second (cheaper meal) for half price. Use one each time you dine for lunch or dinner, 7 days a week.

All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Thanks for a good weekend. We'll be back.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for a room towards the rear of the hotel, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    28
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
20
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Four of us went to the swill n grill at the Australia hotel for dinner. We had the yummiest meal. I had the pork ribs which were absolutely massive but very nice. Was very reasonably priced and a great night out. If your visiting cessnock go off. Here for a meal you won't be disappointed and the staff were very friendly and the meal didn't take long to come out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitkat071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stopped by this iconic old Aussie hotel in Cessnock while visiting the Hunter valley, it's a traditional old bar that's had a face lift to accommodate a fine bistro serving HUGE portions of very fine food.
Must visit if your in the area.

Room Tip: We didn't stay but rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Came here because of a friends recommendation. The barman was great and acknowledged everyone even though he was quite busy. Food was fantastic, decor was unique and quirky. Little expensive for pub food but because of the quality and service it's worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bellantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The staff in the kitchen are terribly rude, after waiting an hour for food we asked where our meal was at? They became aggressive towards us and told us to calm down even though people who had sat down after us had been served their meals. They told us to wait in the main bar, we waited another hour and still nothing. Finally we gave up and asked for our money back. Elderly men went without a meal that night. The manager of the pub even had a go at where we were from. I would not recommend to stay, eat or visit this pub especially as a
group of golfers like we were. Disgusting behavior by staff, avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dayjob21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed a night in the motel accommodation. This was a little noisy upon arrival around 8pm but it did quieten down when the pub crowd moved on around 10pm. The motel is situated at the rear of the hotel and is cosy, freshly painted with neat rooms. The bathroom/toilet was pokey but sufficed for an overnight stay.This was good value motel and the price was very reasonable for the location midweek. There was all the channels you would need on the TV, minibar and access to good food at the bistro. Breakfast was available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from the rear of the pub if you are seeking a quiet early evening. Not 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Wonderful food, lots of choice, and for a good price too. Very quick for the food to arrive, and there was lots of it. The place was well decorated, and staff were very friendly and attentive. We've eaten here a few times and it's always been great. A wonderful experience overall.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wattostudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cessnock hotels
0.4 mi away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Cessnock
338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cessnock Motel
Cessnock Motel
#1 of 16 in Cessnock
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.8 mi away
Bellbird Hotel
Bellbird Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bellbird
10 reviews
6.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Australia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Australia Hotel

Property: Australia Hotel
Address: 136 Wollombi Rd, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Cessnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Australia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Australia Hotel Cessnock, Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing