We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic of the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magic of the mountains”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a great weekend at Melba house
Following a great renovation the rooms are extremely comfortable and having your own fireplace makes it a standout when compared to hotels and other guesthouses.
The location is great ,for a wide variety of restaraunts but make sure not to eat to much as the breakfasts delivered by sue and izzy are one of the highlights
All the little complimentary extras like port and chocolates just confirm the difference between this level of guesthouse and the expensive hotel options
Can't wait to return

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dutchyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
253
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and I spent a glorious weekend at Melba House. Our room was fantastic. All of the reviews are spot on! The spa and a crackling fire place made our weekend really special. Breakfast was excellent. Sue's knowlege of the area helped us pick a resturant to celebrate our 15th anniversary. We couldn't have asked for a better weekend! Bring it on, we need more of them! Sue, we will be back again, soon. Thankyou!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdSas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Had an amazing 2 night stay in the Dame Nellie suite. The huge, comfy bed, loaded with giant fluffy pillows, combined with an electric blanket and soft throws was heaven to sleep in! The warm and friendly service of Sue and Ruth was great and the cute puppy Issy was adorable. I only just got home today and already want to plan a future visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone wishing for a luxurious weekend away in the Blue Mountains. My husband and I absolutely adored our room, it was beautifully decorated and the fire was a great novelty during winter, as well as the spa bath! Complimentary port and chocolates in the room was a great added bonus, Sue really does spoil you! Izzy the beautiful dog is also gorgeous! Breakfast is delicious. It's close to Katoomba main street which is handy too. Thank you for a very welcoming stay. :-)

Room Tip: Go for Dame Nellie with the spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barney639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

If you are considering booking to stay here, stop considering and start booking. We stayed in the Dame Nellie suite for 2 nights and it is probably the most special place we have ever stayed - and we travel a lot. It's location is perfect, just a few minutes walk from the local restaurants and shops.
Sue is a fantastic host; helpful, friendly and knowledgable about the area. The breakfast she provides each morning is fantastic. I had rang ahead to ask for advice on where to order a birthday cake for my husband's birthday and Sue arranged it all for me, collected it and delivered it to our room on a beautiful cake stand.
The room itself is decorated beautifully with Laura Ashley furnishings. Electric blankets and a log fire add to the cosy ambience. The spa bath and molten brown products felt so luxurious.
Complimentary port in a decanter with crystal glasses was such a surprise.
This place sets the standard for b&bs everywhere. You can tell Sue takes a lot of pride in the place and rightly so, it's wonderful. We can't wait to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DM_Laray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We just spent two nights at Melba House. The horrid winter foggy, rainy days made going into our room all the more appealing. A beautiful suite with king size bed and a cozy log fire crackling in the hearth. Sue, looked after our every need, even collecting and dropping us off at the train station. Each morning we were treated to a delicious hearty gourmet breakfast. Before rugging up and heading out to explore the area. All in all A terrific weekend time-out from city life.

Room Tip: Dame Nellie is the biggest and best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Very comfortable stay. Sue is so generous, helpful and an excellent cook too - her breakfast is super... Good quality sleep after warm bath (Molton Brown toiletries provided) and a glass of port.
Sue gave my parents a free bottle of port after my mom expressed her fondness for the taste of the port. Issy is a wonderful host too, she is so cute and very friendly to children.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
571 reviews
5.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.4 mi away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#2 of 19 in Katoomba
681 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 98 Waratah St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your own Open Fire and Spa, King and queen-sized beds, central heating, electric blankets, large comfortable rooms with own sitting and dining areas, sumptuous breakfasts, that's historical Melba House. Quiet and secluded yet close to many restaurants, galleries, antique and craft shops. Also, close to the best-loved attractions of Katoomba and Leura. Blue Mountains World Heritage bush walks abound, some only 300 m away. Easy drive to Blackheath and Wentworth Falls and other mountain townships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing