We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View the Pacific and Hear the Crashing Waves”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location and its views. Most rooms have balconies and overlook the pacific; and most importantly, you're just minutes from the beach and the cliff walk . The rooms are clean, functional, and include a very usable desk. In fact, it's probably the best hotel desk I've had. The bathrooms are on the small side, but still adequate. The buffet breakfast was very good but on the pricey side. I probably would have gone out for breakfast, except it was included in the room rate. Finally, I kept the balcony door open and fell asleep to the sounds of crashing waves. Overall, a good experience and no complaints!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0Fernando0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Fernando D
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Our location is enviable and I’m pleased to read that you took full advantage! The coastal walk from Coogee to Bondi is a must and to hear the sounds of the ocean in the evenings is very special.
Thank you for your feedback regarding breakfast and I appreciate that we are surrounded by alternatives. Our full breakfast however does include made to order items, a full selection of hot breakfast items, fruits, pastries, fresh juice and espresso coffee.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed at crown plaza coogee for a few days before departing on our cruise. Found it to meet the standards you'd normally expect from a crown plaza. Only downside was that it was slightly dated and workout facilities were extremely limited.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKAdventures22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear MKAdventures22
Thank you for posting a review and I hope you’re having a great time on your cruise. We recognize that our gym facilities need improving and are in the process of this right now.
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Overall the stay was pleasant. We had a king suite with an amazing ocean view and private balcony over looking the beach and pool. The rooms are dated but kept well, though a slight patch of mould in the bathroom let it down. The cocktails were below average. Room service fast and delicious. Parking is expensive at $25 per day and no validation discount so that was and extra $75 ontop of our room rate which was $270 p/night (and tht was a big discounted rate). I'd definitely go back to coogee... But would spend my money elsewhere unless I got a really good discounted rate.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovemcb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Lovemcb007
Thank you for recently choosing to stay with us at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. It’s hard to go past the view and the amazing location and I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed staying in Coogee. Thank you also however for your feedback regarding the room, cocktails and parking, all helpful as we continue to improve on the product and service we offer.
If you are a member of our loyalty program, IHG Rewards Club, keep a look out for regular great deals that we offer periodically throughout the year.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is a clean hotel at the south end of the beach, however it does not rate 4.5 stars and it certainly should not cost $300-400 per night for a basic room. The standard rooms are small, although each has a small balcony which is a good feature. The bathroom was VERY small, the shower is over a small bath tub and uses a shower curtain - something I loathe. Water pressure was really bad - it seemed to take a very long time to take a shower because there just wasn't enough water coming out of the shower head. The air conditioning was also quite poor - despite setting the thermostat to 21C the room always felt too warm and stuffy. The beds were comfortable, but the pillows were like giant marshmallows; so soft in fact that they wrap around your face if you're not careful. Outside the room, the pool is again very small, and to describe the gym as tiny is being generous. While I stayed there, the treadmill was broken, making the gym next to useless for me. Food in the restaurant was very nice though, both at breakfast and lunch. And all the staff were very courteous, friendly and helpful. The biggest disappointment for me was the price. At $300-400 per night, you should be getting a luxury resort experience; Crowne Plaza falls well short of that. To make things worse, WiFi will set you back another $9 for two hours, and breakfast (OMG it's not included in the price?!?) another $32 for the hot stuff. To me, this hotel is grossly overpriced for what you get. I'm not saying it's a bad hotel, just that the standard should be much higher if the room rates are any guide. I saw many other accommodation options around the same area, and I would be looking into those before staying at the Crowne Plaza again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Phil H
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m sorry to read that the hotel didn't meet your expectations and I sincerely appreciate the constructive feedback that you have offered. Feedback such as yours is helpful so that we may improve on our product. I also appreciate the positive comments regarding the service you received and the food and beverage offering.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

In our three week, multi location stay in Australia, we only stayed in one place where we had cause for complaint. In all other places service and standards have been outstanding. Unfortunately we were very unhappy with our one night stay at the Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. The following were of particular concern:

- Dressing gown cord had some undescribable filth on it
- room service meal - Mashed potato cold, mushroom sauce that was ordered, didn't arrive at all
- Room not ready on arrival, had to wait until 3pm. We arrived with two exhausted children having just come off the early flight from Noosa, and had wanted to put them down to bed straight away. Unfortunately only one of the two interconnecting rooms were ready so we would have had to sit in the dark with them. A 10% discount was offered, and accepted upon complaint to manager, but it should not have come to that.
- Refusal by concierge to wash up our baby feeding bottle, either through dishwasher or giving it to the kitchen to wash by hand, citing health and safety. When pressed, he agreed to provide washing up liquid - then left us a thimble full which was not enough for our 24 hr stay. We complained to the manager who subsequently agreed to wash up whatever we needed and also to microwave the bottles in our steriliser for us.
- Refusal to warm baby food in microwave, again citing health and safety. The food was in a plastic bowl which would have taken forever to warm by putting it in a bowl of boiling water (which is what was initially suggested). My baby was hungry and crying for food. The staff member did eventually agree when I complained strongly. I am entirely able to test the temperature before giving the food to my son and of course would take responsibility for the temperature. There seems to be no recognition of the needs of families with babies, or with small children. Another example being the in room dining kids menu, having 4 out of 5 items served with chips.
- room keys stopped working hours before our agreed late check out
- wifi in room expensive - this is outdated as in many places it is now free
- $19 to watch in room movie - again inappropriately expensive
- I rang down to ask if the outdoor pool was heated enough for a two year old (as it was in the shade and a not particularly hot day). The concierge - same one who'd refused to wash our baby bottle - said 'oh yeah it's fine, there are always little kiddies in it'. Upon trying it we found it to be absolutely freezing.

On plus side, the hotel is in a fantastic location, right on coogee beach and not far from the airport (that being the reason for our stay). Our rooms had great views of the beach. The in room dining menu for adults was very good and the food well prepared and delicious (aside from part of my meal being cold and part missing, as per above!). The beds are large and comfortable, and the bathrooms adequate, albeit outdated and a little small. The manager was very helpful when we complained.

On balance I would not stay here again nor recommend it to anyone with young children.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room, but go for the east end of the hotel as they have the fullest view of the be...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamtigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear iamtigger
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay. Of course we are all disappointed to read your review and agree that we could have done far better to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable. Each of the items that you have raised has been discussed in our recent operations meeting and the wider team have been briefed accordingly. However difficult it may be to read and see this review on our site, I still appreciate the feedback and know we will improve.
Thank you again.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I have to agree with the previous 2 reviews, this hotel is not up to standard! Very bad attitude from staff and don't even bother with the restaurant, it's like taking a step back to the 70's - bad food, bad service, bad attitude! The manager of this hotel needs to get their act together especially at these prices! Shame on you!

Room Tip: Don't waste your money
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear keith j
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay. I was terribly disappointed to read your review and would welcome an opportunity to discuss further if you have the time. Please accept my apologies as it’s clear that you didn't enjoy your experience in the restaurant and I would very much like to understand more so that we may improve in the future. I can be contacted directly at the hotel.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was very disappointed with the quality and service I received on a recent booking at the Coogee Crowne Plaza.

Arriving at the hotel the front desk staff were very friendly, and easy to deal with. Unfortunately that was where my positive experience ended. I got to the room to find the cleanliness and standard of the facilities under par for a hotel of apparently 4.5 stars... There were watermarks in the bathroom shower, floors and skirting were dusty, and the previous occupants loose change under a table. (Photos sent to management).

I decided I did not wish to stay the night at the hotel, and look for alternative accommodation, only to be told that I would not receive a refund as I had prepaid through Hotels.com.

On initial discussion with the hotel, they said I should speak to Hotels.com, however after a discussion with their helpdesk, the refund was at the discretion of Coogee Crowne Plaza. I spoke to the recently appointed hotel manager who was less then helpful or understanding and said that due to the fact they couldn't clean my room, they wouldn't be able to resell. There was a cleaning crew on my floor just after my discussion with the manager, but I was told it was 'the wrong sort of cleaning crew' and that their decision was final.

I asked to complain via the appropriate channels, only to have the wrong email address supplied, and have had to complain to the global cooperate site, which I am still waiting to hear a response. I understand that I booked through Hotels.com however I was expecting the quality of a 4.5 star hotel, not a 2 star hotel with a swimming pool...

Needless to say, I am disappointed at the quality of customer service, the finishings and the overall standard of accommodation. It has severely dented my view of the Crowne Plaza group, especially given I didn't even stay at the hotel after such a terrible experience.

Room Tip: Choose alternative accommodation
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Sarah S
Thank you very much for speaking with me today. As discussed, I sincerely appreciated the time taken to provide additional insight into your experience and how we can use this to improve on our product and service. It was clear that we got it wrong on this occasion and for this I'm very sorry. I'm sure you'll agree that we have come to an acceptable solution on compensation on what I know is not a true representation of the hotel or the level of service I'm confident we can provide.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
273 reviews
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Meriton Suites Zetland
#10 of 178 in Sydney
3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Address: 242 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#3 Business Hotel in Coogee
Price Range: £124 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affectionately known as 'Sydney's Seaside Village', Coogee is just a few kilometres from the centre of Sydney. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and offers close proximity to Sydney's eastern beaches. The hotel offers a selection of 209 of modern rooms, most boasting ocean views and all featuring up-to-date amenities. All guest rooms have high-speed broadband internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, ergonomic work station and in-house movies. Coogee is surrounded by the East Coast's most breathtaking beaches and headlands and embraces a relaxed, casual setting. Its location makes it convenient to play a round of golf at one of the many courses nearby, do a little shopping, watch the cricket at the Sydney Cricket Ground or even place a bet at the world-famous Royal Randwick racecourse. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach’s signature restaurant, Bluesalt, is a favourite of locals and regular guests and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Boasting spectacular coastal views and ideal for family, group and corporate dining, Bluesalt enjoys a sterling reputation for quality and is one of the most popular restaurants in Coogee. Bluesalt Bar is located adjacent to Bluesalt Restaurant and is the ideal place to catch up with friends, meet for a pre-dinner drink or to hold an informal meeting. Downstairs from Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is Oceans Bar, a stylish and chic lounge that prides itself on a superb selection of premium drinks, fresh food and a relaxing and warming atmosphere. To ensure that you remain active and refreshed while you travel, Crowne Plaza Coogee beach offers complimentary guest access to on-site tennis courts, gymnasium and large outdoor heated pool. Experience a harmonious blend of coastal living and city convenience when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sydney
Sydney Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing