We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant take away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Fish Called Coogee

A Fish Called Coogee
Ranked #14 of 96 Restaurants in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$26
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Coogee
Coogee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“pleasant take away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

the salads are great. the burgers are really good value and the chips are freshly cooked. great old fashioned cafe

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunnyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    38
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Healthy and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

A top lunch! Wooden tables and benches with fast and friendly service. I chose a fresh fillet which was grilled to my liking ( a little rare) and on my second visit I had the fish and chips.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We went with my 5 yo son and his friend who had fish and chips. I had the marinated barramundi. My wife had roast corn on cob and salad. All the food was okay to good. Nothing earth-shatteringly terrific but not bad by any means. Service quick, which was good (midweek daytime parking is all 30 min and we were in and out in that time - kids keen to go for a swim!) small tables are a bit cramped. It was nearly empty when we were there (midweek early lunch) but fear i might be uncomfortable if full.....

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank casandlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It is not cheap at all”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

As my title suggests, this place is not cheap at all unless you ordered fish and chips. It is very expensive for grilled fish, and medium rare Tuna we ordered is far more than rare, very well cooked.

Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice casual place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Pay by the weight with plenty to select from. We liked the casual atmosphere. Quick service. Reasonable price.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DG050403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Fish Called Coogee also viewed

 
Coogee, Randwick
Coogee, Randwick
 

Been to A Fish Called Coogee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing