We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is in need of a complete overhaul!”
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #13 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We paid $200 a night to stay over the long weekend, and the room we stayed in was disgraceful! A bit rich for what we got...
Aside from the room size being absolutely tiny, the shower curtain and tiles was covered in mould, wall paper dirty and peeling, creaky floorboards and paper thin walls. Rooms are located up stairs with no lifts on the property, so hauling your luggage up the stairs is the only option.
The tv in the room was embarrassing, (8' screen), fuzzy reception and some channels in black and white.
Staff were non existent throughout our stay neither at the bar or at the front desk. There was no information contained in the room about anything, including cafe/restaurant details and open hours, facilities or even contact details for the front desk.
Spa takes 40 mins to heat up and needs to be requested via the front desk, but with no staff anywhere to be found unfortunately we did not get a chance to test it out.
I get the 1920's feel they are trying to portray and the downstairs parlour is quite quaint, but there's 1920's charm and then there's 1920's dilapidation! Unfortunately this place is the latter.
Positive aspect is its location, only being about a 5 min walk away from the main shops on katoomba st and close to echo point. Additionally they offer a full hot breakfast.
My advice is to avoid this hotel until they do a complete overhaul or at the very least give it a good clean and a new paint job.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

Lovely 1920's hotel with character, something not easy to find in Australia. Staff offers excellent service and provide you with a nice personal intro when arriving at the hotel. We enjoyed the warm spa and nice bar afterwards.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is apparently quieter, floor can be a bit noisy (old wooden floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olaf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed here recently & would strongly urge others to not book here until a refurbishment has taken place. I know they pride themselves with being with the whole 1920's theme; however I didn't think this would also include the last time some of the hotel was cleaned. The bed was quite simply the worst I've ever witnessed in a hotel with my girlfriend & I, spending a pretty much sleepless night due to it. The breakfast was cold & greasy & the coffee they offer is so poor that you would be able get a better cup at a Mcdonalds mccafe.

It was Anzac day so they informed us that the bar would close at 22.00 that evening. So after having a lovely meal in town we decided to head back & grab a nightcap at the hotel. We arrived back at around 21.30 to find the bar already closed & a number of similarly disgruntled guests, sat in the lounge chatting with empty glasses. When we questioned reception the next morning they informed us the bar was closed due to no patrons........I can only assume that the people sat in the lunge were ghosts from the 1920's then as we were certainly not alone in our discontent with this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

PHOTOS ARE DECEIVING
Dissapointing, rooms are in need of a good clean, dirty and dusty, bathroom very dated and not very clean.Lots of double adapters and extension cords in rooms, not really safe. Very dusty, musty smell on entering the building. Restaurant was not open as advertised, spa closed for maintenance ( thought this would be done earlier in the week not close to the weekend). Staff did not like complaints being made and were very rude. No guest directory in rooms and staff were not very helpful in assisting or did not know the answer, however were very informative on the history of the building.
We did like the lounge area with wood heating
My husband kept checking to see if Basil Faulty was coming up the hall.
We have stayed at alot of differant accomodation over the years but this takes the cake for the worst.
Not worth the money paid.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebG P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Our family are having a wonderful and joyful time, great atmoshere, beautiful surroundings also environment, friendly staff, fun activities or quiet time and an overall pleasant stay. Our family room is comfortable and a pleasure to relax in.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariabarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed here late last year and loved it! Funny little place! our room while was a good size had 3 beds! little dated but not in a bad way! Staff did all they could to be helpful and had some really good suggestion for the area! Hotel had a huge pool and spa! Breakfast was ok but provide Great vale for money! Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Don't have a room on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed two nights and I found this hotel to be good value for the price. It has everything you'd expect from a 3.5 star hotel, with perhaps a touch bit more wear and tear on closer inspection. Some areas could do with a reno, but the lounge area with the comfy armchairs deserves top marks. Couldn't fault the breakfast either and we found the staff albeit busy, very approachable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rekaoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.5 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
993 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
307 reviews
1 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Address: 88 Lurline St | Cnr Lurline & Merriwa Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Felton Woods Manor)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range: £58 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Australia's spectacular Blue Mountains district, Hotel Blue is a boutique 1920s hotel that captures the charm and character of a bygone era. Hotel Blue features 24 cosy, comfortable Guest Rooms, a spacious Lounge with log fires, a boutique Bar, in-house Restaurant, free live jazz or blues every Friday and Saturday evening, free cooked breakfast for all hotel guests and free WiFi. Allow yourself to step back into yesteryear, amidst the rich art-deco style furnishings. Ornate chandeliers, velvet flocked wallpaper, beautiful antique furniture, richly embellished ceilings and hand-carved timber panelling, with old-time jazz and blues tunes playing in the background, give Hotel Blue its unique ambience, reminiscent of days gone by. Refresh yourself with a relaxing drink in the intimate Parlour Bar, which particularly showcases the produce of regional wineries and breweries. Mr Jin's Restaurant offers authentic Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner, 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing