We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Trip”
Review of Coogee Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coogee Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Auckland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quick Trip”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Art deco style hotel with a lovely feel and great location to both beach and restauarants.
Only down side we were on 2nd floor room on street frontage. Quite noisy early on but at this time of year did get quiet by 11pm. Bar Fridge however was very noisy,ended up having to switch off at 1am and turn back on in the morning. Left quite early so to be fair to Hotel forgot to mention Fridge noise.
WiFi AUD $15.00 for 24 hours.

Room Tip: Fellow travellers were on 4th floor and had no issues with road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Androhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    92
    47
    23
    39
See reviews for
34
75
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The executive apartments are great, I stay often for work. The rooms are large and quite. The beach is a short walk away with heaps of good restaurants near by. I recommended you stay here as there is free parking, a good pub with good food at very unpublished like accommodation.

Room Tip: Get a room with the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brucefil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Without a doubt the best beer garden in Oz. Right across the road from"Coogee Beach" with plenty of birds in bikinis & a super atmosphere any day in the summer time.
Rip in & enjoy cooking your own steak on the grill to boot!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamcharlie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
207 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 2 nights and would recommend to absolutely anyone. This hotel boasts a fabulous view, even better location and the rooms are spacious and immaculate. The staff were extremely warm and welcoming from the second you enter and offer all kinds of advice in regards to the area and activities.

You have everything you could possibly want in a hotel here!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lizzieh081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curlewis, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I had stayed in the Pub accommodation before and loved the location and Coogee.Instead of staying the City I decided to stay at the apartments and commute to the City. Best idea ever! Apartments are very spacious, luxurious and comfortable. Bathroom was lovely, shower really good. Quiet rooms, comfy beds and pillows. Parking was great, undercover. Bus stop to city just out the door and a pleasant ride to the City. Will be staying again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeM2381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed for two weeks in March 2014 in a spa room in the boutique part of the hotel which was very quiet considering the popularity of the venue in the evenings. Room was large and the view was stunning. However, the cleaning was hit and miss (one evening I came home and the room hadn't been serviced). I asked for a light bulb to be replaced in a lamp on my second evening but it still not had been replaced two weeks later. The hotel laundry cost is outrageous but there is a great laundry down the road with service washes for $12. The breakfast options could be slightly improved. The most disappointing part of the trip was the customer service provided by one the the reception staff. They made a mistake regarding my last night's accommodation and told me that I had to move rooms on my last evening. This was not what was agreed at check in. Very, sullen, she was more concerned about getting the new occupants in who were staying for a weekend rather than looking after someone that had been there for two weeks. Worst case of customer service I have experienced in a long time. Such a pity as the new staff member was lovely. I won't be staying there again!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are stunning and the spa bath was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coogee2london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was our second stay at The Coogee Bay Hotel and we enjoyed it as much as the first. Rooms are large and quiet in the District View Boutique section. Bed was excellent, room was clean and staff were helpful and pleasant. A light breakfast is included in the dining area. Breakfast provisions have been pared back a bit since we last stayed, but still quite adequate, cereal, toast, juice, coffee and a piece of fruit. The lovely Coogee beach is a 2 minute walk away, and the Main Street abounds with cafés and restaurants.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel Pub-Style
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
244 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 178 in Sydney
2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coogee Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coogee Bay Hotel

Property: Coogee Bay Hotel
Address: 253 Coogee Bay Road, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coogee Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms offer a refreshing beachside option, incorporating natural timbers, soft blues and crisp white tones. Located behind the main hotel is the Boutique Wing offering stylish, modern accommodation for corporate travellers and those seeking a relaxing retreat. The Boutique Hotel offers 4 star luxury on the shores of one of Sydney's most famous beaches with competitive rates and a range of weekend packages to entice. If you're seeking 3 star affordable accommodation, our Heritage Wing, located within the main hotel building, is perfect for those wanting to be close to the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coogee Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Coogee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing