We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodation and host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I had such a wonderful time over the weekend staying at Melba house. Sue was a wonderful welcoming host and the room, Dame Edna was lovely. It was especially perfect for Valentines weekend as there were strawberries and chocolates as well as champagne and candles. Im not sure if that was special for the Valentines weekend or if that is always there but it certainly made the atmosphere more special. I also really enjoyed the breakfast that we were given. I would certainly consider returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the lovely Melba House in the Blue Mountains over the Valentines weekend.
A beautiful B&B with attention to detail, from cakes to enjoy to flowers and chocolates in the room.
Sue the owner was lovely as was her sweet pooch " Issy".

Breakfast is served in your room or on the verandah weather permitting which for us was not the case as it rained! I'm not a fan of having breakfast in my room.When we are away I like to keep that space personal alongside that you may feel a little intimidated as Sue has to come into your room to deliver ! If you've not woken up( as in our case ) you then feel obliged to ensure your decent which many couples may not be on a weekend break.
The breakfast was ample and all dietary needs catered for.

Wi-Fi , disappointed that Wi-Fi is advertised but no where in the welcome package is the password I did ask on the first night although not needed immediately l did not expect to have to ask. In fact l did not use the Internet at Melba House just used our own Wi-Fi. It would be better if this was accessible from the onset. Value for money, we have stayed in 2-6 star hotels in the world , possibly a little overpriced, if you we're in a hotel the breakfast choice would be greater and you wouldn't have the one or the other , you would be able to have a little of everything, a dining room would have been nicer.
The rooms are beautifully decorated maybe a little too much some may think it cluttered, we liked it.
With only three rooms you can see why he attention to detail is there.
The only negatives felt like you had to be really quiet as your in someone's house .
However, should we visit the blue mountains again we would possibly return.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meaton222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Staying at Melba House this weekend was, quite simply, a joy. Our suite - Dame Edna, was comfortable and well supplied with everything one might wish for. Breakfast on the terrace each morning was delicious and Sue and Issy could not have been better hosts. Sue was more forthcoming than Issy when it came to expert guidance on the best places to visit and where to find the best fare. I imagine Issy knew, but was saying nothing! All in all this was a truly splendid stay - our only regret is that it was so short. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelstateside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Very friendly host Sue and her lovely dog Izzy made our stay very enjoyable. Quiet and peaceful B&B with good location. Nice smell everywhere. Beautifully furnished room, classic and warm decoration. Love the breakfast!!! Sue is a very good cook!! We enjoyed the movie "The King's Speech" very much! Highly recommended. Will come again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliviakayyim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Lovely B&B with beautifully furnished and appointed rooms, and a fabulous welcome from Sue and her adorable dog Izzy! Sue goes the extra mile, with home baked cookies in the room and an extensive breakfast menu served on the gorgeous veranda where my husband and I also spent several happy hours lounging in the afternoons after our explorations of the mountains. Great location, easy couple of mins walk to all the shops and restaurants of Katoomba, and well placed for all the attractions in the area. Would highly recommend in all respects.

Room Tip: We had Dame Joan which was the smallest room, but was still more than spacious enough. The other roo...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Lovely comfortable room, and facilities excellent.
Delicious substantial gourmet breakfast.
Complete privacy assured, with no lengthy chats as found in a lot of b&b's, just friendly hospitable attention from Sue. Many b&b owners could take note and learn from Sue's professional attitude.
Loved little Bella, the dearest little well behaved dog.
Please ignore swimming pool and fitness room ratings - pressed accidentally and cannot remove!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patchworklizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A very friendly welcome from our host Sue and her little dog was the start of a very pleasant stay at Melba House. All the rooms are beautifully decorated with everything you could want and ours was elegant and cosy, with old world charm plus all mod cons. The home has quite a lovely intimate garden with lots of birds, and a veranda just made for relaxation. The home is well located close to Katoomba shops but in a quiet street with other period homes. We had a great experience and would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyPippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
5.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.4 mi away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#2 of 19 in Katoomba
689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: 98 Waratah St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range: £113 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your own Open Fire and Spa, King and queen-sized beds, central heating, electric blankets, large comfortable rooms with own sitting and dining areas, sumptuous breakfasts, that's historical Melba House. Quiet and secluded yet close to many restaurants, galleries, antique and craft shops. Also, close to the best-loved attractions of Katoomba and Leura. Blue Mountains World Heritage bush walks abound, some only 300 m away. Easy drive to Blackheath and Wentworth Falls and other mountain townships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing