We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation Excitant - Management Poor”
Review of Sevan Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sevan Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Accommodation Excitant – Management Poor”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We have been holidaying at Sevan for the last three years and loved staying there because the units are so spacious and well appointed and the location is central.
The on site managers who were there up until a few months ago were really great however the new manages are very poor in our view. It’s a husband and wife team and the husband has very poor people skills and is a heavy smoker. There are no smoking signs all over the place but that doesn’t stop him from lighting up while in the fire escape and within the basement car park area. He also is often smoking right outside at the main front entry with the sea breeze blowing the smoke inside. When he uses the lift the stink of his smoke is residue and if you are a non-smoker will be very off putting. The other thing is that their cleaners don’t watch when they grab the soiled towels to change them. So if you are in the habit of traveling with your own hair rap like me wife is it will get taken and you will never get it back… …believe me we tried… They don’t do anything about it.
It’s a real shame in our view that the new management is so poor, it spoils this fantastic destination. That said they do have a lovely support admin lady who is very helpful. They should leave the management to her and disappear…

Room Tip: Rooms from the 4th floor up start to get a fabulous view. Units 3 & 4 on each floor are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne_Sevan, Front Office Manager at Sevan Apartments, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thankyou for taking the time out of your busy day to write us a review.
We appreciate the feedback
Thankyou for letting us know about the smoking we were un aware of how bad it was. Will be now smoking only in the smokering areas.
Were are very sorry about the hair net but we did follow it up,
We rung the launady mat, then email them, unfortunately the launady mat could not find it for you. But did our best on finding it.
I hope you will try us again and everything will be up to your standers.

Thankyou again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    56
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
149
79
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Just spent a few nights at Sevan Apartments Forster. The Apartment was 2 bed self contained and had a very well equipped kitchen for those like us that wish to still cook some meals while on holiday. Would recommend booking an apartment on a higher floor up as the buildings between the apartment and sea would most likely block the view if you were any lower. We stayed on the 5th floor and enjoyed the ocean view we had. Location is very convenient to the local shops walkways and restaurants. Didn't have much interaction with the staff but room was clean and reception were pleasant on arrival. Pool and BBQ area looked like great places to spend an afternoon in warmer weather but traffic noise in peak periods could pose an issue, location is on the main rd, however didn't notice too much noise inside the apartment itself just on the balcony it is hard to ignore, stayed in a north eastern facing corner suite. Overall a nice clean hotel, though bed wasa very hard in main room and mattress could use a changeover.

Room Tip: Go for an apartment on a higher floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderers9917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne_Sevan, Front Office Manager at Sevan Apartments, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thankyou very much on taking time out of your day to write us a review,
Great to hear you enjoy your stay here with us.
Yes we have been updating our beds at the monent so a new one will be taking its place thanks for letting us know

Thankyou again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I have been to Forster several times. My first time @ Sevan Apartments.
Beautiful veiws from the 8th floor. Had the best time even if it was for a short week end .
Apartment are clean close to everything.Spoke to Sahne when I booked found him helpful and pleasant.
I can't fault anything about these apartments I had every thing I needed for the perfect week end
Will stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPOT111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This was our first time here and it was wonderful. Everything was clean and fresh and when we walked in it looked like it was new. Unfortuanly, We were only in Forster for one night on our way to Sydney so didn't get to enjoy that much but I recommed you stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Another wonderful weekend spent at the Sevan apartments.Have stayed many times before and always love coming back.The cleaners really need to be commended as they do such a wonderful job, everything is so fresh and clean.Awesome location to beach and shops.Would recommend these lovely modern apartments to anyone.

Room Tip: Request a water view apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugz086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cessnock
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Recently stayed at Sevan Apartments and impressed with accommodation and location. Parking is off street and security underground with swipe cards. We stayed mid week and was quiet and noise free. Rooms are spacious with bedroom, bathroom, dining and living room, laundry, full size kitchen and balcony which we had partial water views. Within walking distance to beach, main street of Foster, short walk over bridge to tuncurry and local restaurants. Good size outdoor pool with bbq area. We had dinner one night at Club Foster which has a courtesy bus to and from club. Would recommend this property to others and definately would go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 815funinthesun815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle NSW
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2012

They say 1st impressions count for a lot, that was certainly the case for us during our recent stay. Shane kindly upgraded us upon request on arrival and we were blessed with beautiful beach views from the 6th floor. The apartment was spacious in every room and a fantastic balcony to enjoy the views from. Easy walking distance to the town centre and local shops. A very relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BattoNewcastleNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forster
0.1 mi away
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
#6 of 9 in Forster
156 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tuncurry Beach Motel
Tuncurry Beach Motel
#2 of 4 in Tuncurry
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sails Luxury Apartments
Sails Luxury Apartments
#1 of 13 in Forster
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beaches International
Beaches International
#2 of 13 in Forster
278 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island Palms Motor Inn
Island Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Forster
262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Sands Motor Inn
Golden Sands Motor Inn
#5 of 9 in Forster
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sevan Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevan Apartments

Property: Sevan Apartments
Address: 14 - 18 Head St, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Forster
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Forster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sevan Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sevan Apartments is the newest, best located & most luxurious self contained holiday apartments in Forster. The apartments are AAA 4 1/2 star rated, each furnished & decorated with modern style & elegance. Apartments range in size from one bedroom, one bathroom accommodation through to the four bedroom, three bathroom Penthouse with spectacular views of the Great Lakes Region. Boasting the cleanest waterways and whitest sands in NSW which create the best oysters and seafood in the world. Conveniently located 100m to Forster's Main Beach, Wallis Lake and the beautiful town centre buzzing with award winning cafes, restaurants & boutique stores. Loads of options for hiring equipment to explore the stunning waterways and surrounds from SUPS to BBQ boats to Bicycles. The town of Forster is located a lazy 90 minute drive from Newcastle, 3 hours' from Sydney or 6 hours from Brisbane. All apartments are self contained, have a fully equipped kitchen, laundry, large living & dining area, large balcony, free underground parking, at least 1 space per apartment. The complex is wheelchair friendly and offers a community room, outdoor BBQ and terrace so the parents can entertain whilst watching the kids swim. Our friends at Reef, Bar, Grill and Beach Bums Cafe offer all Sevan Apartments guests a 10% discount off their food with a view both located just a short stroll away, perfect for those moonlight walks along the beach on the way home or some morning laps in the ocean pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sevan Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing