We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and not far from the vineyards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Country Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cessnock
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Value and not far from the vineyards”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A reasonably priced and comfortable alternative to expensive weekend accommodation in the Hunter Valley. Centrally located near Cessnock shops and not far from the main street, it was surprisingly quiet at night. Staff were friendly and helpful - a big plus - and there is lots of parking right at the door which makes access easy as does the lift to the upper floor. My room was clean and modern with most amenities although no electric blanket. A guest laundry on the ground floor is free, along with a microwave and plates/cutlery. An excellent deal if you are happy to stay a short drive away from the wineries.

Room Tip: If you need more room, ask for the suite on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    171
    35
    5
    3
See reviews for
61
150
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here. Centrally located in town close to shops. Short drive to wineries. Reasonable tarriffs. Rooms comfortable with modern furnishings. Staff excellent, very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheekytiki8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Unable to find accommodation close to the wineries that didn't have a two night minimum and wasn't too expensive, we came across this motel (we stayed two nights but our friends were only able to stay one). They accommodate for just one night stays and have a very reasonable tariff. They are close to several shopping centres, restaurants,shops and cafés in the Main Street (Vincent St).
Staff are very friendly and efficient. You are able to have a continental breakfast for an extra fee which we didn't try. They offer a lot of different packages which we might go back for another time. The kingsize (two king singles joined) bed was very comfortable, had a great nights sleep.
Water pressure in the shower is quite low. Room was very clean. Tea and coffee provided. Each room has an air conditioner which is good, because if you don't want it running you are able to turn it off yourself. Would definitely stay again. If looking for dinner, try the Thai or Indian restaurants on Vincent St, about 10 minute walk away. We had breakfast at the Ink Cafe and also ate at Mama's cafe; would recommend all of the above.
The wineries are only a short drive from the Wine Country Motor Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathannt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

If you are looking at a budget hotel closer to the vineyards this could be what you are after. Decent size clean room with all the facilities and excellent service. Close to all the fancy restaurents and luxurious vineyards. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acdp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Excellent location for any activity. We had a deal which included attending the club next door voucher, a vineyard of the month tasting, the club staff were very welcoming & the wine tasting was great. There is a breakfast room which my husband used with a continental breakfast available which was both generous & good value.
While my partner attended a conference nearby the next day I chose to enjoy the late checkout of 2PM which I think was part of the deal, I was able to leave our luggage at reception, wandered the many shops,cafes & found the library in the main street.
The motel was clean, quiet staff were informative & efficient.

Room Tip: I feel most rooms are equal we were on first floor, air con was quiet and room was dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libbyhillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for a wedding in the hunter, good central location in Cessnock, very clean and comfortable accommodation, would stay there again and would recommend it as a place to stay and very good value for money

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binny111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights this weekend for a friend's wedding. It was a busy weekend in the Hunter as there was a concert going on at Tempus Two. Despite that it was quiet, comfortable and clean. Next trip we will consider staying here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katiec8805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cessnock
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
1.9 mi away
Potters Hotel & Brewery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
5.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
0.4 mi away
Cessnock Motel
Cessnock Motel
#1 of 16 in Cessnock
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Motor Inn

Property: Wine Country Motor Inn
Address: 5 Darwin St, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cessnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wine Country Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wine Country Motor Inn is located in the heart of the Cessnock CBD just five minutes to the wineries, offering guests the best of both worlds. The convenience and quality of a city property whilst being in close proximity to the renowned Hunter Valley Vineyards as well as the spectacular Hunter Valley Gardens. The Wine Country Motor Inn is delighted to be able to offer one night stays. In fact Wedding Guest accommodation is our specialty (not available on concert or event weekends). We have many great packages on offer, designed to suit all budgets for all major concert weekends and events held in the Vineyards and local area. The Wine Country Motor Inn has fifty rooms, all with modern, elegant décor. We have King, Queen, Twin and Special Access rooms available. All rooms are non-smoking and serviced daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wine Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cessnock
Cessnock Best Western
Wine Country Motor Inn Cessnock, Australia - Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing