We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Sugarcane

Sugarcane
Ranked #3 of 111 Restaurants in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Coogee
Description: Sugarcane Restaurant offers an exceptional beachside dining experience, with spectacular views over Coogee Beach and Dolphins Point. From beneath the sea and across the land, Sugarcane Restaurant selects the finest Australian produce to create it's tasty cuisine.
Reviewed 12 November 2018

We arrived without a booking and they managed to seat us outside. The waiter was knowledgable, unobtrusive and we were never left waiting. The menu was substantial with a few specials also available. All of our food arrived quickly and we ended up re-ordering more oysters after the first lot were so fresh and tasty. My favourite was the prawn toast and the Cauliflower with Chilli Caramel and Sesame.

We enjoyed this place so much we ended up going back for our second night and tried the cocktail and dessert menu.

The setting is intimate and cosy, nothing I could think of needed improving.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oztraveller028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018

Clearly one of Sydney's best restaurants - the meal was for my wife's birthday and we were visiting friends and family from the US. Having traveled in SE Asia, we thought we had tasted all the dishes from there but Sugarcane gave us some surprising and amazing culinary delights. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EarlFlorida2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Fabulous place for a group of 10 celebrating a 21st. We ordered the $60 a head banquet menu and for the next 2 hours small delicious plates kept arriving at the table. Wonderful. No decisions to make and only one dish unsuitable for a coeliac. Thank you yo a great team.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Munchie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

We ate outside a couple of evenings ago and were pleasantly surprised with the great service, advice on menu and the food itself. Crispy plum chicken, extra fresh chopped chillies supplied, will stay with us a very long time, lamb ribs a very close second but the presentation and waiter service was professional, polite and as returnable to as the food! We will go back, well worth a visit. All the way from UK !!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kasieharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We have been to Sugarcane twice. Each time the food & service was absolutely superb. Particular favourites are the roti bread & calamari. The roti bread is the best I have ever tasted. Sugarcane is not cheap however the flavour & the quality of the dishes make it perfect for a special occasion. We will be back.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 423maryannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugarcane also viewed

Coogee, Randwick
 
Coogee, Randwick
 

Been to Sugarcane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing