We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ripples on the Lake - CLOSED

Ripples on the Lake
Cuisines: Australian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ripples on the Lake is like no other - right on the Lakes edge we offer cafe service - watercraft hire- as the water is very safe and shallow we are very family friendly especially with small children - at night time (3 nights) we have restaurant service with chef's food - as well we have our 5 star marquee right on the waters edge for wedding receptions and special occasions - their is no other place like it on the mid-north coast of Australia - very unique
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great views, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Amazing views over Wallis Lake but the food was over priced and average at best. We had to send 1 meal back as frozen. Another disappointment is how the place appears to be tired and run down.....this place could be a gem but need investment in both food/chef and facilities.
Lastly, they need to accept American Express if I were to return.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowndesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    6
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not open for business?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stopped in here one afternoon only to find the gate closed. Opening hours stated that it should have be en open but apparently not. Disappointing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lifelover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forster
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Soft Shell Crab is to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The soft shell crab is really good, the friendly service is great and the location is just the best
Friends from Port Macquarie drive down just for the soft shell crab.
Try this place its great

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gazzafm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do yourself a favour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

What a wonderful, relaxing, scenic restaurant. Great food, great coffee, great and friendly service. What a lovely way to have a meal, all this and a view to "die" for. Prices were excellent along with a good variety of menu. I have been numerous times and look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Palms, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“location/setting is the only plus”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

The service was poor, the food terrible and the coffee was ok
The setting is magnificent - will not be going back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank billr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ripples on the Lake also viewed

Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 
Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 
Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing