We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My second 6 day stay this month. If you are on business in Sydney then consider staying just 40 minute bus journey out of the city and by the coast in the delightful, trendy place - Coogee. I was welcomed like a returning friend and found everyone so helpful.
Having your own fridge, microwave, crockery and cutlery meant I could be self sufficient for breakfast. The restaurants in the town are great, even if you are travelling alone.
Other important business requirements such as internet were very reasonably priced, reliable and easy to access. It was perfect say in front of the window taking in the view as I worked. Then just 20 metres to the beach. For the longer stay access to a very reasonably priced self-help washing machine and dryer just took all the pressures away. Looking forward to staying again in 2014.

Room Tip: I just love the rooms on the 6th floor but dont want to tell anyone in case they are booked next tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Graham,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to post such a lovely review of our hotel.
I am so pleased to hear that you had such a positive stay and that you were able to enjoy all that Coogee has to offer. We have to agree with you - it is a beautiful and convenient location!
I have passed your thoughts on to our friendly reception team and congratulated them on making such a positive impact on your stay.

We thank you kindly for your loyalty and look forward to your return in 2014!

Warm Regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    208
    70
    12
    19
See reviews for
155
202
34
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
zambia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed as a family here for 10 days. I looked at many hotels in and around Sydney and it is hard to find budget accommodation. Sydney is an expensive place in general, so even this accommodation was expensive but the best I could find for the price. We had two courtyard rooms for 4 of us. There was no view and I understand that the rooms with a view are really nice, but they are more expensive and when travelling on a budget it all adds up. We used the courtyard to hang out costumes and towels. The rooms look smaller than the internet, the double bed is two singles pushed together, the air-conditioning worked, there is a fridge. The bathroom consists of a shower and toilet, no bath. It is very functional. Our rooms were quiet most of the time although the first night there was a party at the hotel next door and the music only switched off at 3 in the morning! The staff were pleasant and the apartments are in a good position in Coogee right next to the beach, it served the purpose for us and we had a great stay. There is a fairly nice looking hotel up the road from this - the Crown plaza and I would consider this if I was staying for a few nights only and wanted a bit more luxury (a bath!). I wouldn't stay here again as I have done this area and would explore another part of Sydney next time.

The positives:

1. Good location. There is a fabulous walk there at your doorstep all the way along the coast to Bondi beach. It is a great walk, with great views, it took us an hour and a half but we did stop for breakfast at a café along the way.
2. Friendly staff.
3. Comparatively speaking, reasonably priced.
4. Lots of small cafes and restaurants in Coogee, walking distance away.
5. Nice beach.
6. Underground parking is free although we didn't use it, we used taxis.
7. Nice and chilled out area.
negatives;
1. No bath!
2. For a higher price you can pay to get a view but then it may be worth going to Crown Plaza.
3. Airplanes come overhead fairly low, but this is all of Coogee in the beach area.
4. No pool or gym.
5. Bit far from City centre.
6. No safe in the room only at reception, this was inconvenient.

The other thing I would look at if staying only for a few nights is the Taj Blue which is nearer the city and they had offered me a fairly good price if I booked well in advance.

if you want something good to do, go whale watching from Darling Harbour, we had a great trip (after taking travel sickness pills) in a small fast boat (cheaper but rollercoaster ride 2 meter waves) and saw a Humpback whale and her calf. Wonderful sighting for at least 30 minutes we watched them breech, well worth the $60 we paid each for 2 hours. In fact the sighting although it left from Darling harbour, was right in front of Coogee beach! Sydney is wonderful, enjoy your trip!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ZambiaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I was pleased to note that you were impressed with our friendly staff, hotel position and the general ambiance of the hotel on your recent stay with us.

I appreciate your honest feedback about the noise from next door. The hotel you mention came under new management late last year and since then I have been in close contact with them regarding any noise complaints. For future reference, please contact our 24 hour reception team so that they are able to address the issue at the time.

I noted your disappointment at not having a bath. You will be pleased to know that many of our studios do have baths and these can easily be secured by requesting one at the time of booking.

Again thank you for this review and I hope to welcome you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments in the near future.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We were thoroughly impressed with our stay here. Quality accommodation at a reasonable price. Very quiet rooms. Comfortable furnishings. Very helpful staff. Great location right on the beach. Close to all restaurants. Will definitely be back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank neiceNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear NeiceNsw,

Thank you for your feedback. We agree Coogee is a fantastic location right on the beach and just a short bus trip into the city centre. Our staff especially love hearing about a guests positive reviews so we will be sure to pass yours on to them!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Kind regards

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for three nights. I was delighted with location and accessibility to the local amenities. The room itself was ok, but the fabric was showing its age with stains on the sofa, chipped woodwork, just little things that detracted from what could be really good accommodation. Only one mirror which was in the bathroom along with hair dryer which meant tying up the bathroom for however long ladies take to do their hair. Maybe locate another mirror in the living area near the numerous power sockets.
Bathroom let the show down with a faulty shower screen that stuck and could do with a really good clean and a door that had seen better days with a one inch gap at the bottom that ensured everyone(which included visitors) was aware of your washroom activity! By addressing the aforementioned points would really bring this decent hotel up to another level.
Front of house staff were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murdo428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Murdo428,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take all of our guest comments seriously and do our best to resolve any problems that may arise

I noted your poor rating of the furniture and décor – You will be pleased to know that the hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment with half the rooms already complete, so we hope your next stay with us will be much more comfortable.

Please be sure to ask for one of our newly refurbished rooms when you make your next booking with us. We look forward to your feedback.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Well what can we say about this hotel!
We were to stay at a different location but the accommodation was lets say far less than we were told.
We rang this hotel and they could not have been more helpful in each and every way.
Very pleasent staff and the accommodation was excellent. Couldn't have been happier with the place. We think it's well worth the star rating it has.
Carol, Shirl, Paula, Kelly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Sharol1,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I was delighted to read that everything at the hotel was to your satisfaction and you had an excellent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments very soon.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stunning location right on the Northern end of Coogee Beach. Spacious and very well maintained room. If you want a room with a beach view then you'll need to specifically ask for one as most of the rooms actually look out onto next door buildings. However, there is a huge roof top viewing area with quite a few tables and chairs, with great ocean views.

Room Tip: Need to ask if you want a room with a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelinPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear aussie127 ,

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. We're glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the beautiful views and our supurb location. The clean and spacious studios are indeed a travellers dream with the high quality accommodation offered.

We hope to welcome you back soon to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Warm regards,

Tracy whitelaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night at the Coogee Sands as a family in late September.

The area around the hotel was busy on a Saturday afternoon, and must absolutely heave with people during summer.

We had two adjoining rooms on the 6th floor. The elevators go as far as the 5th, and there's a longish corridor to traverse and flight of stairs to the next floor, but we had young legs and light bags, so it was not a problem and in fact was well worth it for the views of the Pacific Ocean.

The rooms were clean and well maintained without being spectacularly large or modern. Good basic family style accommodation, significantly better than a motor inn, but not the Park Hyatt. Perfect for being close the beach.

I arrived there just before half time in the AFL grand final, and just wanted to have a beer and watch it. Happily, the minibar beers were cheap as chips, so did not feel the need to try and get to a bottle-o. After the satisfactory conclusion to the match, it was a short walk to the beach for a swim, followed by a really good meal at a cafe less than a 1km walk from the hotel, on Coogee Bay Road.

To note: booking a room does not guarantee you a parking space in the hotel. It is first in best dressed, and the carpark was full when we arrived. Nor was there a lot of space out front to unload bags. And the surrounding public car parks were pretty full as well. I eventually got a 4 hour paid spot across the road in beside the Coogee Oval. Helpfully, one of the staff tipped us off when a space became available, and I was able to move my car inside a few hours later. Finally on the topic of car parks - the the top floor carpark is very low. You do not want to be trying to get a Landcruiser in there. We just managed to squeeze our modestly sized SUV in.

Overall, it was a good stay, and if I had a gripe it would be that we didn't have enough time there. Fully endorse the comment about contacting the hotel directly to get the deal that best suits. The Coogee Sands is in a fantastic location and has great - really friendly and helpful - staff. We would go back.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Andy M,

Thank you for your lovely feedback! We're glad you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms.

As you suggest, our central location is very convenient for our guests, giving them access to many transport options to explore Sydney and also to a variety of fabulous restaurants, including the one you have mentioned.

We hope to welcome you back soon to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel Pub-Style Rooms
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Property: Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Address: 161 - 167 Dolphin St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coogee
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just 20 metres from Coogee Beach, Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments is a 4 star property with a selection of Studio rooms, all with kitchenettes (microwave, sink, crockery, cutlery) and apartment style accommodation. The Hotel offers complimentary undercover parking (subject to availability), wireless internet, 24 hour Reception and a Rooftop Sundeck and BBQ overlooking the ocean for guests to enjoy. Enjoy the vibrant local cafe culture of one of Sydney's most picturesque beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coogee Sands Hotel And Apartments
Coogee Sands Hotel Apartments
Coogee Sands Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing