We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great location and quiet - perfect for a short stay”
Review of Forster Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Forster Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Forster
Certificate of Excellence
Quirindi, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Clean, great location and quiet - perfect for a short stay”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This place is old and we did make funny of hubby for booking it especially when we were greeted by the fish shower screen!! You know the one from the 70's with the fish and netting!! But it's clean, has big rooms, has friendly staff and is within walking distance to most things. It's not a luxury holiday spot but if on a budget and wanting to get away this place is perfect.

Room Tip: Walk to the local fish and chip shops for dinner YUM!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    50
    22
    4
    7
See reviews for
29
53
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed here for a quick getaway up the coast of NSW. we were after something relatively cheap and this is what we found - we did quite well! Despite looking very dated from the outside, inside the rooms were spacious, neat and most importantly, clean. I wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Stephens, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

The location for my one night stay was ideal, service was great , price was right ,the room was clean except for the overwhelming musty smell , which was not goog I think it might have been because of excessive rain in the area , would probably return but would check room first !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DjJames67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We are regular visitors to this area to visit the inlaws and usually stay at another motel which was booked out. Had another motel booked but found it not up to what was advertised so came around to the Golden Sands.
I had previously read reviews on this site and only hesitated booking here as I thought they only had double beds. Stopped to ask if they had queen beds and found lady polite and happy to assist.
Older style motel but room was clean, bed was comfortable, a/cond good, shower nice and strong and clean pool.
My suggestions would be to have a suitcase stand to put bags on and not have to leave on the floor and thought signs in room (though necessary) regarding NO COOKING a bit overbearing with way wording done

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

We just stayed overnight to visit friends. Room was very clean contrary to other reviews. Decor was old but well maintained. We rang to say we were late so key left out. Most importantly a spanking new air conditioner that worked a treat. Woud recomend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_and_Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This centrally located motel is exactly what the photos show; simple, affordable and clean.
You can walk to all recommended restaurants and activities within a couple of minutes. Would highly recommend to traveller who is either passing through or who plans to stay 3-4 nights.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room number in the double digits - you'll then be away from the in house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandolfQuaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

If decor isn't a priority but location and price is then this is the place to stay. The bathroom is retro but the room is comfortable and clean. The location is fantastic with everything in walking distance. I had noisy neighbours at night and was very impressed with the manager Cass dealing with it and texting me to let me know he was.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forster hotels
0.1 mi away
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
#6 of 9 in Forster
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Motor Inn
Golden Sands Motor Inn
#5 of 9 in Forster
110 reviews
1.5 mi away
Island Palms Motor Inn
Island Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Forster
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Villa Motor Inn
Bella Villa Motor Inn
#4 of 9 in Forster
102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Lakesway Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Sails Luxury Apartments
Sails Luxury Apartments
#1 of 13 in Forster
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forster Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forster Motor Inn

Property: Forster Motor Inn
Address: 11 Wallis St, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Forster
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Forster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Forster Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Forster Motor Inn. We are a 3 1/2 star, AAA rated property. We offer 28 clean and comfortable rooms at great prices.We have pet friendly and disable friendly rooms. Forster Motor Inn is perfect for families and couples in need of a holiday, break or stopover on a budget. Located within a five minute walk to Wallis Lake, the great beach and the centre of town. Our Rooms are air-conditioned with tea/coffee making facilities, TV, microwave, small fridge, toaster, ironing board and iron, hairdryers , free access to recently renovated outdoor pool, communal BBQ, free WiFi and free car parking. Too good for the price!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Forster Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing