We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, perfect little getaway all year round!”
Review of Snowy Wilderness

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Snowy Wilderness
Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it, perfect little getaway all year round!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We found accommodation for our skiing trip at the Snowy Wilderness, my husband and I went as a couple and we absolutely loved it, we stayed in the cottage, fire place burning on a cold winters night surrounded by horses and Kangaroos it was heaven, we were able to book a two hour horse riding trail and it was superb, very much recommended to have on your "to do list".

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atheenaa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    5
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jindabyne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I arrived on Boxing Day with my wife, two sons and two dogs and we are currently staying in the "Homestead".
I can't emphasise enough what a wonderful place this is. The "Homestead" has all the comforts of home, was spotlessly clean throughout and has a large wood burning fireplace that we have found a excuse to spark up every night.
We are all beginner to intermediate horse riders and have been riding every day since we arrived. Justin took great care to understand our riding abilities and match us each with an appropriate horse. The horses here are magnificent. It is clear they are all loved and Justin and Delia take great care of them. I have done a lot of trail riding around Sydney over the last few months and every single one of the horses here seems to be far better trained and in much better condition than any horse I have ridden before.
Due to the size of the property we have been able to explore different areas on each ride and never covered the same ground twice. The views are spectacular, the wildlife abundant and we were lucky enough to see the Silver Brumby and his mob as well as Mares with their foals.
So to sum it up, a staggeringly beautiful property, wonderfully gracious, warm, friendly and entertaining hosts, amazing horses and first class accomodation. I'm running out of superlatives now so probably need to stop, and instead will start to plan our next visit when we intend to come for a 3 day camp.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We spent a wonderful (but way too short) 2 nights at this lovely gem in the one bedroom lodge. King bed, panoramic views, delicious food, amazing company. The location is a feast for the eyes, green grass, blue sky and horses, wild brumby, deer, rabbits, roos, blue tongues, and even a wild emu. We rode up to the "high acres" with our guide Bridie and her amazing little dog, Tullie on a full day trail ride. It was challenging, quite so, but we enjoyed every exhilarating moment. Bridie was laid back and also watchful. We learned a lot about the property and the passion that the owner, Justin, has for the wild brumby that sanctuary here. We even saw a two week old foal lying in the grass, whiling away the day. My one regret is that we didn't stay longer. It is truly a slice of paradise, and we are so thankful that we were able to experience it. We adored the dogs, they are so well behaved and friendly and we savored every bite of the "camp fire oven" meal that we ordered in advance. One thing is for sure, we will be back. One more thing. Very important. The sticky date pudding? Best I have EVER had. Order it, just do it.

Room Tip: The lodgings are first rate- fireplace and heated flooring for the winter; cross breezes, AC and sc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Just spent the most incredible weekend at Snowy Wilderness in their 1 Bedroom Lodge. Top class accommodation with everything you could possibly want. The property is spectacular and we encountered wild brumbies, wallabies, deer and more, both whilst walking and during our one day ride. The ride was challenging and exciting and our guide Bridie kept it interesting and took great care of our small group. The horses are well trained and a joy to ride. The property owners, Justin and Delia prepared us a delicious meal in our lodge, served us and melted away and left us to enjoy it. They are attentive and generous hosts and great people. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If your budget allows it - go for one of the lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumbozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My friend and I stayed here for two nights in October in one of the High Country Lodges and did a full day of horseback riding. This place is amazing for both families and groups, and I wish we would have stayed longer! I'll definitely be back!

How Snowy Wilderness came to be is quite an interesting story, and the owners, Justin and Delia, were happy to share it with us while riding and over the most delicious dinner (which they cooked for us!). They're great people who have a fondness for nature and horses. They've rescued many brumbies and riding horses, which all roam the property freely. Everyone who works there loves it and are happy to help and talk to you.

The Lodge was beautiful, luxurious, and fully equipped for cooking and relaxing... definitely 5 star quality! The day long horseback riding trip was off trail and Justin took us 'where ever he felt like going' that day, and it was catered to our skill level. My horse Cherry handled my lack of skill very well. We saw quite a few of the brumbies their new babies a long the way. Lunch was provided and was scrumptious.

Can't describe how much we loved Justin and Delia's cooking. They came to our kitchen and started cooking over glasses of wine, while we all shared cheese, crackers, and other goodies. Justin made us steak and pork belly, and Delia made apple and raspberry crumble for dessert.

If you can stay a few nights, do it! When not on the horses, there's plenty of mountain to explore or just relax with a fire in your cabin. The city of Jindabyne is about 20 minutes from the property and along the way to it, so stop there and stock up and your food and drink when driving up.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindseyLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlemaine, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We wanted to escape the hustle and bustle and we sure did. A wonderfully relaxing bush retreat with the best trail riding we've ever done. None of this 'one behind the other' riding but beautiful horses happy to go wherever directed! Bridie our guide was very experienced and knowledgable and made our ride even more enjoyable. Dinner that night cooked by Justin and Delia in our one bedroom luxury lodge capped off our special long weekend getaway.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed in the modern one bedroom house. It was truly luxuriously appointed. Great kitchen, lovely bathroom, a log burner (which we needed as it was cold during our stay). Pitch black and very quiet at night. We slept like logs in the big, comfortable bed.

The drive from Jindabyne was slow going after dark due to the amount of wildlife, but for tourists like us this was simply amazing to see, so we have no complaints.

Very friendly owners and a very nice place to stay. It is in a remote location, so take all the supplies you need and enjoy the peace and quiet of this fabulous location.

Room Tip: We stayed in the modern one bedroom place and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jindabyne
14.4 mi away
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
#1 of 10 in Jindabyne
390 reviews
13.7 mi away
Panorama Jindabyne
Panorama Jindabyne
#5 of 10 in Jindabyne
136 reviews
16.4 mi away
Snowy Valley Resort
Snowy Valley Resort
#10 of 10 in Jindabyne
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
14.3 mi away
Jindabyne Holiday Park
Jindabyne Holiday Park
#1 of 26 in Jindabyne
146 reviews
10.4 mi away
Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowy Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowy Wilderness

Property: Snowy Wilderness
Address: 2911 Barry Way, Jindabyne, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Jindabyne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Jindabyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Snowy Wilderness 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Snowy Wilderness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing