We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pool and play area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Parks – Forster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We only stayed one night as a stopover on our way home, wished we could stay longer, especially in warmer weather. The pool and play area were great and the people were friendly at reception as well as in the park. The camp kitchen was fabulous, the best I have ever seen with gourmet kitchen, lounge area with gas fire.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on our trip back to Sydney. All I can say is that this park really is a awesome place to stay. After an horrific experience at our previous park we arrived to friendly staff, a great site for our van, nice clean showers and toilets and an amazing pool to beat of the heat. Fantastic place for families and we will be back to this park! Just wish we could stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kmatherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We camped at this holiday park over the Christmas period. It is a nice location and would have been completely enjoyable except that there was a lot of noise late at night with music thumping and loud parties. The management obviously doesn't enforce the "no loud noise after 10pm" policy, makes it difficult to enjoy as a family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Leopoldina49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Wallamba River Holiday Park was chosen as accommodation for a group golfing weekend when our other choice turned out to be fully booked. Having not stayed in a holiday park before we were really pleasantly surprised by this hidden gem. Only ten minutes north from Forster - Tuncurry, Wallamba is a lovely quiet spot set in a pretty riverside park. The view from our renovated Deluxe Waterfront Villa was stunning. Lovely trees across a green parkland to the river. The kids loved the excellent pool, the games room and the space to play and run. The on site kiosk made a great burger and chips. The full kitchen in villa and big deck meant we could entertain our group in comfort. Each villa having it's own barbeque was also a great bonus. The staff were so helpful and friendly and the accommodation was immaculately presented and very clean and tidy. The price was really reasonable and for those on a budget there are cheaper villas set back from the waterfront. Apparently in high season the holiday park can be busy and noisy with speed boats, water skiers and jet skis but as we were visiting off season it was very quiet and peaceful. I would highly recommend Wallamba River Holiday Park and would definitely think about a return visit.

Room Tip: Only some of the waterfront villas are newly renovated so make sure you make a specific request when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Awesome park. Very clean grounds and accommodation. Friendly staff, managers Greg & Liz have the park immaculate.Highly recommend it. Great for skiing, fishing. Some cabins are right on the river. Only 8ks out of Forster making this a real hidden gem.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em70-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Family of four adults booked a riverfront cabin, which was very clean, thoughtfully laid out and had a great deck, right on the river.

The river is used for water-skiiing and the nearby boat ramp saw lots of boats on the water with ski's and doughnuts on behind.

The kitchen was well equipped, with dishwasher, full size fridge etc. We brought along our own food as it is quite a way out from Foster.

We booked out stay through WOTIF just for 1 night.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_in_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

We booked out stay through WOTIF just for 1 night. We stayed in a riverfront cabin which was even better than it looked on the website. the cabin is like a holiday unit. very well set out with a comfortable corner lounge, plasma TV, queen bed which was very comfortable, well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, oven, full size fridge etc. the cabin was spotless. The deck out the front has a large table and you are literally a few metres from the river. You can thrown in a ine and fish with ease. Highly recommend this type of cabin. I did have a look at the "river view" cabins from the outside and these also look very nice, they are slightly further away from the edge of the river, but there is not a lot of difference. they appear large and well looked after. I would probably stay in one of these next time as there appears to be a large price difference, with location in the park very similiar.

The staff are extremely pleasant. I was quite suprised at how friendly they were. There is a take away/cafe in the park area, although very expensive. From memory fish and chips was about $9 as was a hamburger. You would be better to bring along your own food and avoid take away etc.

There is a boat ramp and plenty of room to park your boat and car next to your cabin. The pool area looks great and there is a well equipped playground for the kids. Plenty of bbq's everywhere. The park is about 6km from Tuncurry and is in a sense isolated, but what a great location. Very clean, well kept and pleasant to stay in. The river is amazing and very scenic and was quiet when we were there, although maybe summer is busier.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessiemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forster hotels
6.2 mi away
Forster Motor Inn
Forster Motor Inn
#3 of 9 in Forster
129 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Forster
Hotel Forster
#1 of 9 in Forster
152 reviews
7.7 mi away
Island Palms Motor Inn
Island Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 9 in Forster
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Bella Villa Motor Inn
Bella Villa Motor Inn
#4 of 9 in Forster
114 reviews
9.2 mi away
Secura Lifestyle Lakeside Forster
6.2 mi away
Sevan Apartments
Sevan Apartments
#3 of 13 in Forster
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks – Forster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks – Forster

Address: 99 Aquatic Rd, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia (Formerly Wallamba River Holiday Park)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Forster
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Forster
Price Range: £53 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks – Forster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located an easy three and a half hour drive north of Sydney and just 10 minutes from the mid north coast holiday centre of Forster/Tuncurry, Discovery Parks - Forster offers absolute river frontage with superb views and a peaceful, relaxing environment. Discovery Parks - Forster offers access to the magnificent Wallis Lake estuary system with some of the best water activities that this unspoilt area has to offer such as fishing, kayaking and water skiing. Take advantage of the regions exceptional climate and enjoy the year round holiday atmosphere, visit the beautiful pristine beaches of Blackhead and Hallidays Point or just kick back and relax in our friendly park atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Discovery Parks – Forster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing