We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when heading to the snow on a budget!!”
Review of The Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Station
Ranked #8 of 9 Jindabyne B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay when heading to the snow on a budget!!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at The Station for 3 nights in the school holidays so that we could see snow. This was a great place for a family to stay.

We found the accommodation to be simple but practical. The central heating meant that we were never cold within the room. There was a small petition between the double bed and the two single beds that separated us slightly from the kids.

It took us about 45 minutes to get up to Perisher and the drive on the was was lovely.

There is a place to eat on the premises but it is very expensive for the quality of food however there are provisions for gluten free diets. I would recommend eating elsewhere however lots of people went back night after night and as there is a pub so people can drink and walk back to their rooms.

Overall I would definitely revisit but probably opt for a self contained room next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heddypeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    38
    42
    18
    19
See reviews for
37
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stay only if your desperate. Staff are polite but walls are paper thin and majority of guests are jerks who talk until 2am and leave you with NO sleep. Food is poor and expensive. 1 night In to a 6 night stay I'll be asking for a refund.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dalice91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jindabyne hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you are at the snow to ski then this place does the job. Yes the walls are thin and unfortunately the beds are uncomfortable. However, it is warm and has great facilities to dry your gear each night. We found that all the families were pretty much asleep by 9pm and everyone headed out early each morning so the thin walls didnt seem to matter. We stayed during the peak of school holidays and felt that we got what we had paid for. Would stay again except that a week of the uncomfortable beds was a little too much to take.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
305 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Don't come to the station if you are expecting top class accommodation. It is pretty basic stuff with pre fabricated drop in plastic bathrooms with 100 grade wet and dry single ply toilet paper and thin walls on all sides. This is all fine and well if you don't mind the people next door horizontally folk dancing during the night or carrying on with intoxicated escapades, but if you want a good nights sleep it is a roll of the dice.MUST PACK YOUR EARPLUGS just in case. Make sure that you have a copy of your itinerary too and what you were actually told you would get as we have had a couple of instances where when we were checking in they got it wrong and told us we didn't have meals or something similar. This is a big machine but not a well oiled one as it consists of mainly casual seasonal workers. Australia ski resorts and the towns surrounding them are just so over priced. Consider that based on a 2 night stay in the station for $80 more you would be staying at the Hilton Whistler 4 star top quality everything and 300 metres from the base of the lifts.You walk further from perisher car park! We have stayed there many times before but they seem to be getting too pricey and greedy these days. Everyone wants their years rent in our short ski season. Book your ski trip early and save $$$

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Staff were extremely polite and friendly, rooms were big enough for 4. Unfortunately the walls were very noisy. We could here every word from next door and foot step. We had to walk to reception at -2 degrees to get toilet paper as it was not replaced 2 mornings in a row. Good location if driving. Food was poor and expensive. We stayed 4 nights, will not stay here again, unless desperate.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bididee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West wyalong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Upon arriving to our room at the Station i was a bit taken back as it was not quiet as i expected but i soon realised it was quiet perfect for what we wanted.
We had gone for a snow trip and the large heating unit in the main room (which was already thankfully running) and in the bathroom made it very easy for us to dry out all out clothing and boots before hitting the slopes the following day.
The room was basic; however it was clean, very roomy, warm and had a good presured shower with plently of hot water.
I'd suggest possibly taking a toaster if you want an easy early brekky before starting your day.
Will def be staying here agian, was a pleasure and great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah8135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Why are you even reading my review?
The station is cheap, if you're here you cant afford better so just deal with it.
Bring yourself some provisions (hotplate, esky, etc) and you'll have a great time at a low price.

Its on par with the other cheap motel style accommodation around Jindabyne, my biggest complaint is that the shared rooms have toilets like public toilets, its really off-putting to be in a stall and it means there is extra air flow.

Considering that there are six dudes sharing the room extra air flow from the stall was not welcome.
Seriously would a normal door and extractor fan break the budget?

Also whats with having tv's from the early 90's? No remote, missing buttons and taking up about 1 square metre of precious precious bench space as there are no tables besides the little bedside ones. Its like they dont want people to bring hotplates or cook in the rooms (THEY DONT BUT ITS SO MUCH CHEAPER). The staff are bro tier and wont dob on your ghetto kitchen.

A big plus is having the bar nearby, which is fun. But if you get drunk all the places look the same and you forget which house is yours; I've both accidentally gone into someone else's room and had it done to me before.
When I did it, it was an accident but this other guy turned on the light and started singing and yelling stuff before running off laughing so it was probably a prank.
He left the door open and we were all too lazy/naked/scared of cold to get up and close it so the room got pretty cold for the next 30 minutes until someone closed it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jindabyne
2.7 mi away
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
#1 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
2.4 mi away
Panorama Jindabyne
Panorama Jindabyne
#5 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
4.4 mi away
Siesta Villa Motel
Siesta Villa Motel
#4 of 10 in Jindabyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
2.6 mi away
Jindabyne Holiday Park
Jindabyne Holiday Park
#1 of 25 in Jindabyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station

Property: The Station
Address: 8228 Snowy River Way, Jindabyne, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Jindabyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Jindabyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing