We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“forget the Gold Coast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sails Luxury Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sails Luxury Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“forget the Gold Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

If you want a relaxing holiday destination, this is it. The apartments are great and the Managers were very helpful and obliging.It was within walking distance of everything like the beach, shops, restaurants etc. You get a view no matter what side you get. The sea on one side, lake on the other.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazza021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnWeir, Manager at Sails Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Hi there,
thanks so much for your review, it pleases us greatly to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay. Hopefully we'll see you back again in the not too distant future. :)
Regards,
The Sails Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    51
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
112
126
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here recently for two nights in apartment 902 - this was undoubtedly the best apartment in the building. The views were spectacular, the apartment was large & clean and had a lovely homely feel. The management were helpful, friendly and keen to ensure that we had a great stay in Forster. The bed in the main bedroom was super comfy. Sure, the apartment is a little dated, but it is certainly clean, comfortable and it was a pleasure to stay there. Can certainly recommend a stay at Sails to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnWeir, Manager at Sails Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
We're so glad you had a good time staying with us. Also thank you for taking the time to write a review, as new Managers guest feedback is very important to us and will certainly help us improve our overall service. We'll look forward to seeing you again on you next visit to Forster.
Regards
The Sails Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Toongabbie
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We visited Sails with our New Zealand friends and found this resort was in a great location with excellent size apartment and great views. The apartment was really clean and spacious. The Inhouse managers were most helpful and always smiling Our NZ friends didnt want to leave and hopefully will be back next year to visit with us again..

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnWeir, Manager at Sails Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we're very happy you all enjoyed your stay and we'll be delighted to welcome you back to Sails on your return visit.
Regards
The Sails Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Spent the weekend in Forster and stayed on the third floor at Sails apartments. We have stayed there before and have found the apartments to be great. Very spacious, clean and well located in Forster. Staff were very friendly and efficient. We arrived after hours on Saturday and our keys etc were waiting exactly where we were advised they would be. Overall no complaints. We are definitely staying there again hopefully with a water review next time.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room on the higher floors with a sea view. Very nice. We have stayed on the 7th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
282 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

No effective WiFi despite the big bold print out the front advertising fast broadband and the ad on their web site. We were on level 9 and it didn’t work. The transmitters are on, I think, 3 of the nine floors and it would appear that it is just bad luck if you are not on one of those floors. A useless arrangement, false advertising and out-dated.

The customer service is great from payment of deposit, to payment, to a phone call to discuss checking in, to texting after hour security codes, to providing a mobile number to call if you have any problems during your stay and in the event that the reception is closed. It was Just a wonderful service experience.

Unit 902 is terrific, very nice 270 degree views over main beach and the lake. Caution; the views over Main Beach are not uninterrupted with a unit building obscuring, only to a degree, what would otherwise be a spectacular view. The unit takes full advantage of its northern and western aspect.

This unit has a large screen TV with sufficient enough subscription to Austar to keep up with sport. The furnishings are quite nice and there are only a few areas that show wear and tear.
Air-conditioning is in the lounge/dinning/kitchen area and the main bedroom, but not in the second bedroom although there are pleasantly quiet ceiling fans in both bedrooms.

A good sized balcony takes advantage of the views to the north and west, has a small electric BBQ and outdoor dining setting for 4.

Communal facilities are very good with a pool (not heated and quite cold), spa, infrared sauna, small gym and tennis court.

A single lift in the building seemed to service all floors adequately. The rooms are only service weekly.

I recommend Sails (Unit 902) to anyone who wants a relaxing, holiday unit with a view BUT who doesn’t need or want WiFi access?????

Room Tip: Unit 902 has good views and modern fitout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaleenXTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We recently stayed at Sails along with many others in our extended family as we were attending a family reunion near Forster. Between us we had several 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and we all thought they were fantastic. The service from John was great as was the space and cleanliness of the apartments. Very well priced and fully equipped, with comfortable beds and the best views from all rooms and the massive wrap around balcony.
We would all highly recommend Sails for short or long terms stays - we would have loved to stay much longer and hope to return on day!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 602 - great views and huge balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reid02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Reservation was handled efficiently. Check in was fine. We were pleased with the 2 bedroom apartment on the 6th floor which had terrific views. Bed was a little soft for me. Also noticed that in the master bedroom - sleeping in might be a problem - as the sun radiates in through the spaces between the roller blinds (agreed that it might not bother some people). I would have enjoyed a greater number of stations on the AUSTAR TV (e.g. FX). They also have free to air tv available. The apartment was very spacious and we appreciated that we could book for just one night as we were travelling south. Many places require 2 or 3 nights which would not have been convenient for us. We looked a the pool which seems fine. Sauna seems like a small little box which was a bit odd. Overall - thank you Sails - . Rate was 220 at Sails which seemed very good for what we received in terms of cleanliness, facilities, and location. Nearby we enjoyed a good Mexican meal at Aztecs. It is a short walk to the beach from Sails. Time permitting - we would have enjoyed staying a longer time. Overlooking the nearby beach we had a delightful breakfast at a place with open air seating and a terrific beach-ocean view.

Room Tip: We had 602 which had good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tevorolevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forster hotels
0.1 mi away
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
#6 of 10 in Forster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches International
Beaches International
#1 of 13 in Forster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sevan Apartments
Sevan Apartments
#3 of 13 in Forster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Island Palms Motor Inn
Island Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 10 in Forster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forster Motor Inn
Forster Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Forster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lakesway Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Luxury Apartments

Property: Sails Luxury Apartments
Address: 7 - 9 Head Street, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Forster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Forster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sails Luxury Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sails Luxury Apartments are in a class of their own, offering an unparalleled standard of guest comfort and facilities - all this in the heart of Forster - just perfect!  Providing the ideal Forster beach accommodation for your holiday needs whether it be a relaxing weekend escape, a romantic getaway or a fun family holiday. Sails have large well appointed, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom, comfortable self catering apartments, which are all fully self contained including linen. All apartments boast large spacious living areas with wrap round balcony—with individual private BBQ’s, large bedrooms, a main bathroom (with separate bath) plus an ensuite off the main bedroom with walk-in robe. Facilities at Sails include; pool, spa, sauna, full sized tennis court, free wifi, foxtel and underground secruity parking, all surrounded by our beautiful gardens. Leave your car behind as you walk to shops and restaurants or the sea rock pool and Main Beach for a swim in Forster's crystal blue water. Forster has so much on offer - like fishing, paddle boarding, boating, swimming, surfing, picturesque walks, kayaking, whale watching or take a drive and explore all the fantastic experiences the Great Lakes Region has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sails Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing