We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Thai food and friendly service”

Al-Oi Thai Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 119 Restaurants in Cessnock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
762 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai food and friendly service”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We enjoyed dinner here on a Sunday evening. The restaurant was very busy with takeaways, however service to diners was still good, despite there being only one wait staff on duty. The duck curry was lovely as was the beef with basil and chilli. We will return when next we are in the Hunter.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pechfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    45
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Eat in or takeaway”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Enjoyed dinner, reasonably priced byo. Recommend booking. They seem to sell a lot of takeaway. Seemed very popular with the locals too which is usually a good sign.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathannt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford
2 reviews
“Excellent find after our re-location”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just moved to the area, and of course have to try all of the restaurants in the area. This one has outstanding food, BYO only and the prices are good also...less than $90 for 2 entrees, 2 main courses, saffron rice, 2 desserts, and corkage!
We'll be back

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Firechief62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding staff and extremely tasty meals.”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Been here a number of times with my friends (we studied in Cessnock). Staff were extremely polite and friendly. The food was equally good and deliciously spicy. Atmosphere of the place is peaceful, as it should be. The prices are quite affordable too.

Definitely will return again if possible.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJJINDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A yummy local Thai restaurant!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Though we've never eaten in, this is probably our fave takeaway in the area.
Lovely service and fast takeaway. There appears to be inconsistent delivery service as the owner always seems unsure when we ask and does rather you go in and pick up.
Penang is delicious as is the Green Curry. Prawn Salad a hit too.
We've tried lots and haven't been disappointed :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meikadalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al-Oi Thai Restaurant also viewed

Cessnock, Greater Newcastle
Cessnock, Greater Newcastle
 
Cessnock, Greater Newcastle
Cessnock, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Al-Oi Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing