We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Palms Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Forster
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad for one night stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed here for one night on a stopover as the rooms were cheaply priced over the long weekend. Rooms were ok, basic but clean with a comfy bed however Motel definitely needs updating. Check in at reception was quite basic, the guy was not very interested and struggled to make conversation! Would probably stay again if we didnt have much money!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaPMQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Thanks for the review! Your feedback is very welcome. The "guy" at reception was me and I usually don't shut up.

Cheers
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    109
    52
    12
    8
See reviews for
85
97
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed at the Island Palms for 2 nights in March 2012. Just across the road from a shopping centre where all your requirements were available.
The staff were most welcoming and helpful, and the rooms were clean and comfy.
I would definately recommend the Island Palms.

Room Tip: No need, all the rooms are set well back from the road for a nice and peaceful stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Thanks for the review! We loved your feedback and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Rooms are badly maintained. Leaking toilets and taps, mouldy shower, broken hinges on doors, bathroom fan not working, curtains torn, dirty and falling down as clips on runners are broken. Rooms not cleaned during stay, bathroom door filthy.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hereslookingatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
I am sorry to heard about your time with us. Your stay with us does not exemplify us, so I would hope you could give us another chance in the future to stay with us again so we can meet or exceed the expectation you would have had with us on your initial stay.

I can guarantee you that are rooms are always cleaned to the highest possible standard, we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of your rooms. Rooms are also cleaned daily unless you display the do not disturb signage on your door or request that your room is not to be cleaned.

Never would we place a guest into room that have any maintenance requirements no matter how big or small.

Again sorry to hear about your stay.

Kind Regards
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and had a great time. We liked it so much that we extended for another night. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good BBQ and pool area. Great for kids. Rooms were clean and a good size. Close to town. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Thanks for your review! We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regard
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

You get what you pay for! Stayed here for one night for a business meeting. It looks ok from the street but the rooms were very outdated & had a funny smell to them. Room walls were also very thin so I was woken up by banging in the next room. Didn't eat here. Tried to eat at pub few doors up but it was shut. Went to the bowling club & it was all you can eat wouldn't recommend it everything was packet food. The motel is across the road to a shopping center with a supermarket but the main St of Forster is about a 5 minute drive same with beach.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasmine_paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay. I can guarantee our rooms are very well sound proofed, as the wall are rendered double brick with a cavity. The guest adjacent you must have been quiet loud for you to hear them. Please accept our apologies. We will take on-board your comments and use them to improve future stays.

Kind Regards
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Brief 1 night stay to visit family. Booked via wotif.com with a great rate half the listed rate, so made it excellent value for money. Requested standard room with Queen bed and pleasantly surprised by the large room with this plus a single bed. Spacious bathroom with double size shower area with curtain (no bath) and shower head suspended from the roof, which gave a great shower. They had given me the disabled room! Lovely outlook from room to parklands and sliding door led out to a small paved area with table and chairs. Extremely quiet and dark at night - great for sleeping. The bed was excellent - firm. And even tho I travelled with my own pillow, the pillows provided seemed very good. The room was spotless with ample towels provided. Check in and check out was quick and I found both staff I dealt with (think they were the husband and wife owners) friendly and easy going. Ample parking on-site (and off the main road) and it seemed to be close to capacity with only 1 or 2 car spaces left. Didn't use the pool or room service so can't comment on that. Well located opposite Stockland Shopping Centre (main shopping centre with 2 supermarkets and many many other shops) and even though it is located on the main road, design of the motel ensures minium road noise - I didn't hear any, but my room was located right at the back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thanks for your review. I am love to hear how much guests enjoyed their stay with us. Yes the room you stayed in was a disabled suite and because is quite a bit large than most other rooms. Emily & I look forward to seeing you on your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Haven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

we had a lovely stay for 2 nights, good size room, very clean and nice and quite. close to shopping cntr. The bed was very comfortable. good location, we will stay there again. Leonie

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leoniechurcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for your comments and your stay. We pride ourselves on our rooms and we are happy to hear you had a lovely stay. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forster hotels
1.6 mi away
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
#6 of 9 in Forster
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lakesway Motor Inn
1.5 mi away
Forster Motor Inn
Forster Motor Inn
#3 of 9 in Forster
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Golden Sands Motor Inn
Golden Sands Motor Inn
#5 of 9 in Forster
109 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bella Villa Motor Inn
Bella Villa Motor Inn
#4 of 9 in Forster
99 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sevan Apartments
Sevan Apartments
#3 of 13 in Forster
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Palms Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Palms Motor Inn

Property: Island Palms Motor Inn
Address: 115 The Lakes Way, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Forster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Forster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Palms Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Palms Motor inn is a perfect place to start your discovery of the crystal clear waters and pristine beaches of the Great Lakes area. Set in a quiet, comfortable and relaxing atmosphere, We are located adjacent Wallis Lake, Forster Stockland Shopping Centre & The Lake Side Tavern. Close to beach, clubs & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Island Palms Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing