We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful even in winter”

Cowra Japanese Garden
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Cowra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tranquil. It's the perfect word to describe Cowra's Japanese Garden. You can't help but feel completely at peace when you walk through the lush gardens and cascading streams which represent the landscapes of Japan: where the hill is a mountain, streams are the rivers and the ponds inland lakes and the sea. Is this the most serene place in NSW? Spend some time walking around the equisitely manicured Kaiyushiki (strolling) garden, designed by Ken Nakajima and opened in 1979, and you be the judge.
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We spent a couple of hours wandering around these magnificent gardens. Such a clever design built around hills, large rocks and native trees. There is also a Japanese house to look through and a cultural centre with lots of artefacts. Plenty of strategically placed seating to stop and enjoy the gardens and great views. Beautiful in winter but must be stunning in autumn and spring.

Thank hopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CowraJapaneseGarden, Manager at Cowra Japanese Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi hopa

Thank you for lovely comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the garden. It is a great place to sit and relax while soaking up the beautiful surrounds.

It is certainly a must see in Autumn and Spring.

We look forward to you visiting again.

Kind Regards

Justin Smith
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 532 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Nice well kept and maintained gardens. Follow the path way around and get a great view of the town and surrounding areas, or have a seat and just admire the gardens. Nice during the winter, but would be spectacular in spring. Entry fee applies with seniors discount.

Thank 772darleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CowraJapaneseGarden, Manager at Cowra Japanese Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi Darryl C

Thank you for lovely comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the garden. It is a great place to sit and relax while soaking up the beautiful surrounds.

We look forward to you visiting again.

Kind Regards

Justin Smith
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Even if you travel 100 kl out of your way don't miss the japanese gardens so beautifully set up a a real credit to the curators,a hint join the cowra gardens club

Thank illawong7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CowraJapaneseGarden, Manager at Cowra Japanese Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi illawong7

Thank you for lovely comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the garden.

The Friends of the garden pass is a great way to see the garden all year round for a small investment.

We look forward to you visiting again.

Kind Regards

Justin Smith
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I visited the Japanese Gardens in Cowra in mid-May and was thrilled to see the beauty of the autumn leaves and the blending of non-native plants and trees with Australian flora. The Gardens were easy to walk around and at every point a magnificent photo resulted. I now want to see these gardens each season. They are a must see if you are within 100 km of Cowra.

Thank Bahpay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CowraJapaneseGarden, Manager at Cowra Japanese Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi Bahpay

Thank you for lovely comments about the garden. We pride ourselves in making sure that each visit is set in each individuals minds forever and that they keep coming back for more.

Autumn is certainly a great time to visit with all the beautiful foliage that is about at this time of the year.

Thankyou again for your lovely words and we look forward to you visiting again soon.

Kind Regards

Justin Smith
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

just a great place to sit in the outside area of the cafe & enjoy the view. Food & service was great

Thank helengd52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CowraJapaneseGarden, Manager at Cowra Japanese Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi helengd52

Thank you for lovely comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the garden. It is a great place to sit and relax while soaking up the beautiful surrounds.

We look forward to you visiting again.

Kind Regards

Justin Smith
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cowra Japanese Garden also viewed

 

Been to Cowra Japanese Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing