We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT QUIET LOCATION”

Cumberland Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cumberland Motor Inn
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Cessnock
australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT QUIET LOCATION”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

After several visits to Cessnock we came across this Motel by chance and now wouldn't stay anywhere else. Maybe a bit dated but its spotless, and even though its in the middle of town with short walk to everything you want, "Nowhere Near any Noisy Traffic".
Our room was spacious with a large bathroom and huge shower and our friends had a similar big disabled room next door all on the ground floor. Bed was firm the way we like it and the peaceful location ensures a decent nights sleep, all at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speaktruly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    23
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
22
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This motel was a great choice for our stay in Cessnock. The hotel is very central to the town center, the rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet. We will definitely stay here again when travelling through Cessnock.

Room Tip: Great pubs nearby for food and entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SM_McKinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

For a basic motel, the Comfort Inn has excellent facilities and helpful staff (who checked us in early). A huge room, for those who care about that, and even bathrobes! Centrally located in the town and easy to find, but very quiet (well, the town pretty much shuts after dark…). Cessnock is not really set up for tourists but there are a couple of reasonable restaurants at the far end of the main street from the Inn and everyone we met recommended the 221 Restaurant at the Royal Oak Hotel – though we didn’t get there ourselves. For breakfast we went to the Queen of Tarts bakery, which was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_n_R_Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Found the room to be quite large, although we had booked a room to cater for a family of 3 (2 parents and a baby under the age of one). Kids under two are free with this motel which was a nice change from others that insist on us paying for a family room. The location is quite handy, just a street back from the Main Street of Cessnock, with restaurants, pubs etc.

Room was clean enough, although it was an older-style motel room.

Service was okay, did ask a few questions about the best places for a meal, and was given a very brief, un informative answer (my google search was more helpful in this regard).

The parking is fairly tight when the motel is busy, especially when you have a few large vehicles parked around you.

Overall the motel met our requirements but it wasn't an amazing experience.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Despite non smoking room it still smelt terrible and no wonder with what seemed every other guest in the hotel smoking right outside the room doors, often with the doors and windows open!!

I agree with previous reviewer - this motel just does not cut the mustard with their 3.5 star rating!

Definitely overpriced and over rated - this should be a 2.5 star and well <$100 a night! It cost us over $250 for 4 adults in 1 room!!! No breakfast, no Foxtel, no lift for upstairs rooms.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere! I've had friends stay in the local pubs with fewer complaints than this establish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mad_ELK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cessnock hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

I don't know how this motel is permitted to display 3.5 stars on it's pylon sign, as the facilities although clean, don't come close to 3.5 stars of comfort.

Free parking, but it's Cessnock so free parking is abundant.
No Foxtel/Austar.
Thin, off-white, scratchy towels. Mine with a lovely blood stain.
Goop in the dark shower titled with homemade sign printed off inkjet printer and adhered with school book contact "hair and body wash" I suppose ticks both requirements of Country Confort off this list.
Aged rooms with stale smell.
Rock hard pillows.
Lacking breakfast menu.
Noise from surrounding pubs and restaurants kept us awake.
Hoons on road heard all night long.
$180 for 1 night.... There's gotta be something better!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pusskka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

we stayed for a night in this hotel and i found it to be very comfortable and relaxing. It offered basics such as a microwave and kettle and some cutlery. Our configuration was a queen bed and two single beds plus a baby portacot. It was just one room but our room had the option of being opened on to another or the same configuration. For a night it was pretty good but with kids i would have fond it a challenge for any longer, with all the kids in the same room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eman_fady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cessnock
0.3 mi away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Cessnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
7.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
0.7 mi away
Hunter Valley Motel
Hunter Valley Motel
#12 of 16 in Cessnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hunter Valley Travellers Rest Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Motor Inn

Property: Cumberland Motor Inn
Address: 57 - 61 Cumberland St, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Cumberland)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Cessnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cumberland Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cumberland Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cessnock
Cessnock Comfort Inn
Cumberland Motor Inn Cessnock, Australia - Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing