We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and friendly”
Review of Dive Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dive Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Dive hotel is certainly a small boutique hotel with a great location. IT is right across the beach and around the corner from the Coogee shops and restaurants! We stayed for two nights in late February, the staff were very friendly, thoughtful and welcoming. The hotel is brightly coloured and had a good feel. We had the King room, it was clean, comfortable and roomy, and it had all the amenities as mentioned. Bathroom is quite tiny but sufficed. Bathroom sink is small, and I found it difficult to utilise for rinsing your teeth as my head hit the little shelve above it. Handy that the room had a small kitchenette. Nice that the room also had a full length mirror. The room had no view, and we knew that, at least we could open the window to let fresh air in. Parking is limited at the back of the hotel and there is charge. Price wise, it is on the high side but that's Sydney! Although breakfast was included in our room rate, we did not indulge. Coogee is a gorgeous place to stay, wonderful baths and beaches, great views, and conveniently located to all the top places to visit on the south east end of the city! I would come back and stay at Dive Hotel again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redp0lst4r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is all about the location. It has the potential to be really lovely but the room we stayed in was really quite tired. They have beautiful high and ornate ceilings but our room ceiling was peeling and dirty. We had absolutely no view which didn't bother us but at the cost of $200 per night it seems a shame.
The shower was very poor and in this day and age of saving water, this shower just chucked it out without being a decent spray.
It is not a cheap hotel and more like a B&B. The breakfast facilities are excellent and the communal set up is really very pleasant.
The staff are very easy going and it has a very relaxed nature.
We have stayed twice now and the convenience is wonderful but I wish it was less expensive.

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms and if you require a view or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed at the Dive Hotel as a one night stop over after flying in late from Adelaide and meeting with friends in North Sydney the following day - and it was absolutely perfect for what we wanted. The central location is great - beach and restaurants on your doorstep - and it was really lovely to wake up early and walk part of the coastal path before breakfast. The continental breakfast (included in the room rate) was simple but delicious and filling. The design of the hotel is quirky - a great example of small space interior design! We stayed in a King room, and it was quite spacious and well kitted out. FYI - we caught a cab from the airport to the hotel and it cost $30.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobandElliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

In between the Crown Plaza & the Coogee Bay hotel is the Dive hotel,straight across the road from beautiful Coogee beach. This fact won me from the start. The staff showed us to the room which was on the 1st floor & I was expecting great views of the beach having paid $245 for a Premier King room. Our view was in fact the wall of the adjoining block of flats[you could actually see the surf club if you tried]. Whatever else, the size of the room was surprisingly large,well appointed & clean . We only over-nighted so weren't really put off by the view. Breakfast was a communal affair in a large open air courtyard which was quite pleasant compared to the usual hotel buffet. Continental selection of fruit,yoghurt,cereal & toast with condiments & a wide selection of coffee & various teas was more than adequate.
Overall very nice,great location & position. The only question would be "are you willing to pay $245[PLUS $20 for parking] again ?" Not for families or budget travellers I would suggest.

Room Tip: It would seem to me there was only one room with the view in the on-line pics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quigs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel is right on the beach in Coogee, and a 30 minute bus ride away from downtown Sydney. They offer a continental breakfast with things like bread, jam, yogurt, cereal, and fruit. The room itself was clean, the staff members were helpful and friendly, and there is parking just outside the hotel (for a $20 extra fee). The room has a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The one downside was the wifi. Although it was free, it wasn't that reliable. It kept signing us out and forcing us to relogin. They do have a computer with internet that anyone can use, so that was helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelsaroundUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

A great location and a far quieter and more personal experience than that which is on offer from the nearby larger hotels. The staff were helpful and friendly. Worth going back to. The swimming in Coogee in both the sea and the pools is great. Yoga nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KHBSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is just amazing! Perfect location facing coogee beach, big clean rooms with king size bed, air conditioning, fridge in the room, the people working here are so nice! They even lend you beach towels! HIGHLY recommended!!! For sure the best price-quality ratio hotel in Coogee!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
305 reviews
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach Sydney
Meriton Suites Zetland
#13 of 186 in Sydney
3,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dive Hotel

Address: 234 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coogee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
Price Range: £100 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dive Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If it's a Sydney beach hotel you're after, there's none better located than Dive Hotel. It's 20 minutes drive from Sydney Airport and the City. It's a door-to-door bus ride away to the City, Opera House,NSW Uni, Randwick Racecourse, Aussie Stadium, and Cricket Ground.And it's a frisbee throw away to parks and pools, clifftop walks and Coogee's thriving restaurant, pub, club and cafe culture. It featured in Travel & Leisure USA, Conde Nast Traveler, NY Times,Time Out, Lonely Planet, London Observer and Guardian.Surf the net to your heart's content, thanks to free Wi-Fi. It's just one of the practical things that a Dive room provides. No expensive mini-bar, but a well-equipped kitchenette, with a fridge, microwave, tea, coffee and milk etc. There's free-to-air cable television, and a portable CD player. All rooms have aircon and a state-of-the-art stainless steel and blue tiled bathroom with a decent-sized hairdryer and a grown-up iron and board.Please note that there are 2 dogs on hotel premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dive Hotel Coogee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing