We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location but less than average hotel”
Review of Mantra Chatswood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Chatswood
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chatswood
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good location but less than average hotel”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

It was my first stay in Sydney and in Australia in general so I can compare globally only.
Pluses:
- great location, very close to the shopping mall and train

Minuses:
- I got a room in the 2nd floor with balcony to the backyard and it was extremely noisy there since there was some reconstruction
- I had sheet full of mould
- they forgot to clean my room the first day
- breakfast is absolutely same every day so if you stay there 2 weeks, it is a real pain
- there is Asian guy responsible for that breakfast and he really doesn't care about customers
- nobody asked me for 2 weeks if I would like to get a coffee
- sauna and restroom at the gym is dirty and old

Well, I have to say that the some customer service was trying to solve everything what happened but it simply happened. Moreover I didn't like the approach of breakfast service in that hotel e.g. when you go against the server during the breakfast buffet, they feel they have a right to go instead of being polite and let you go with your plate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    342
    195
    61
    42
See reviews for
220
167
44
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The rooms are decent enough (apart from the very noisy old plumbing) but the reception staff are unhelpful, unfriendly and unprofessional. This property seems to be very poorly managed (I can't speak for other Mantra properties) and it has put me off staying here or another Mantra property again.
They also put 'Policy' and gauging guests ahead of quality customer service ... our family gathering will be spending several thousand dollars over four days and when we asked for a few extra glasses for one of the room, they wanted to charge a ridiculous amount for the privilege. And that was after totally screwing up our reservation.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morleyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Booked in here as we had a function to attend at Chatswood's Concourse Theatre. Have to say that our stay was very restful, our granddaughter really enjoyed the pool area; the beds, while only queen size were comfortable & the self catering facilities in the rooms were more than adequate. A highlight were the 2 ladies on the reception desk. Nothing was a problem & they were very helpful, not just with us, but I noticed they maintained that professional courtesy with other customers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robjac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessicah589, Manager at Mantra Chatswood, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Robjac33
Thank you for taking time to give feedback about your stay at Mantra Chatswood. Its great to read that you had all round great stay and loved the room and pool area facilities. I have passed on to our team the lovely comment about our staff. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Regards
Housang Chavan
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The location is great. Good walking distance to train station, shopping and dining area.

The lobby is small but cozy. Receptionists are nice and helpful. I stayed in an one-bedroom apartment, because the studios are all sold out.

The living room is spacious, but bedroom is relatively small. The beds are cozy. The air conditioning is somewhat difficult to control. It is either too warm or too cold. The pantry is sufficiently equipped.

The bathroom is disappointing. The bathroom is actually big I size, but it has no flat panels to place utensils. Even the shower caps provided by the hotel have to be placed on the toilet tank! The soaps with no soap holders (just no space, I assume) kept falling into the sink! The shower area is so shallow and curtain is so small that water keeps flowing out and wet the entire washroom floor.

The wifi charge is outrageous. AUD20 for a day, and it is limited data usage. It is not user friendly too, as I have to key in a 16-digit code each time when I entered the room. Not sure if this is the standard in Australia, but I don't think it is following international standard.

I was told that the check-out time was at 10:30AM. I asked for an extension to 12:30, but the hotel replied me that I can be out by 11AM and will be charged AUD20 per hour after that. Again, am not sure if this is an Australian standard, but I really find this unacceptable.

My overall experience on this stay is average, but seems to be over priced.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chatswood hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Couldn't get Sydney CBD accommodation due to big event, so booked a little out in the leafy shopping precinct of Chatswood. Nice professional welcome. Large, pleasant apartment, light and airy. Separate bedroom, lounge with dining table, plus roomy kitchen, good bathroom with shower over tub. Bonus over CBD hotels was the reasonably priced room service and minibar. Very comfortable one night stay, plus we got free street parking - I think I'm a convert to out-of-CBD accommodation!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, which I usually hate, but it was light, private and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonthekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessicah589, Manager at Mantra Chatswood, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Ms. Sharon
Thank you for the feedback. It is great to read that the apartment was spaciou and suitable for your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Housang Chavan
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Excellent location for Chatswood or surrounding areas. My one bedroom suite was very spacious and quite comfortable. The bathroom was dated (shower over the bath) but there was plenty of hot water. Probably the biggest down-side was building works going on in a next door building with drilling starting from early in the morning (one would hope that would be something temporary!)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessicah589, Manager at Mantra Chatswood, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Melb22.

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback about your stay at mantra chatswood. I am happy to see you enjoyed our close locations to chatswood shopping area. I am sorry to hear about the buildng work and it was temporary. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to the hotel.

Regards
Housang Chavan
Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Mantra at Chatswood is conveniently situated near the Chatswood railway station with easy access to Chatswood Chase shops.. The rooms are spacious & clean with a desk to work at in comfort.
There are many restaurants nearby should you choose to go further afield for meals.
Breakfast is the usual hotel buffet fare but is well presented.
Staff are friendly & helpful

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imosebtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessicah589, Manager at Mantra Chatswood, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Imosebtan,

Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra Chatswood. I am very pleased to hear you found our rooms spacious and clean and our staff friendly and helpful.

Once again thank you for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Kylie Darling
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatswood
0.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Chatswood
0.3 mi away
Silkari Suites at Chatswood
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Residence Chatswood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Charrington Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel
#2 of 2 in Artarmon
145 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Twin Towers Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Chatswood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Chatswood

Property: Mantra Chatswood
Address: 10 Brown St, Chatswood, Willoughby, New South Wales 2067, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Willoughby > Chatswood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chatswood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Chatswood 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Chatswood is located in the centre of Chatswood, a thriving business and shopping district, 10km north of Sydney's CBD. The hotel is close to the major corporations of the North Shore and within a few minutes walk of the famous shopping centers of Chatswood, including Westfield and Chatswood Chase. Conveniently located next to Chatswood Railway Station and Bus Interchange, Mantra Chatswood offers easy access to both Sydney CBD and Homebush Bay Olympic Park. Mantra Chatswood offers contemporary, apartment style accommodation, featuring studio, one and two bedroom apartments, each stylishly decorated and equipped to cater for all travel needs. All rooms include kitchenettes, broadband access, facsimile lines, ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service, in-room movies, selected Foxtel Channels, dryer, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, exclusive toiletries, mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities. One and two bedroom apartments are self-contained with full kitchen and laundry facilities and offer the perfect base for overnight, short-term or long-term stays. With premium facilities including an indoor heated lap pool, sauna, spa, Gymnasium, 24-hour reception, room service, Melting Pot Bar & Bistro, express check-out and conference and meeting facilities with wireless broadband access, Mantra Chatswood is the ideal home away from home for both business and leisure travelers alike. Perfect for travelers who are relocating or on a long stay work assignment, if you'd like information about Mantra Chatswood's long stay rates, please contact the hotel direct. Mantra Chatswood is the only choice for discerning travelers to Sydney's North Shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Chatswood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Chatswood Hotel Chatswood
Mantra Chatswood Sydney
Mantra Chatswood Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing