We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical Moonbah”
Review of Moonbah Hut

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jindabyne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moonbah Hut
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Magical Moonbah”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This isn’t the Hilton. In fact, this is nothing near an ordinary hotel stay. Far from it. For starters, the Lake Hut – bedroom, kitchen, lounge and bathroom, would probably fit inside a standard hotel bedroom. You won't get room service. Nor will you get a mini bar. (You will get underfloor heating though!)

Modelled on a traditional stockman’s hut, Moonbah Lake Hut (the River Hut is a little bit bigger and more luxurious) is made of stone and wood. It is, in many ways, quite primitive. It lacks space. Modern facilities. And phone and internet connection. But if that’s what you’re after – stay in the Hilton.

What you will get here is an accommodation experience unlike any other in Australia. Cliché as it sounds, the Moonbah Lake Hut IS absolutely unique. I have never experienced anything like it anywhere. I’ve been in Australia for 12 years now and this was the most profound, telling and authentic insight into real ‘Australian’ backcountry life.

It’s a place where I chose to escape the madness of the rat race, and try to reconnect to the ‘bigger’ things in life, which are actually incredibly small, yet powerfully life-affirming. Like open fires. Starlight. Nature. Fresh air. Mountains. And fishing.

And it works.

Brett is your host, and with his young son Ted, they’ll ensure you’re well looked after. Brett is a discreet host – he won't bother you if all you want is to be left alone – but he is on hand if you need him for all sorts of local advice.

Buster, Brett’s dog is quite hilarious. He’ll happily sit with you all day if you wish, occasionally chasing away the curious chickens who will also say hello.

There are, of course, delightful touches – Brett provides a few little surprises for you on arrival. And the chickens (on a good day) will provide a few in the form of fresh eggs.

This is a place I will remember forever, for all the right reasons. A weekend is not enough – do yourself a favour and go for a whole week. I promise you it is worth it. Go with food, drinks, and an open mind – and leave your city stress and attitude behind you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwizoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowymtns, Owner at Moonbah Hut, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thanks Scott. It was a pleasure meeting you mate and I enjoyed all the chats. I'll definitely be following the big NZ project and intend to get over there again to check it out. Take care Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed in both the lake and river huts late November 2012. Loved the whole experience and Brett is a great, welcoming host, as is Buster. A beautiful, peaceful part of the world and easy drive from Canberra airport. Loved all the wildlife, serenity, and besides complete relaxation there is lots to see and do in the nearby Snowy Mountains region. Can't wait to get back there soon.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend staying in both huts if you can, the lake hut is rustic and charming, the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank powderfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowymtns, Owner at Moonbah Hut, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thanks for taking the time to submit this review guys - much appreciated. Take care, Brett.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
416 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed in the river hut which lies about 50 metres from the Monnbah River. The hut was extremely comfortable however if you are expecting to have an extended stay you need to be mindful that the fridge is the size of a bar fridge and fills quickly. Also the oven is wood fired - a potential challenge if you're used to electric or gas stoves. The bedding was luxurious although the chairs on the front porch would become uncomfortable if you sat in them for too long. We would recommend taking a couple of directors chairs as we did. This meant we could spend hours of comfortable sitting just watching the world go by. Interestingly if you stay in the river hut you are guaranteed your privacy by the river. As with the lake hut guests are not encouraged to intrude on other guests so lake or river you keep your solitude. We loved Buster. He would spend most of the day with us and so long as there was a bowl of cold water he made himself part of our family quite willingly. We were disappointed that no fish were caught from the river. We learned a little too late that polarised glasses are an advantage and not standing in the river to cast. Hence no fish for our dinners this time. You need to bring some music with you as the radio does not pick up too well. Our thanks to whoever left the Michael Buble CD in the stereo. He ended up being our only source of musical entertainment every night (lol). All in all we would recommend this lovely spot and wish Brett all the best. Big hugs to Buster.

Room Tip: We rated the river as the swimming pool. It was a joy to sit in the clean crisp water and just let n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinny57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowymtns, Owner at Moonbah Hut, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thankyou for your review and for your suggestions. I was lucky to discover some 4 great antique (comfortable) chairs at an auction I attended last weekend, so that issue has been sorted. The Bose sound system has the ability to plug-in to your phone or Ipod and most people utilise that function, but I should have realised some people have neither and need CD's - sorry about that. I have since purchased a range of CD's that hopefully cater to most tastes.
Kind regards, Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quakers Hill, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Wow where do i start.. Truly is a beautiful place to visit like stepping back in time. We spent our 14th wedding Anniversary there would of been the most romantic anniversary in 14 years. Our host Brett has created-built the most charming place to visit At first i was lost with no Internet and mobile phone coverage but this just added more to our experience. If your looking for relaxation this is the place for you even if your trip includes taking the kids it will be an experience you will not forget in a hurry and will return just like we will this year and many more. As they say this is a must add to your bucket list.. Thank you Brett for a truly remediable anniversary and see you soon :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowymtns, Owner at Moonbah Hut, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thankyou kindly guys! I'll try and organise clear starry night skies for next visits photo session...

Hope the ankle is getting better.

Take care, Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healesville, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Brett Smith is the most charming of hosts and a finer gentleman we have never met!
What he has built here, in this magic part of Australia, with his own amazingly skilful hands, is authentic, recreated, Australian history. An experience we will always treasure.
Only regret is being unable to hook up to one of those brown trout in that delightful Moonbah River running through your property.
Thank you so much, Brett.
Chris and Evelyn Cole

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowymtns, Owner at Moonbah Hut, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Wow - people are going to think I paid for that review! Where do I send the cheque?

I'm very grateful to you both and very flattered! It's also, personally, very rewarding to know that you took the time to express such kind comments.

Take care, Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2013

A unique experience to celebrate our 26th wedding anniversary. Comfy rustic accommodation with all the everyday essentials (except mobile phone and internet access - which was a welcome relief!). Relaxation is guaranteed. Fly fishing enthusiasts will love all that the area offers; partners will be happily able to amuse themselves whilst the other half is preoccupied! You will leave begrudgingly but determined to visit again .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank malmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowymtns, Owner at Moonbah Hut, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
More than a quarter of a century together! Congratulations to you both. Thankyou very much for taking the time to share your kind comments. I also appreciate your suggestion regarding the seating.
Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jindabyne
10.0 mi away
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
#1 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
11.9 mi away
Siesta Villa Motel
Siesta Villa Motel
#4 of 10 in Jindabyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
9.7 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
9.2 mi away
Panorama Jindabyne
Panorama Jindabyne
#5 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
9.8 mi away
Jindabyne Holiday Park
Jindabyne Holiday Park
#1 of 25 in Jindabyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonbah Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonbah Hut

Property: Moonbah Hut
Address: Big Yard Road, Jindabyne, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Jindabyne
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Jindabyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a breath of fresh air and step back in time. These unique stone/slab huts, located in the picturesque Moonbah Valley region of the New South Wales Snowy Mountains (15 minutes drive from the ski resort town of Jindabyne), enjoy private frontage to the Blue Ribbon declared Moonbah River - the regions most pristine trout stream - (complete with resident platypus). The Lake Hut also fronts a small dam containing brown, brook and rainbow trout.The huts are very cosy, (even in -15c), with underfloor heating. The Moonbah Lake Hut sleeps a maximum 4 people, ideally 2 adults and 2 young children. The Moonbah River Hut sleeps a maximum 5 persons. The bedding is high quality and all beds have electric blankets.All linen is supplied.Both of the huts feature huge, stone open fireplaces and with snow on either Christmas or Boxing Day, on 5 of the past 9 years, the fireplaces can be enjoyed on most nights of the year. Both huts also feature wood-fired cooking stoves, (and twin electric hotplates), for cooking and a small fridge/freezer to store your catch in. All cutlery, crockery, cookware, etc is supplied ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing