We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“place to stay at forster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sails Luxury Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Quakers Hill, Australia
1 review
“place to stay at forster”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

we are a family of 6 which is really hard to find good value and comfortable apartments ,have being staying at sails for over 12 years wouldn't stay anywhere else friendly staff only a phone call away, always clean, easy secure parking ,good size rooms ,

Room Tip: rooms above 5th and 6th have great views have being staying at sails for over 12 years at christmas
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnWeir, Manager at Sails Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Sails, the Crew always enjoy seeing you & the family. We'd made a few improvements during our 1st year including upgrading Foxtel to the Premium package (with more movie & sporting channels) and improving the Free WIFI service to a reliable system - by the time you come back we hope to have many of the apartments refurbished in time for the holiday season. Looking forward to seeing you again then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    55
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
116
140
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miranda, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

For the last 10 years we have been staying at Sails in the January holidays. Sometimes on level 6, or 7, or 8 or 9. Last summer we were in 801 on level 1. We usually are stuck with rebooking the same apartment as the previous year.
The management (new this trip) were friendly and helpful as usual. However we noticed this time that the building itself is looking a little drab both inside and outside. The common areas, pool, tennis court and the gardens could have more attention, and a little work on sprucing them up with a few pot plants and decoration would go a long way.
We have loved our stays but this year was really a disappointment.
The apartment was in real need of refurbishing. Costing $4,000 for ten days is a lot of money for accommodation that included scruffy, rusty and broken furniture, with soft furnishings that were grubby and stained. Such shame when we save all year for this holiday, and in the past have had beautifully appointed apartments. The kitchenette had cupboard doors where they were barely hanging on the hinges. The appliances have definitely seen better days.
We told the management that we would have to consider staying there again, they said that they had advised the owner to renovate.
We recently found that the unit is now on the market, and it is unlikely the owner will spend any money now!
We told the managers we would rethink staying at sails if the apartment was not improved.
We now have the dilemma on whether to risk staying again.

Room Tip: Overall we found the Sails staff most welcoming, but the room situation may be a deal breaker. We lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnWeir, Manager at Sails Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
I’m sorry to hear that you weren’t happy with your stay in that apartment, but also a bit bewildered that you had rebooked the same apartment (3 times) knowing what it was like. However, I do completely agree with you that the apartment you stayed in needs redecorating & refurbishment.

It was interesting that you found the building, garden, tennis court and pool also not to your liking.

Perhaps you hadn’t noticed that, in the few months leading into the holiday season, the wifi internet had been upgraded (so it now delivers a reliable service), Foxtel had been upgraded to the Platinum package (offering guests more choices), the gardens had undergone a major rejuvenation, the building had just had it’s annual repaint service (externally & internally), the tennis court had it’s annual maintenance to the court surface also a new fence erected and new pool furniture had been purchased. We had also introduced new policies & procedures in housekeeping & linen services resulting in an improved level of cleanliness within the apartments.

As the new managers we feel this was quite a lot of achievements in our first few months, this seemed reinforced when nearly all returning guests congratulated us on the improvements. One common comment that several guests made was that they’d never seen the pool as sparkling as this before, this very much pleased my partner who works tirelessly and long hours on the maintenance side of the business.

We’re extremely sorry you won’t be back but wish you well in the future and if you decide to holiday at Sails again please feel free to give me a call personally to discuss your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great place to stay - very close to beach and shops and centre of town. Management are friendly, efficient and very helpful. Pool and parking facilites are great - didn't use the fitness centre. Room we had this time was a little dated, previous time our room was super modern and sleek. Need to be on the 7th floor or above to get a decent view of the beach over other buildings. Overall I will definitely stay again next time I am up that way.

Room Tip: Need to be on Level 7 or above for a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnWeir, Manager at Sails Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review & we're so glad to hear that you'll be back. Yes, each apartment has an individual décor and can be as different as each of the apartment owners. This can be good in many ways as our guests also vary in ages & tastes, so what one person finds dated another will find comforting :). If you have a favourite just let us know when booking & we'll do our best to give you the apartment of your choice. The Crew's looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here twice, once in Nov 2011 and again in April 2012. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment with some lovely views. The apartment isn't huge but it's very modern and clean with comfortable new furniture. It can be very windy out on the balcony making it difficult to really enjoy the view. It's a short stroll to the beach and rock pool and close to cafes, take away shops etc. There's a tennis court and a nice pool, which is on the smaller side. Overall it's a very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridge1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnWeir, Manager at Sails Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
We're so pleased that you choose to stay with us here at Sails when you come to Forster. Yes, it can be a little windy in the afternoon at various times of the year, but with our large windows that wrap all around the building you get to enjoy the view in comfort from all the living areas & the bedrooms. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
The Sails Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

If you're looking for the perfect place to stay in Forster then this is the place! EVERYTHING was ABSOLUTELY PERFECT! From making the reservation, check-in, our stay and our departure, everything was PERFECT! The hotel is located in a great spot! Walking distance to the beach and The Bull Ring, shops, the bridge, and the views from our massive balcony, which wrapped around the entire apartment, was glorious! The manager's are very attentive, friendly and would do anything to ensure you have a great stay! We stayed here as a family with 3 young children and the rooms were perfect! The main bedroom was ginormous, with an ensuite and a walk-in wardrobe! The apartment was beautifully decorated! The great big kitchen was very well stocked with utensils and appliances and we were surprised to have found an iPod dock and a Wii in the apartment as well! The huge couch was soooo comfortable, it was hard to leave it some days! As we all walked into our apartment our first words were "WOW!!! This apartment is AMAZING!!!" We were all surprised on how lovely the apartment was inside and how spacious it was! It was very hard for us to leave the apartment, we loved everything about the apartment! We will always stay here from now on when in Forster and have told everyone we know to stay here! Thank you to the staff (and owners of the apartment) for making our stay absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue-Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnWeir, Manager at Sails Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
It was a pleasure having you & your family stay with us here at Sails and we're also delighted you found the apartment to your liking. The Crew is looking forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Forster. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed in room 703.
It was a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment. It was neat and tidy, had everything you would need for your holiday. Great security parking. One road away from the beach. Close to everything you would need. The only problem we had was our microwave didn't work and it wasn't replaced.
Also even though the dishwasher worked it had a button that was broken and I felt this should have been fixed, little fingers could get caught in it.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra and go in the higher rooms it's quieter at night also the views are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamabear61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnWeir, Manager at Sails Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Happy you enjoyed the view & amenities at Sails. However I'm surprised that you've mentioned the microwave considering when it was reported to us (on a weekend afternoon) we were told not to worry about it as you wouldn't be requiring it anyway - the oven was replaced at the first available chance, on the Monday morning, sorry if it caused you any inconvenience. Looking forward to seeing you & your family back in Forster again sometime in the future. Regards the Sails Crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I've stayed here more then once, I can't express how great the location is right next to the beach and a minute walk to the shops. The service has always been fantastic and the apartments have always been very clean and inviting. One of my favourite places to stay in Forster, definitely makes my trip just that one bit better!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec_nw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnWeir, Manager at Sails Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We're delighted to hear that you enjoy staying with us regularly. The Sails Crew are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forster
0.1 mi away
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
#6 of 9 in Forster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sevan Apartments
Sevan Apartments
#3 of 13 in Forster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches International
Beaches International
#2 of 13 in Forster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Island Palms Motor Inn
Island Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Forster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunrise Luxury Apartments
0.1 mi away
Forster Motor Inn
Forster Motor Inn
#3 of 9 in Forster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Luxury Apartments

Property: Sails Luxury Apartments
Address: 7 - 9 Head St, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Forster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Forster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sails Luxury Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sails Luxury Apartments are in a class of their own, offering an unparalleled standard of guest comfort and facilities - all this in the heart of Forster - just perfect!  Providing the ideal Forster beach accommodation for your holiday needs whether it be a relaxing weekend escape, a romantic getaway or a fun family holiday. Sails have large well appointed, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom, comfortable self catering apartments, which are all fully self contained including linen. All apartments boast large spacious living areas with wrap round balcony—with individual private BBQ’s, large bedrooms, a main bathroom (with separate bath) plus an ensuite off the main bedroom with walk-in robe. Facilities at Sails include; pool, spa, sauna, full sized tennis court, free wifi, foxtel and underground secruity parking, all surrounded by our beautiful gardens. Leave your car behind as you walk to shops and restaurants or the sea rock pool and Main Beach for a swim in Forster's crystal blue water. Forster has so much on offer - like fishing, paddle boarding, boating, swimming, surfing, picturesque walks, kayaking, whale watching or take a drive and explore all the fantastic experiences the Great Lakes Region has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sails Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing