We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Palms Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Forster
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Very pleasantly surprised. Booked at last minute and found the rooms very neat, tidy and comfortable. Twin beds were in separate rooms which was great. Rooms set well back off highway and extremely quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. definately stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for room backing onto reserve
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    109
    52
    12
    8
See reviews for
85
98
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We had an overnight stop here to see a little of Forster on the way back from the Gold Coast. Very clean and tidy room, with everything in good working order, and comfortable beds (we had a double and two single beds). The room had ranchsliders opening out to the bush-view at the rear of the unit. Very tranquil. The location is a fair way down The Lakes Way - too far to walk into the centre of town, but there are shops within walking distance. I was a little surprised to find no microwave though, and info in the room advised 'cooking not allowed'. Possibly because there is an on-site restaurant? This seemed to have a limited menu, mostly seafood - and since we are not seafood eaters, drove into town for the evening meal and made pigs of ourselves at the Hog's Breath.

The general area around Forster-Tuncurry is absolutely beautiful. I'd be keen to go back for a week or so to explore the beaches and bush walks, but would probably stay in a cabin at one of the tourist parks.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

we stayed at island palms motor in not the best accomadation at all!!

1.Well the rooms are very outdatted
2. our rooom we coundnt get out the back door it was dead locked and had no keys
3. Over charge us $30 for the last night ( which was surpose to be $140 for the last night)
4. We had dinner there one night which cost us $170 a little expensie
5. The room was really small for 5 people and in all the same room
6. the pool is only 1m deep good for kids but not for adults
7. No where near the beaches
8. So close to shooping centre traffic garlore
9. Staff where rude

look somewhere else!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandpalms, Owner at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Sorry to hear about your stay. We try our best to please all guests that stay with us and can assure you that your experience is not typical of most guests that stay with us. I will address each of the problems you had with your experience with us:

* Our rooms are always being updated and we pride ourselves on there appearance. The room you stay in number 26 had new carpet, new 32" LCD, new bedding and had been painted approximately last 3 years. The older parts of the room are the cabinetry about 10 years old and the curtains which are about 8 years old.

* I've been to check the rear sliding door on the room you stayed in number 26, since you posted this review and as far as I can tell it is in perfect working order. You must not have unlocked it. If you had brought this to our attention when you stayed with us I would have been more than happy to show you how to operate the sliding door lock.

* According to the two confirmations we sent you, you have not been overcharged. The first when you initially booked in November and the second when you booked an additional night. The room rate was $170 per night for each night you stayed with us and not $140 for the last night. If you would like to discuss this with us further please contact us.

* Your meals cost $170.50 for five people that is $34.10 a head. From $170.50 you received entrees, mains, desserts, several drinks for all five people. Three courses and drinks at $34.10 a head seems very reasonable to me, but I might be bias as I am the proprietor of the business.

* The Family room you booked is our largest room at 34 Square Metres. Which contains a Queen, Single & Double bunks all in the same room. The rooms itself is quite large, but with all the beds in the same room and five occupants the room can seem rather small. But this is how we advertise the room as being open plan at 34 Square Metres in size with all the bedding in the one area.

* Yes our pool is only one Metre deep.

* The nearest beach is one mile beach 2.7KM away and about 6 minutes drive. Forster Main Beach is 3.4KM and about 5 minutes drive.

* We are located just across the road from Forster Stocklands. The period you stayed over the Australia day long weekend is an extremely busy time in the area, with a large influx of visitors. Along with this comes the large amount of traffic. The bridge between Forster & Tuncurry can take up to an hour to cross during busy times of the year; this trip would normally take only a few minutes at any other time.

* Our family run business prides itself on its great customer service. I personally do not recall being rude toward you at any point and I found you to be quite pleasant and friendly individual. I have spoken to other people who have had interaction with you during your stay and no one can recall an event that could have been rude or misconstrued as rude. If you would like to contact us to help us shed more light on this problem that would be greatly appreciated.

Again sorry about your stay, I hope with does not put you off to coming back to Forster-Tuncurry as it is a Beautiful part of the world full of friendly people and nothing can quite compare to it.

Kind Regards
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This was an overnight stop from Brisbane on the way to the Blue Mountains. A car is needed as it's a trek to town centre, beaches and beautiful surrounding waterways, but it is a motel afterall. Having said that once you've been sight seeing, had a swim etc, etc you can park your car at the motel and either walk to the Lakeside Tavern and eat at the fantastic Chinese restaurant there or visit the shopping centre across the road and pick up something for dinner. The motel has its own restaurant, but IMO the menu is basic and expensive for what is on offer. The room has a small table, toaster, mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities, but you will need you own crockery and cutlery if you intend to eat in.
The good sized room and bathroom were clean, light, bright and nicely decorated. The bed comfortable. A great, good value place to stay for a night or two, but IMO not a place to stay for an extended time. Its courtyard faced a colourbond fence and there was one easy chair in the room so not exactly a place where you would chill out.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We used this as a one night stop while travelling back from QLD to Victoria. We arrived quite late in the evening and thanks to reception, when I called to advice we'd be arriving outside normal check in times, they were flexible enough to offer alternative arrangments.

I found the place on the map when planning our trip. I hadn't heard of Forster before but as soon as we drove into town we came across a carnival and there was people everywhere. Seems to be quite the desination and happening even at 9 o'clock on a Tuesday night, during the holidays.

I booked a spa suite that consists of a separate bathroom but with a spa in the open plan suite. There's also rear access to a small unfenced outdoor area.

Location is good with it right across from a shopping centre.

Rooms are a little on the older side but looks like they've been kept up to date. A little overpriced at $160 a night compared to others I've used but that's probably just the market.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TH_Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Was booked into to this Motel whilst on an overnight tour from Sydney. The rooms were large, twin share had 2 single beds and a queen size bed separated by the bathroom. The back of our room also overlooked the bush. The facilities were very clean, the beds were comfortable. The staff were extremely welcoming. The shops are just across the road. We also had dinner and a full buffet breakfast provided for us. The servings were very generous and very tasty. I would go back and stay at this Motel again. I would also highly recommend this Motel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CE_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We spent 3 nights while in Forster for a wedding, the room was nice and clean, the bed very comfortable and the staff really friendly. It was good having the shopping across the road for the basics and 30 mins up the road we found an amazing beach called boomerang beach, well worth taking the time to go there for a swim.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Thanks for the review! We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Billy & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forster hotels
1.6 mi away
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
#6 of 9 in Forster
156 reviews
1.5 mi away
Forster Motor Inn
Forster Motor Inn
#3 of 9 in Forster
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lakesway Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bella Villa Motor Inn
Bella Villa Motor Inn
#4 of 9 in Forster
101 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Sands Motor Inn
Golden Sands Motor Inn
#5 of 9 in Forster
110 reviews
1.2 mi away
Forster Palms Motel
Forster Palms Motel
#7 of 9 in Forster
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Palms Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Palms Motor Inn

Property: Island Palms Motor Inn
Address: 115 The Lakes Way, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Forster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Forster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Palms Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Palms Motor inn is a perfect place to start your discovery of the crystal clear waters and pristine beaches of the Great Lakes area. Set in a quiet, comfortable and relaxing atmosphere, We are located adjacent Wallis Lake, Forster Stockland Shopping Centre & The Lake Side Tavern. Close to beach, clubs & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Palms Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing