We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 20 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I first stayed at Melba House just under 2 years ago and loved it. This time round and it didn't disappoint. Sue and Issy remain the kindest and most thoughtful of hosts; the rooms are beautifully decorated, clean and spacious; the breakfast was so delicious and filling I didn't need lunch despite walking all day and the location is perfect to explore Katomba and the beautiful Blue Mountains. Would recommend staying here very highly if you want to relax, be looked after and enjoy a touch of luxury!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma_dunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    29
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
243
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My hubby n I just spent a weekend @ Melba House to celebrate our 2nd year wedding anniversary. Anddd... OmG it was just perfect! Sue has every single details in Dame Edna to perfection for romantic getaway... Free complementary of chocolate, wine, cake, candles everywhere, tiny music box, etc. And the corner spa bath was also just simply devine... You couldn't ask for more, definitely will recommend! Thanks Sue :-). xJeane&Scott.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j34n3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My first impression of Melba House was that it was a beautiful, picturesque place. We were greeted swiftly by the lovely Sue and absolutely adorable Issy! We were shown to our room (Dame Edna) and explained in great detail where everything was and so forth. The room was the most beautifully decorated I had ever seen, the bathroom with a spa bath, was so lovely, the spa fit me and my 6'7" husband comfortably. The service was amazing, even with Sue living at the other end of the property, it still felt very private. The breakfast was delightful, as was the home made jam! There was some delicious banana bread in the hallway for all the guests to enjoy, there was a relatively extensive DVD library and the b&b was located within a 3 minute walk from the main shopping street, and a 5 minute drive from Scenic World. I will admit, my favourite part of the stay was the beautiful puppy Issy! She greated me each morning with hugs and kisses and shared my breakfast with me (sorry Sue :) she made my experience that much better, it felt terrible to leave her! It was an absolutely amazing experience, by the end i felt myself feeling like I didn't want to leave ever! I plan on going back again and again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachellebakic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Very special place to stay .
Beautiful rooms & service is excellent .
Isabella & Sue will make your stay very special . Breakfast is presented nicely & yummy homemade cake is always around A delight to stay here at this bed & breakfast .
Very close to Katoomba & shops will be going back here very soon .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja_beautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Sue, the hostess was very friendly and her cooking is exceptional. My wife and I were made to feel quite at home, actually it felt like home. The location is central to all attractions and the shopping precinct. I would strongly recommend this B & B

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeliwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a great weekend at Melba house
Following a great renovation the rooms are extremely comfortable and having your own fireplace makes it a standout when compared to hotels and other guesthouses.
The location is great ,for a wide variety of restaraunts but make sure not to eat to much as the breakfasts delivered by sue and izzy are one of the highlights
All the little complimentary extras like port and chocolates just confirm the difference between this level of guesthouse and the expensive hotel options
Can't wait to return

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dutchyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and I spent a glorious weekend at Melba House. Our room was fantastic. All of the reviews are spot on! The spa and a crackling fire place made our weekend really special. Breakfast was excellent. Sue's knowlege of the area helped us pick a resturant to celebrate our 15th anniversary. We couldn't have asked for a better weekend! Bring it on, we need more of them! Sue, we will be back again, soon. Thankyou!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdSas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.9 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
0.9 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#2 of 20 in Katoomba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 98 Waratah St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your own Open Fire and Spa, King and queen-sized beds, central heating, electric blankets, large comfortable rooms with own sitting and dining areas, sumptuous breakfasts, that's historical Melba House. Quiet and secluded yet close to many restaurants, galleries, antique and craft shops. Also, close to the best-loved attractions of Katoomba and Leura. Blue Mountains World Heritage bush walks abound, some only 300 m away. Easy drive to Blackheath and Wentworth Falls and other mountain townships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing