We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olde worlde charm”
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #10 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Olde worlde charm”
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Loved the lounge area with its log fire and abundence of games. The furniture is absolutely wonderful. Felt like we should have been back in the 1920's or 30's. The staff are so friendly and knowledgeable about the old place. Thanks for the ghost story on the last night Christian!!

Our breakfast was included with the room and it was great value. There is a pool and spa which are nice and warm. It was so nice to interact with the other guests as there was no TV in the lounge. We all introduced ourselves to each other and shared tips about which attractions to see.

Our room, though, was in urgent need of renovation/refurbishment. I know they will get around to it given they have only had the place for 2 years. Good luck Christian and Rebecca!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillYo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    87
    43
    32
    33
See reviews for
47
122
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Aging, deteriorating, but comfortable, relaxing, friendly, nice rooms, and a lounge with a smoke fireplace. But also a good place to share with others, to meet.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonHorobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We couldn't have thought of a nicer place to spend a rainy and foggy Blue Mountains long weekend than in front of the fire in the Guest Lunge at Hotel Blue! A roaring fire, free pool, board games, a glass a red wine, jazz and classic blues music playing in the background and a comfy couch! What more could you ask for? How about a delicious dinner at the hotel restaurant? Home made garlic bread, tender lamb shacks and friendly service.

The bedrooms were lovely (if you ignore the bathrooms which leave a little to be desired! and the creaky floorboards in the hall when someone walks past your room.) and the location great. I would definitely recommend Hotel Blue!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Butterfly255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We stayed here with our 4 and 6 year olds, they wanted to live here. The public spaces are amazing. You are transported back to 1920's Katoomba. Back to back fireplaces in the lounge and bar, free snooker and board games galore. The rooms are good only let down really by the bathrooms which are a relic of the early 1970's. There is a pool and spa as well. Breakfast is included which makes it a standout for value. We are going back for a second helping this weekend. Didn't eat in the restaurant at night, recommend the Old Bank Bistro at the Carrington highly (kids menus) very good pub grub, matches Sydney.

Room Tip: We booked online and announced that we had 2 youns
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRAB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We were a bit skeptical about booking our stay at Hotel Blue initially with the mixed reviews on tripadvisor but I'm soo happy we went ahead with the booking.

My husband and I were nicely surprised by the heritage look in the interior of the hotel. It felt very cosy and there was a lot of sitting area around the fire place. There were lots of card and board games including a pool table which provided good fun for us in the evening.

The room is a little small but it was really comfortable and quaint and since we were there to spend a weekend away, we really didn't mind the small tv too.

The location of the hotel is superb too. Really within walking distance to the town, where there's lots of food and window shopping to do. Walking 30mins the other way and you reach echo point.

There's also a very nice pool and spa in the hotel. Pity we didn't know earlier or we'd have brought our swimming costumes :)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faith_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We booked 2 nights as we were exploring the Blue Mountains. The hotel we thought was really lovely and very different to othere accommodation we had stayed in throughout our trip. Yes it does need work but it is a very big building and the owners have kept so many orginal features, it feels like you are being transported back in time and you can imagine the monied people of Sydney staying there and having fabulous dinner dances and wonderful holidays, You could write a review where you pick holes in everything, yes the TV is very small but do you come to Oz to watch TV??? some areas require decoration but it doesn't detract from the feel of the building. When we arrrived, the owner asked if we would like the spa switched on and we really enjoyed relaxing in this as we had come a long way and were very hot and tired. Nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast was great and the music which he told us was neo-swing was fantastic. If you want something a bit different and quirky then I think this would appeal.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wirralpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

The Hotel Blue in Katoomba is simply wonderful. It takes you back in time. The hotel is quite old, and has the charm of an old hotel (creaking floorboards, ornaments, log fires).
The public area is very good: large, a pooltable, log fire, cosy sofas, games, books and toys for children. You can order 'fireside scones': tea or coffee with scones and cream by the log fire. The breakfast is good: continental and a good choice of cooked breakfast, delicious! Beds and bathrooms are fine.
The best thing though: the owners. A young couple is running this hotel since about a year. I admire them, because an old house needs a lot of work. They are the most lovely people. Nothing is too much trouble, and they are very kind, love their guests and know a lot about the Blue Mountains. They can give you good advice on where to go, for walks or whatever you would like to do.
It is a very good hotel for solo travelers, couples and also for families with children because the hotel has got a lot of space, a great lounge, a pool and a very nice and welcoming atmosphere.
Do not expect a perfectly decorated hotel, it is old and there is some wallpaper and paint peeling. But for me that only added up to the charm.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beautifulworld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.5 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Property: Hotel Blue
Address: 88 Lurline St | Cnr Lurline & Merriwa Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Felton Woods Manor)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Australia's spectacular Blue Mountains district, Hotel Blue is a boutique 1920s hotel that captures the charm and character of a bygone era. Hotel Blue features 24 cosy, comfortable Guest Rooms, a spacious Lounge with log fires, a boutique Bar, in-house Restaurant, Cafe, free live jazz, blues or folk music every weekend, free cooked breakfast for all hotel guests and free WiFi. Allow yourself to step back into yesteryear, amidst the rich art-deco style furnishings. Ornate chandeliers, velvet flocked wallpaper, beautiful antique furniture, richly embellished ceilings and hand-carved timber panelling, with old-time jazz and blues tunes playing in the background, give Hotel Blue its unique ambience, reminiscent of days gone by. Sink into a comfortable arm chair and bask in front of a roaring log fire in the open fireplace in the spacious Guest Lounge during the winter months, or enjoy a game of cards or a board game. Refresh yourself with a relaxing drink in the intimate Parlour Bar, which particularly showcases the produce of regional wineries and breweries. The elegant in-house Sisters Blue Restaurant offers fine modern Australian cuisine, with an ever-evolving menu, and also offers unique dinner theatre experiences. The vibrant street-side Cafe 88 is a great place for a relaxing cup of coffee. Hotel Blue is conveniently situated only 5 minutes' walk from Katoomba's central shopping and dining district, 10 minutes' walk from Katoomba Railway Station, and 15 minutes' stroll from Echo Point's World Heritage-listed views of the iconic Three Sisters and the Blue Mountains National Park. Each of Hotel Blue's comfortable Guest Rooms is equipped with a private en suite bathroom, 32-inch LED television, tea- and coffee-making facilities and fridge. Free WiFi is also available throughout all Guest Rooms and public areas of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing