We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for cockroach lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Discovery Parks – Forster
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only for cockroach lovers”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This place was just a nightmar.after long journey from port douglas this was the last stop on the way to Sydney and definitely the worst.absolutely not worth money what we paid. We stayed one night in waterfront villa, location was nice, but after we opened doors we were shocked.everywhere was running cockroaches, floor was dirty, hairs on the beds, beds wasn't even ready just folded sheets on matraces, very old furniture. noisy neon lights.not enough space.kitchen sticky and dirty.never again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Dominika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    18
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We come here often and the facilities are great for water sports, however the customer service is very lacking at both reception and the café and the facilities including the cabins and the boardwalk certainly need some attention.

It is disappointing to see the park has deteriorated in recent years. The board walk is falling apart and the grassed area near the boat ramp is quickly running out of grass....turning to dirt and burs instead. Our cabin was also full of ants and the shower hot water very inconsistent.

There are a couple of people that are managing the park that are quite 'unhappy' and could do with making the guests (who are paying quite high prices for a caravan park) feel a little more welcome.

The Café also needs some lessons in customer service, they are very 'sour faced' and lack in consistency in opening times, 'rules' for when you can order pizza and they do not have a healthy alternative. Although they make hamburgers, they wouldn't let you have a sandwich!

it would be good to relax the no noise policy on a Friday or Saturday night to 11.00pm or so - I don't think the guest would mind as long as there is some notice put in the reception and at the shop.

On a brighter note, the rubbish collection is great and consistent, and it's great that one pet per cabin is allowed! The park needs some TLC.

Room Tip: riverfront is always good. Don't come here if you don't like motorboats. It's a skiing h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralphy_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks – Forster, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Wallamba River Holiday Park. We value all our guests’ feedback.
We are sorry to hear, and apologies that you did not receive the customer service that is expected to be given by our staff. All our staff are trained to the highest level, and your comments will be given to Head Office Management to use for the ongoing training of the team.
The boat ramp is actually on public land and is the responsibility of the council, so unfortunately we are unable to do anything regarding this. The Boardwalk itself was damaged during flooding from the river and we are hoping to have this fixed in the not too distant future.
This time of year the ant situation can be very bad, we do ensure all the cabins are very well cleaned prior to guest arrival and we are currently getting quotes for our annual pest extermination.
We hope that you will consider Aspen Parks again in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutzelfluh-Goldbach, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Only managed to have an overnight stay but accommodation in the downstairs apartment on the river was quite impressive. We arrived late but the key and directions were left out for us. It was pouring rain and dark and a little difficult to find our way in but we were very comfortable for the evening. It looks like a real haven for the boating fraternity.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Madonna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syd-Aus
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Deluxe Spa riverfront villa.The highlight of our stay
was the Gorgeous sunsets We watched from the outdoor area. The cabin was very clean and the kitchen very well equipped.
The downside of our stay was putting up with the VERY loud motorboats & waterskiing activities in the river ,from morning 'til the sun was gone,so It wasn't pleasant to be seating in the verandah during day time.
Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks – Forster, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Wallamba River Holiday Park, we are glad to hear overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we agree the sunsets are pretty spectacular in this part of the world.
We do take the cleanliness and upkeep of our cabins very seriously and we appreciate your comments.
This part of the Wallamba River is renowned for water skiing and most of the activities on the river do involve power boats. Most of our clientele are from the water skiing fraternity.
We hope to see you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We booked and stayed in the River Front 2 Bedroom villa - Wow. Tranquil and quiet. The Villa was spotless with a full kitchen, 2 bedrooms and separate toilet to bathroom. We had a huge private deck looking onto the River and it was a joy. Lovely and quiet. The only one thing I wish it had was a King Bed instead of Queen. Oh well. We will definitely be back, but longer next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront Villa!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STSurryHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Flats, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We only stayed one night as a stopover on our way home, wished we could stay longer, especially in warmer weather. The pool and play area were great and the people were friendly at reception as well as in the park. The camp kitchen was fabulous, the best I have ever seen with gourmet kitchen, lounge area with gas fire.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on our trip back to Sydney. All I can say is that this park really is a awesome place to stay. After an horrific experience at our previous park we arrived to friendly staff, a great site for our van, nice clean showers and toilets and an amazing pool to beat of the heat. Fantastic place for families and we will be back to this park! Just wish we could stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmatherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forster hotels
9.2 mi away
Secura Lifestyle Lakeside Forster
7.4 mi away
Smugglers Cove Holiday Village
6.2 mi away
Sevan Apartments
Sevan Apartments
#3 of 13 in Forster
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Island Palms Motor Inn
Island Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Forster
262 reviews
6.2 mi away
Forster Motor Inn
Forster Motor Inn
#3 of 9 in Forster
118 reviews
6.1 mi away
Golden Sands Motor Inn
Golden Sands Motor Inn
#5 of 9 in Forster
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks – Forster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks – Forster

Property: Discovery Parks – Forster
Address: 99 Aquatic Rd, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia (Formerly Wallamba River Holiday Park)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Forster
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Forster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks – Forster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located an easy three and a half hour drive north of Sydney and just 10 minutes from the mid north coast holiday centre of Forster/Tuncurry, Discovery Parks - Forster offers absolute river frontage with superb views and a peaceful, relaxing environment. Discovery Parks - Forster offers access to the magnificent Wallis Lake estuary system with some of the best water activities that this unspoilt area has to offer such as fishing, kayaking and water skiing. Take advantage of the regions exceptional climate and enjoy the year round holiday atmosphere, visit the beautiful pristine beaches of Blackhead and Hallidays Point or just kick back and relax in our friendly park atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Discovery Parks – Forster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing