We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay - very happy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wine Country Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wine Country Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cessnock
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great Place to Stay - very happy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed here for two nights before we headed to Cypress Lakes Resort and the beds were very comfortable. We should have stayed longer. The lady at the front desk was very welcoming and it was very clean and easy. The rooms were very clean and nice and room service was great. It's a quiet location and in the heart of all the main stores, coles, woolworths, big w, target. easy to walk around. Right next door is a lovely hotel for dinner and drinks and very convenient. I would definatley book my stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: There are only two levels, but Im guessing level 2 would be the best (where we stayed) higher up fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    165
    33
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
144
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed here for one night to visit the Hunter Valley Vineyards. Rita at the service desk was wonderful. Very helpful and pleasant. She couldn't do enough for us. I would definitely recommend staying here as an alternative to the overpriced accomodation in the Hunter Valley resorts. The rooms were new, clean and tidy and the patron service was great. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Casualtripper1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hughesdale, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

I was looking for just one night's accommodation in the Hunter Valley for a reasonable price, and stumbled across the Best Western on wotif.com. It's in the centre of Cessnock but away from any noise so it's location is nice and quiet. It's been recently renovated and is a good affordable option as it's only 5 mins from the wineries. It's what you'd expect from a Best Western - clean, comfortable accommodation with no real frills. Suited our needs entirely.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AusScotTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Stayed here for one night before running Hunter valley half marathon next morning. Given price we paid we were very surprised by quality. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emclau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
358 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

RECOMMENDED: This actually is a HOTEL meaning the rooms are not accessible from the street. The property is located on a quieter side street in this rural town. Prices tend to be more reasonable here than a property directly in wine country.

The property is not much to look at from the street. Check-in was friendly and efficient. Hallways had a stylish black carpet and unfortunately showed every spec of dirt. We had booked a KING. Our room was nicely presented and recently renovated with a modern decor and comfortable bedding. Room windows opened slightly. Individual A/C units were not overly noisy. Room lighting was decent. Power is 5x $$ from the US and fluorescent lighting is the norm, unfortunately it usually has provides some strange color cast!

The bathroom was equally modern with a nicely tiled floor and walls. The walk in shower was clean and roomy. As other reviewers have noted, I'm not sure I actually got wet taking a shower! However, in this arid area, water is precious as well. Overall clean, well illuminated and more quite nice.

As other reviewers noted, the huge retro color TV seems a bit out of keeping with the renovation, but it worked fine for the 1 hour it saw usage.

This visit was during the slow winter, hence the hotel was not near capacity and we did not notice any significant noise. For management note: room doors are spring loaded and close very quickly and send noise down the hallways.

Internet is available at an add'l cost. Plenty of lot parking space is available.

NOTE: THE FRONT DESK is not open after 9 p.m.. While there is someone on site, you should contact the hotel if you are arriving in the evening.

SUMMARY: This is a fine choice and perhaps one of the best in Cesscock (from our looking about).

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank roadwarrior30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

Hard to fault this place. Okay, it is not right in the centre of the vineyards, but if you have a car, you can be there in 5-10 minutes. Very modern, however the only anomaly is their purchase of old style NEC TV's. They work okay, but I could not connect my media player to it for some reason. Everything else is great.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raynboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruva3, Manager at Wine Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
Thank you for your comments and rating- I am the new manager of Wine Country Motor Inn and I have just ordered new flat screen televisions- also making several other changes that I am sure you will find an improvement
Your comments , as are all comments, helpful to us as we strive to improve our facilities and services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illawarra, NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

We've stayed here 3 times now, and love coming back. The staff are more than helpful, if you want to do a winery tour (let's face it, who wants to drive?) they pick up from the door and the receptionist stopped us once on the way out to pass us some discount coupons for places the tour stopped. Then when you come back it's a 2m wander across the driveway to the RSL for an evening drink, or go through the shopping centre (if you want to grab your own continental breakfast or something) to the main road for cafes (breakfast choices aplenty) or restaurants (both the Indian & Thai were lovely). You're even right across from the cinema if you want something else to do.

We went from here across to Newcastle once, and you would have fit THAT hotel room into the bathroom at Cessnock - lots of room to spread out and relax.

Basically, if your purpose is to go up the Hunter Valley, relax, enjoy the wineries with someone else driving, and forget about your car until you head home - this is the best way to do it - you couldn't get anything better placed.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrystalsQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cessnock
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
2.3 mi away
Potters Hotel & Brewery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
5.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
0.4 mi away
Cessnock Motel
Cessnock Motel
#1 of 16 in Cessnock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Motor Inn

Property: Wine Country Motor Inn
Address: 5 Darwin St, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cessnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wine Country Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wine Country Motor Inn is located in the heart of the Cessnock CBD just five minutes to the wineries, offering guests the best of both worlds. The convenience and quality of a city property whilst being in close proximity to the renowned Hunter Valley Vineyards as well as the spectacular Hunter Valley Gardens. The Wine Country Motor Inn is delighted to be able to offer one night stays. In fact Wedding Guest accommodation is our specialty (not available on concert or event weekends). We have many great packages on offer, designed to suit all budgets for all major concert weekends and events held in the Vineyards and local area. The Wine Country Motor Inn has fifty rooms, all with modern, elegant décor. We have King, Queen, Twin and Special Access rooms available. All rooms are non-smoking and serviced daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Wine Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cessnock
Cessnock Best Western
Wine Country Motor Inn Cessnock, Australia - Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing