We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended ocean view rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

My other half and I stayed here for a week while visiting Sydney and we loved every second of our stay! The hotel was fantastic value for money with a stunning double room (two double beds for one couple!) with a fantastic view of the beach and ocean.

We paid extra for an ocean view room but it was worth the money to see the sunrise on the beach every morning.

All of the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly,

Unfortunately the room did not come with complimentary wifi but upon check in we were informed that if we signed up to a free rewards scheme, that could be used and added too at home in the Uk, we would be given complimentary 3GB a day wifi for the duration of our stay! Which was a fantastic offer and added to our stay!

Highly recommended to anyone but would advise an ocean view room!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stephanie-jog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Stephanie,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. Great to hear you joined up with IHG Rewards, there are so many benefits and it is all free. Our Ocean View rooms really have spectacular views, even during rainy and stormy days it is amazing to watch the spectacle at see. We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Location is great if you want to be near the beach. Reasonably quiet rooms, with the exception of the noisy bathroom fan. I did stay during winter so the noise levels may be different in summer when the swimming pool is in full swing. Gym was not operational at the time. Room was very clean and modern. I found it odd that hotel customers had to pay $25 per night to park a car in the underground car park. At the end of my stay I was charged for wifi in the room without even realising that I connected to the network - apparently twice within 24 hours which is odd considering each connection lasts for 24 hours. The layout of the website made it too easy to mistakenly connect to the wifi. For the price of the room, I would expect breakfast to be included. Not sure if I would return here in a hurry, particularly given the price of the room.

Room Tip: Be really careful not to accidentally connect to the wifi network.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 078TeePee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach.
My apologies for the error in regards to the Internet charge if you did not use the Internet. Please contact us directly at the hotel, if any further assistance is required.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The level of quality and style was far above our normal price bracket so we are novices at this grade of establishment.
The place was extremely nice, very nicely appointed everywhere that we went in there - except the carpark which seemed to be from a different world (poorly lit, dirty, a bit dangerous and very expensive) to the upstairs.
The foyer and other main areas are superb, super stylish but a lovely relaxed and quiet atmosphere.
Our room was enormous and immaculately presented. Simple but surprisingly had all we needed - it even had it's own mini office!
I saw another reviewer said the bathroom was "quite small" - I have no idea what palace they normally stay in but our bathroom was enormous and beautifully set up.
Due to a last moment change in our booking (which the staff coped with without flinching) we ended up with an upgrade to a pool view room which did not entice us much being mid winter but it meant we had a small view of the beach and ocean (with a spectacular sunrise which unfortunately I had to be awake for!).
In the evening it was a few moments walk to a wide choice of places to eat and straight across the road from the beach where we had a relaxing stroll along the promenade.
My room service breakfast was spot on time and nicely presented.
Lovely

Room Tip: You can get a "pass" from reception to come and go in your car from the carpark without pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noooool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,
I am pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay with us at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. I will share your comments with the team. It sounds like you had plenty of time to relax and discover the surrounds of Coogee. Please follow us on Facebook or check out our website for enticing specials and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a great weekend with a lovely interconnecting family room. Very comfy beds - sleep was easy and kids were comfy and closeby. The breakfast here is great with fantastic views of the Coogee surf - world class. The staff offer friendly obliging service - they are to be commended, just home from the US where the service was wooden so lovely to be home with some nice Aussie kids serving us!

Room Tip: Not sure - ours suited us - no views but little time spent in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Kathryn,
Thank you for your feedback after staying with your family at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. Great to hear all of you had a relaxing time with us and enjoyed our views and service. Our Executive Chef has done his magic with our breakfast buffet this week, inspired by local produce to complement the nice views.
We hope to see you again.
Thank you,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is nice, had a easy check in and room was nice. Bathroom quiet small, No view of the beach but a few steps from the hotel, restaurants, pub, and park of course the beach. Buses at the doorstep to get around if you don't drive. If you do drive be prepared to pay $25 for underground parking. Overall it's good but not overwhelming.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrDigby100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear MrDigby100,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us in Coogee getting to know the local area and making the most of our convenient location. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future, when you are looking for a relaxing beach getaway.
Many thanks,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel simply was great. I booked it totally on a whim on my first visit to Australia and stayed here for 2 nights R&R before heading into the city. The staff are exceptional (two women on reception that checked me in but I have forgotten their names) even making arrangements for me to become a member as I am staying at a Crowne Plaza in Dubai later this month. The room was fantastic, bathroom maybe a little dated but the beds are so comfy! I didn't chose to have breakfast as I don't eat much at that time so instead went down the road to get a bacon and egg mc muffin! On suggestion from the reception staff I walked the congee to bondi trail and loved it.
Very nice hotel and would definitely stay again if I return.

Room Tip: I had an ocean view room and definitely suggest paying the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ljo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Ljo87,
Thank you for your recent visit at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. I will share your comments with the team, they will be happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and interaction with our staff. There are so many attractions and activities close by and Coogee really offers you the best of both worlds, the metropolitan culture of the nearby Sydney CBD and the Australian beach atmosphere. I hope you enjoyed your time in Australia!
Kind regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We booked this hotel because of its tennis court and the view from our room is wonderful. The staff has gone out of their way to accommodate our early arrival allowing us to use one of the spare room to freshen up. Another morning when our guide came to pickup before breakfast opened, the staff packed us some pastries and coffee. Couldn't ask for better service in a foreign country!

The only down side is most of our activities are near the CBD and the Rocks so the location in Coogee Beach is a bit remote. If we were to return and stay longer, would definitely do the walk from Coogee to Bondi!

Room Tip: Definitely worth booking a room with the bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sophia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas Z, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Sophia,
Thank you for sharing your experience, I am pleased our team looked after you well and you had the opportunity to discover Sydney while staying at one of our most beautiful beaches here. The Coogee to Bondi walk is spectacular indeed, I highly recommend it.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,
Thomas Zinn
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
305 reviews
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
255 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#13 of 186 in Sydney
3,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Address: 242 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#3 Business Hotel in Coogee
Price Range: £116 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affectionately known as 'Sydney's Seaside Village', Coogee is just a few kilometres from the centre of Sydney. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and offers close proximity to Sydney's eastern beaches. The hotel offers a selection of 209 of modern rooms, most boasting ocean views and all featuring up-to-date amenities. All guest rooms have high-speed broadband internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, ergonomic work station and in-house movies. Coogee is surrounded by the East Coast's most breathtaking beaches and headlands and embraces a relaxed, casual setting. Its location makes it convenient to play a round of golf at one of the many courses nearby, do a little shopping, watch the cricket at the Sydney Cricket Ground or even place a bet at the world-famous Royal Randwick racecourse. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach’s signature restaurant, Bluesalt, is a favourite of locals and regular guests and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Boasting spectacular coastal views and ideal for family, group and corporate dining, Bluesalt enjoys a sterling reputation for quality and is one of the most popular restaurants in Coogee. Bluesalt Bar is located adjacent to Bluesalt Restaurant and is the ideal place to catch up with friends, meet for a pre-dinner drink or to hold an informal meeting. Downstairs from Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is Oceans Bar, a stylish and chic lounge that prides itself on a superb selection of premium drinks, fresh food and a relaxing and warming atmosphere. To ensure that you remain active and refreshed while you travel, Crowne Plaza Coogee beach offers complimentary guest access to on-site tennis courts, gymnasium and large outdoor heated pool. Experience a harmonious blend of coastal living and city convenience when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sydney
Sydney Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing