We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to improve facilities to warrant price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Palms Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Forster
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Needs to improve facilities to warrant price”
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We booked a spa room for $185 on wotif.com. The rack rate for that room is $225. The hotel is not located near the beach. Our room was a good size, but the decor needs an update. The curtains were musty, as was the spare linen in the cupboard. The TV has poor reception with a crappy remote control. There were hairs in the shower.
There are plenty of accommodations in Forster, look elsewhere for a better deal.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kylie1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandpalms, Owner at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2010
I am sorry to hear about your stay. Our motel is located approximately 3.5km from the beach and is less than 100m from the lake and is under 500m to skiing grounds at the Forster Keys. We are currently undergoing an upgrade of our TV system to take a digital signal which should improve any TV reception problems that we have. Our prices are very comptetive with prices of other motels of the same star rating in Forster, only three other motels of the same star rating have spa suites in Forster with peak season prices ranging from $150 to $205 within Forster. At the Island Palms Motor Inn we are always trying to improve in the last 12 months we have replaced all the carpets with new carpets, replaced all the beds with new beds and all rooms have been freshly painted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    109
    52
    12
    8
See reviews for
85
98
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glenmore Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2009

This motel seems to cater only to coach trips. Has no resturant and there is no service to the rooms for meals other than breakfast. The room is tired but clean. The shower is suspended from the ceiling in the middle of a large spa bath. It was really tricky getting into and out of the bath. The staff were really friendly,

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandpalms, Owner at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2010
Thank you for your review! We unfortunately had to close down our restaurant about two years ago due to lack of business. We now use own restaurant for group, functions and conferences only.

We do cater to a large amount of senior coach groups, about 30 a year.

You also unforunately happen to get the only room in the motel to have a shower over a bath tub this room has since you stay been refurbished and now has a large walk-in shower with hand rails.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

When arriving at the motel with our 18 month year old we thought, this looks ok, The out side and pool area was well maintanied, But when we went to our room and found 3 dead cockroaches 1 dead caterpillar and more dead fly’s than I could count we thought again. Also our friends booked a room next door which had the same amount of dead and living creapy crawlys and had 2 double beds. our room had a double and a single but was $40 more a night due to it having a spa bath, big deal, but it was all that was left.
The manager was a young cocky arrogant kid with no people skills what so ever, he did not care about the state of our zoo room and the girl that came to vacuum blamed the new cleaner, which I replied she wants sacking then. Our friend’s room was in the same dirty state and when they said what are you going to do about it, the answer was well we vacuumed the room now. I think the room should have been vacuumed before we went in don’t you. His other excuse was there hasn’t been any one in the room for a while. That no excuse if I ran a hotel id make sure the room was spotless before anyone stayed, especially with young children who like to put things in there mouth.
Anyway we learned when you leave it till the last minute to book for the Easter long weekend you get the bottom of the barrel, so lesson learned for us and you too,,,,dont stay here.............

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank funman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandpalms, Manager at Island Palms Motor Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2010
I am sorry to hear about your stay. I am also very dissapointed in your review as it seem to be very exagerated recollection of a minor event during you stay. I can personally say as I inspect your room, that there was only one dead bug in your room in the sliding door track which we removed and clean out immediately. We also vacummed your whole room because you child had crushed serveral biscuits into the carpet. As for your friends room which I also inspect It was completely spotless.

A few hours after we had cleaned your room, you came into the office demanding to speak to the manager or owner to which I reply "thats me", again you demanded to see the manager or owner as you didn't see to believe that I was the owner. I then offer you a discounted room rate but you stormed out of the office and I never saw you again.

I assure you at the Island Palms Motor Inn we carry out a full pest control of the whole establishment every 3 months and that our cleaners check and clean rooms daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forster hotels
1.6 mi away
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
#6 of 9 in Forster
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lakesway Motor Inn
1.5 mi away
Forster Motor Inn
Forster Motor Inn
#3 of 9 in Forster
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bella Villa Motor Inn
Bella Villa Motor Inn
#4 of 9 in Forster
101 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Sands Motor Inn
Golden Sands Motor Inn
#5 of 9 in Forster
110 reviews
1.2 mi away
Forster Palms Motel
Forster Palms Motel
#7 of 9 in Forster
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Palms Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Palms Motor Inn

Property: Island Palms Motor Inn
Address: 115 The Lakes Way, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Forster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Forster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Palms Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Palms Motor inn is a perfect place to start your discovery of the crystal clear waters and pristine beaches of the Great Lakes area. Set in a quiet, comfortable and relaxing atmosphere, We are located adjacent Wallis Lake, Forster Stockland Shopping Centre & The Lake Side Tavern. Close to beach, clubs & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Island Palms Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing