We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect oasis”
Review of The Glass House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Glass House
Ranked #4 of 9 Glen Innes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I travel to Glen Innes quite often on business. I was made aware of The Glass House by the Visitor Centre. This is now my regular bed in Glen Innes. I have stayed in both the Garden Suite and Hideaway. I don't know which I prefer. Both look over an acre of manicured gardens. It's a great option for anyone looking for an alternative to a cookie-cutter motel room or those who want more privacy than a room in a B&B. There's a cold beer or bubble waiting on arrival and a nice selection of cereals, muffins, fruits and juice for breakfast. But the best bit are those beds. So comfortable.

Room Tip: The Garden Suite is larger & has a separate small well-equipped kitchen - which might be a bit c...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for The Glass House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We booked late for the Celtic Festival and The Glass House was offered as the only accommodation available, At $175 a night we expected a cooked breakfast and were quite disappointed when we found 4 small boxes of cereal (one of which was coco pops), 1 slice banana bread, 2 slices bread, butter and jam. Fruit, tea and coffee making as well.
We were cold most of the time having been told 'not to use aircon in the sitting room and other heater for the rest of the rooms at the same time as it might blow fuses. At 2 degrees that was ridiculous for a B&B!
There were thin curtains on the windows that didn't help keep the warmth in.
We could hear the other guests in the other suites as well. Which is never good.
The rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfortable.
But like I said, a tad over priced for what was offered.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss-Robyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Glasshouse in the Hideaway recently, and were very happy with the accommodation. Remembering that it is a B&B, the rooms were spacious and comfortable.
It had just turned cold the day we arrived, and were greeted with a warm inviting apartment (and a cold beer and mini bottle of bubbly). The bed was excellent, the shower adequate, and the lounge / kitchen area were very comfortable. The breakfast provisions were lovely, with local produce on offer, which was a nice touch! We found the provisions more than adequate for our needs.
Whilst not the cheapest of places in Glen Innes on offer, the tariff was very reasonable for this level of accommodation.
We will be stopping here next time we are on our way to the Hunter!

Room Tip: The Hideaway appeared to be the pick of the rooms
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Glass House looks great on the web site. However, on arrival, it was a disappointment. The two guest “rooms” are attached to the main house and it feels like someone’s small (small being the operative word) granny flat tarted up. The ensuite is tiny and poorly placed besides the main door (and away from the main bed). The shower is ordinary. The kitchen is so small; I had to walk sideways to reach the end. Breakfast provisions (remember this is a B&B) would feed a sparrow. There is a dearth of power points. On the plus side, the property itself is large and has nice gardens. The owners are pleasant. The bottom line is that for what is on offer, it is presently overpriced. Until the owners adjust their prices to match the market, I would suggest looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Perhaps someplace else?
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhyN0tMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glen Innes hotels
0.5 mi away
New England Motor Lodge
New England Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Glen Innes
171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glen Innes Motel
Glen Innes Motel
#1 of 5 in Glen Innes
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rest Point Motor Inn
Rest Point Motor Inn
#4 of 5 in Glen Innes
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clansman Motel
Clansman Motel
#1 of 9 in Glen Innes
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Jillaroo Motor Inn
#5 of 5 in Glen Innes
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Great Central Hotel
Great Central Hotel
#2 of 9 in Glen Innes
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glass House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glass House

Address: 15 Margaret St, Glen Innes, New South Wales 2370, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Glen Innes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Innes
Price Range: £87 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've created a "home away from home" in our 2 room suites. Set in a peaceful garden, the "Garden Suite" has 360deg garden views - the "Hideaway" is more intimate and luxurious. Offering continental breakfast choices -complimentary bar-fridge on arrival and great coffee choices. Our position is elevated, quiet and off the highway. A short stroll to CBD and restaurants. Beautiful native bird-life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Glass House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing