We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, excellent location, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forster Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forster Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Forster
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value, excellent location, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed at Forster Motor Inn over the busy Christmas break period and the staff could not have been any more accomodating! Gave great tips on local restaurants, beaches and even clothes shops. Management team were very friendly and warmly welcomed us when we arrived late on a public holiday.

Beds comfy, room clean and the pool was perfect when wanting a break from the beach.

Excellent location - only a minute walk to the main street and lake. Only a couple more to the main beach which is very family friendly.

Im a big shower person and the pressure and heat was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    46
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
26
49
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Location excellent close to town. Great clean bbq and utensils. Pool lovely and clean with complimentry towels to use pool side.
Off street parking for security.
Management so friendly and helpful, would stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyTwinsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our family of 4 with 2 young children stayed at Forster Motor Inn for a week through the New Years period. All the staff Tony, Joanne and Daniel are so friendly and helpful and are always happy to help. Nothing was too much trouble and we were offered clean sheets and towels regularly and anything else we might have needed. We would definitely stay there again as it's a great location and the staff make you feel at home.
And in relation to John C C's review, As far as the older gentlemen enjoying a XXXX, so do a lot of people when they aren't working, which Tony wasn't working when he had a XXXX with us which was very friendly. I didn't see him have a drink when working and from the work ethic we witnessed he is very hard working as are Jo and Daniel!
Thanks Tony, Jo and Daniel for a terrific holiday experience, we really appreciate it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daz_W66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollingong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My family recently stayed at the Forster Motor Inn between Christmas and New Year. We found the staff Jo/Danuel and Tony to be extremely friendly and helpful always offering to help. They providing our children with a basketball hoop on an overcast day when we couldn't use the pool. The rooms were kept very tidy and we were offered fresh towels and anything we needed daily. We would stay there again given the friendly staff and great central location to everywhere in Forster. Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanFitz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrimal, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Couldn't be more accommodating, friendly and cheerful. Dedicated REAL people on check in, cleaning and even drove us to the club because club courtesy bus was going to be late! Comfy room, bed and microwave, fridge, tea/coffee facilities. It's not the ritz and is dated - but then again... We didn't book the ritz!! Central to everything and didn't use our vehicle once for the two days. We were really concerned after negative reviews and were very pleasantly surprised. New managers as at May 2013. Enjoyed our stay with good country hospitality. Would recommend as a *cheap* and cheerful place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

If you're ever offered room 28, decline it and if they can't change it, go elsewhere, it's a dog box. Jo was lovely, so was Daniel (Manager). We stayed two nights only, first night in Room 28. It's small, very small and backs onto the reception area and the walls don't drown out the noise. The bathroom (a step into the shower recess requires a small ladder) was bigger than the room. The water pressure in this room was AWESOME! Tear your skin off your back, that's both good and bad. The TV is a 19inch LCD that you need binoculars to watch as it's a fair way from the only sitting place, the bed. The bed! Where do I start. We're not fat people but still took my wife 5 attempts to remove herself from the bed in the morning. There's one (1) fluorescent light for the whole room (if you don't count the light coming through the front window that even the heavy curtains fail to arrest). Tea / Coffee making facilities? Yes, but nowhere to wash your cups etc afterwards. Plates, cups, saucers, cutlery, toaster, microwave oven all crammed onto the smallest of benches. For the price, terrible! Just terrible! Oh, and don't make any noise, the owners are right above this room.

Was offered a 'free' upgrade to another room, even though we booked a 'Queen sized bedroom' and Room 28 has a 'Double sized, sponge' for a bed (woke up with a sore back, no joke! So, we accepted the 'upgrade'. At this point, we were giving serious consideration to just finding another place to stay the second night. We've made up our mind NOT to come back here. So, off to the other room (after it was cleaned). Oh, and don't use WOTIF.com to book the room, call the motel directly to ensure you don't get Room 28 as WOTIF was used as the excuse as to why we were 'given' Room 28. Do you get the idea that Room 28 was awful?

WOW, what a difference the next room was. HUGE room, a chair, a two seater lounge, 32inch LCD TV, sink, and cupboards with crockery, better bathroom layout etc (although, compared with Room 28, the water pressure was terrible). This is what we should've had for the first night. The bed was comfortable and the 'Queen size' we originally booked.

The pool was refreshing, clean and the grounds were clean and free of rubbish. There was a clothes line (or two) for drying clothes etc. Each room had their own parking spot allocated. It was very close to the main street of Forster, close to all the beaches, Club Forster (food and alcohol) and we didn't use the car whilst we were there, we walked everywhere, even across the bridge to Tuncurry.

Would I stay there again? In short, no. The facilities are dated. I know it much cost a bit to set up a motel but they've been there for many, many years and they really need to consider a complete refurbish to stay relevant. Based on the rooms, the amenities, and service (no real room service which really is only breakfast), the friendliness of the staff (Jo and Daniel were approachable but the older gentleman seemed a bit cranky and a bit too fond of a can of XXXX), this facility is over-priced.

However, this is only our experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 28 and then on the top floor. I would stay on the top floor as the ocean breeze ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We were booked into the 'deluxe' room. It is old and tired. The fold out lounge was dirty. Dust bunnies under the desk, cockroach running across the multiple stained carpet on the morning we left, so we did not bring this up with management. Dripping shower. Person at the desk was friendly. Close to amenities. Will I stay there again? No, ridiculously overpriced and a general lack of cleanliness.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmzinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forster hotels
0.1 mi away
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
#6 of 10 in Forster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.5 mi away
Island Palms Motor Inn
Island Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 10 in Forster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lakesway Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Motor Inn
Golden Sands Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Forster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Villa Motor Inn
Bella Villa Motor Inn
#4 of 10 in Forster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forster and Wallis Lake Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forster Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forster Motor Inn

Property: Forster Motor Inn
Address: 11 Wallis St, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Forster
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Forster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Forster Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Forster Motor Inn. We are a 3 1/2 star, AAA rated property. We offer 28 clean and comfortable rooms at great prices.We have pet friendly and disable friendly rooms. Forster Motor Inn is perfect for families and couples in need of a holiday, break or stopover on a budget. Located within a five minute walk to Wallis Lake, the great beach and the centre of town. Our Rooms are air-conditioned with tea/coffee making facilities, TV, microwave, small fridge, toaster, ironing board and iron, hairdryers , free access to recently renovated outdoor pool, communal BBQ, free WiFi and free car parking. Too good for the price!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Forster Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing