We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place + SNOW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Jindabyne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our family returned last week to the warmth and comfort of the Aalberg. What welcomed us was the friendly smile and welcoming environment created by the owners Lindsay & Ulla. They quickly helped us get settled and reported on the best adventures our family will have for the week. Lindsay shared his infectious enthusiasm for the season so far and made the effort to come up to the snow and show us around. Thanks Aalberg we will see you soon.

Room Tip: Family room was great for us. We have three kids and two parents
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Aalberg is run by Lindsay and Ulla and their handsome sons who are the perfect hosts. We had a wonderful school holiday week in July 2014 for 5 nights with 3 families with children from 6 to 16 who all had something to keep them happy and entertained and well fed after long days on the slopes. Wiii for the young ones, movies for the tweens, a pool table for the older kids and a bar for the parents after a 3 course dinner - can it get any better?!!! Warm. comfortable and down to earth - if you want great family value this is the place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Came down from Sydney for 3 nights with 2 adults and 2 kids. Stayed here in Room 1. It had 1 Queen bed and 2 singles. Although the room was big enough it was right near reception and where EVERYONE walks past to go to breakfast, dinner, front door, carpark, lounge etc etc. It was noisy!! If they weren't full I would of asked to be moved. They also turned the heat of during the day as I presume everyone has gone skiing and it cut costs. As we had 2 young children we were often back early and found the heat not on. The place was warm but it would of been nice to have the room and guest lounge areas warmer. Once the heat was on, the rooms were lovely and warm and was the lounge. I found the dining area to be cold and we always had to wear a jumper for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was Great, and you could fill up for a big day out. Dinner was served there twice at night whilst we were there and that was also convenient and well priced. Dinner didn't start until 6.30pm and with 2 young kids we found this frustrating as we usually eat a lot earlier. The hospitality of the owners were 100% an could fault them. They worked from breakfast till dinner closer the whole time we were there. Plenty of parking and close tot he shops and Restaurant's. We arrived early and could put our suitcases into the room before we could check in. Fresh towels and sheets everyday. There was a communal guest lounge with books, TV, games, toys, Wi, gas fireplace etc. There was also a pool table, you had to pay $2 to play. We couldn't eat in our rooms and it had a microwave that was locked which I thought was odd. Small kettle with tea and coffee in the room. The 2 single beds didn't have a bedside table or reading lamps, so I couldn't put the kids drinks on or my eldest couldn't read at night. Other rooms may have them? Overall I would recommend, just don't get room 1 for the noise factor.

Room Tip: Don't get a room down the corridor that leads to reception and the dinning room etc, too noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Aalberg Chalet is perfect if you like a quiet, friendly, modest place to stay. It is ideal for families and travellers of all ages. Here are the positives from my perspective:
- Excellent heating and warm, comfortable bedding
- Free, good quality wi-fi which worked very well in our room (and throughout the hotel)
- A hearty breakfast available (continental and hot)
- An amazing 3 course dinner is served if you book ahead (which is ideal if you've been skiing all day and want to stay in) for a very reasonable price (i.e. $30 for adults if you book on the day and I think it works out cheaper if you have it included in your accommodation rate). There are suitable kids' choices available each night.
- Great location: it is about a 15 min to the main shops in Jindabyne
- Very friendly hosts who definitely go the extra mile
- There are lovely common areas and parking spots available.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beakyonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Hi, we went to Perisher the first weekend of the NSW school holidays. The mountains received the best dump of snow in 12 years. Whilst the mountains were somewhat cold, damp and very busy, the room at the Aalberg Chalet was very warm. The host was so friendly and so helpful. The three course meal at dinner was excellent and breakfast was just what was needed to set off for the winter's day. The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet. A very positive experience and will definitely stay again when we go down for more than one day (we live in Canberra, only two hours away but it is always nice to stay over and get in two days skiing). A really lovely stay in a warm and friendly establishment.

Room Tip: Twin room - number 16, great for three to four kids plus parents. Set away on its own and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supernurse59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed at the Aalberg Chalet for the opening weekend for 2014. Admittedly not a great deal of snow but the accommodation was great. Having stayed here previously I was happily surprised with the refurbishment of both the restaurant bar area and my room. Breakfast was fabulous as usual and I will be back next time. I'm told by Lindsay, the owner that the restaurant is in for a maker over this season and I can't wait to sample some of the home cooking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

On arrival, we were greeted by the host and given a quick tour and made to feel very welcome. We stayed in a twin room for two nights early in September. Rooms are very clean with heaters in each room to keep things cosy on cold nights and the beds were very comfortable. The lodge has a nice community lounge with fire and a separate billiards room. Also has a bar area which looked really good, but we did not get there as we were very tired each night after a great day of skiing. Breakfast was served between 7 and 8 which works out well in timing to get an early start on the slopes. We can highly recommend Aalberg Lodge and intend to stay there again next season.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jindabyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
0.3 mi away
Panorama Jindabyne
Panorama Jindabyne
#5 of 10 in Jindabyne
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
#1 of 10 in Jindabyne
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Siesta Villa Motel
Siesta Villa Motel
#4 of 10 in Jindabyne
111 reviews
2.8 mi away
Snowy Valley Resort
Snowy Valley Resort
#10 of 10 in Jindabyne
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpha Centauri Townhouses
Alpha Centauri Townhouses
#9 of 10 in Jindabyne
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne

Address: 8 Kirwan CL, Jindabyne, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Jindabyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Jindabyne
Price Range: £300 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aalberg is a modern lodge & is close to Nuggets Crossing shopping centre in Central Jindabyne in the heart of the Snowy Mountains. The Aalberg is 15 minutes drive to the ski tube or 25 minutes drive to Perisher Blue Ski Resort or Thredbo ski fields.The Aalberg has 17 guest rooms, all with ensuites, hairdryers, TV's with Austar, Mini-Fridge, Tea & Coffee facilities & in house movies. Our rooms can accommodate up to 6 people through a mixture of twin/double rooms right through to large family rooms, which can be configured to suit your requirements; (doubles or queens for couples or singles and bunks if required). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing