We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moonbah Hut
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Jindabyne
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marritz Hotel(Perisher Valley)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Perisher Valley Hotel(Perisher Valley)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Perisher Manor(Perisher Valley)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Sundeck Hotel(Perisher Valley)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
The Coachman Ski Lodge(Smiggin Holes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Snowy Gums Chalet(Smiggin Holes)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Lodge 21 Smiggin Holes(Smiggin Holes)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
37
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstroutopen fireroll top bathbeautiful dogunderfloor heatingtwo nightsbusterchickenswombatsinternetaustraliapropertyfireplacedammountainspropertiescosy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 43 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed in the river hut which lies about 50 metres from the Monnbah River. The hut was extremely comfortable however if you are expecting to have an extended stay you need to be mindful that the fridge is the size of a bar fridge and fills quickly. Also the oven is wood fired - a potential challenge if you're used to electric or gas stoves. The bedding was luxurious although the chairs on the front porch would become uncomfortable if you sat in them for too long. We would recommend taking a couple of directors chairs as we did. This meant we could spend hours of comfortable sitting just watching the world go by. Interestingly if you stay in the river hut you are guaranteed your privacy by the river. As with the lake hut guests are not encouraged to intrude on other guests so lake or river you keep your solitude. We loved Buster. He would spend most of the day with us and so long as there was a bowl of cold water he made himself part of our family quite willingly. We were disappointed that no fish were caught from the river. We learned a little too late that polarised glasses are an advantage and not standing in the river to cast. Hence no fish for our dinners this time. You need to bring some music with you as the radio does not pick up too well. Our thanks to whoever left the Michael Buble CD in the stereo. He ended up being our only source of musical entertainment every night (lol). All in all we would recommend this lovely spot and wish Brett all the best. Big hugs to Buster.

Room Tip: We rated the river as the swimming pool. It was a joy to sit in the clean crisp water and just let nature flow by.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jinny57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowymtns, Owner at Moonbah Hut, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thankyou for your review and for your suggestions. I was lucky to discover some 4 great antique (comfortable) chairs at an auction I attended last weekend, so that issue has been sorted. The Bose sound system has the ability to plug-in to your phone or Ipod and most people utilise that function, but I should have realised some people have neither and need CD's - sorry about that. I have since purchased a range of CD's that hopefully cater to most tastes.
Kind regards, Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Wow where do i start.. Truly is a beautiful place to visit like stepping back in time. We spent our 14th wedding Anniversary there would of been the most romantic anniversary in 14 years. Our host Brett has created-built the most charming place to visit At first i was lost with no Internet and mobile phone coverage but this just added more to our experience. If your looking for relaxation this is the place for you even if your trip includes taking the kids it will be an experience you will not forget in a hurry and will return just like we will this year and many more. As they say this is a must add to your bucket list.. Thank you Brett for a truly remediable anniversary and see you soon :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowymtns, Owner at Moonbah Hut, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thankyou kindly guys! I'll try and organise clear starry night skies for next visits photo session...

Hope the ankle is getting better.

Take care, Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Brett Smith is the most charming of hosts and a finer gentleman we have never met!
What he has built here, in this magic part of Australia, with his own amazingly skilful hands, is authentic, recreated, Australian history. An experience we will always treasure.
Only regret is being unable to hook up to one of those brown trout in that delightful Moonbah River running through your property.
Thank you so much, Brett.
Chris and Evelyn Cole

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowymtns, Owner at Moonbah Hut, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Wow - people are going to think I paid for that review! Where do I send the cheque?

I'm very grateful to you both and very flattered! It's also, personally, very rewarding to know that you took the time to express such kind comments.

Take care, Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

A unique experience to celebrate our 26th wedding anniversary. Comfy rustic accommodation with all the everyday essentials (except mobile phone and internet access - which was a welcome relief!). Relaxation is guaranteed. Fly fishing enthusiasts will love all that the area offers; partners will be happily able to amuse themselves whilst the other half is preoccupied! You will leave begrudgingly but determined to visit again .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank malmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowymtns, Owner at Moonbah Hut, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

More than a quarter of a century together! Congratulations to you both. Thankyou very much for taking the time to share your kind comments. I also appreciate your suggestion regarding the seating.
Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews