We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Hotel with exceptional service”
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #11 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is advertised as a 1920's hotel so if you are visiting expecting a five star resort you will be disappointed and I would ask reviewers on this site what they were expecting when they have written their negative reviews. Yes it's creaky and yes the wallpaper is peeling but it has a charm about it that I loved. Chris the manager was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble and his customer service was incredible from arrival to exit. He recommended some fantastic restaurants and was very knowledgable about the area. We loved our stay here. Thank you Chris and team for a great relaxing time away. We will be here to stay again for sure.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sazzledazzle80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed in a top floor room which could only be described as a tiny attic room. Wall paper was peeling off the walls.. The floor boards squeaked so much that we avoided walking around the room, not that much walking could be done! I almost had claustrophobia and the people in the next room started talking to us though the wall as the wall was that thin! We didn't answer them as it felt too freaky.

Room Tip: Ask for a real hotel room, not the broom closet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The lady at reception was a little strange and not that welcoming. She kept telling us that she was nearly finished her shift and would not be able to help us with anything as soon as she showed us her room. The guy next to us had his TV on so loudly and when I commented on it to her, she again told me she was about to go home. The guy next to us was talking and laughing to himself during the night and was very odd. We got a half hour internet with the booking, which only worked for about 5 minutes. There was no point asking about it because it was made clear that no one was there to help. The room was small and fairly clean. The wallpaper was very worn in the room. The room was very cold but was fine when we turned the heater on. Breakfast was great in the morning. Two ladies were working, one was busy cleaning etc and the other just talked and flirted with visiting staff. We did not visit the cafe downstairs. The lounge area of the hotel was charming, as described in other reviews. It was not great for power points as we had to sit on the floor to use our computers. Staff walked past and starred at us but no one asked if we were ok. The manager had a meeting in the lounge and it did not seem appropriate to discuss what they were discussing in public.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A charming looking hotel, a little too rustic for us though. An period hotel, around 100 years old, small windows, NO a/c (which was a big thing for us because it was really hot!) and a small TV with poor reception. We initially booked for two nights, but chose to leave after one. The beds aren't that comfy and the street outside was quite noisy until almost midnight. The community rooms were beautiful and well appointed and the full buffet breakfast was delicious. If rustic and period style accommodation is your thing, then this will suit, but it's hot without the a/c in summer, I can only assume the rooms are freezing in winter, although they do provide a small electric heater.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Feeona123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I'm not really sure where to start... So I guess I'll begin with the negatives. The decor in this hotel is NOT charming, as other reviewers have suggested, it is just plain tired. It was obviously last renovated in the 70s and is in a terrible state. The bathrooms are dreadful (they're small too but the size is workable). There is paint peeling off, the carpets are old and stained and the junk furniture around the place clashes with just about everything else.

But (It's a big but).... The service is wonderful- the staff are friendly, polite and helpful. The breakfast was great. The location is also very convenient. So there are some good things. They were also kind enough to refund our second night as we weren't keen to stay longer.

I wouldn't not recommend this place but I certainly wouldn't suggest spending more than 1 night. It's fun, kitsch and a bit of an adventure for one night- any longer and it'd be a bit depressing. They are planning renovations- that should make this a really great hotel in the future.

Katoomba itself is more than a bit run down- I would actually recommend Leura (next town down) over it.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank megpowis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We came back to Oz from the UK to stay with the in-laws and wanted to have a short getaway into the mountains and cool off. We had read the reviews of Hotel Blue and did the usual thing - ignore the bad reviews and the brilliant reviews and take notice of the ones in the middle. The overall theme seemed to be that the place was charming if a little run down.

Well, charming is correct and run down is also correct. In my book though, run down can mean many things. In the case of Hotel Blue, it just meant that the place had an air of faded grandeur!

We arrived in thick fog (only lasted for 3 days!) so couldn't really make out the outside of the hotel other than the fact that it certainly wasn't blue! More of a terracotta colour if memory serves. We were greeted by the young lad who appears to wear many hats - manager, greeter, tour guide, barman, waiter etc and were shown around.

The reception is in desperate need of an update! It really doesn't do the rest of the place any favours. The small lounge off the reception is charming and a great place to sit and the main lounge is equally charming with many Edwardian(?) features. The pool table is level which is a bonus in any hotel. It was a chilly day when we arrived,so the fire was burning giving a lovely ambience. I say chilly, what I actually mean is that it had got down to about 17 degrees which being a Pom felt like a lovely summers day to me but to my Aussie other half was practically arctic!

So, the public areas were lovely, just in need to a little TLC.

The bedroom was.........and I'm struggling for words here.........ok, it was "quaint". The brass bed was comfy. The windows were transparent. The curtains weren't. The bathroom was small but functional. The fridge was noisy and rattled the cups on the top. Don't get me wrong, I'm not complaining as I've stayed in far worse rooms and paid a lot more. All I'm saying is that a little bit of money spent on the rooms would not go amiss. New carpets and curtains and wallpaper would go a long way to make the rooms lovely rather than quaint.

Anyway, our stay was delightful, the breakfasts were hot, tasty and generous, the beers were fabulous and the staff were nothing but friendly and helpful.

Go stay there - it might lose it's charm when it's renovated! It's perfectly located for the Three Sisters and the many eateries that Katoomba has to offer (try the Malaysian food at the cake shop on the high street).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We reserved this hotel while still in States, based on reviews, and loved it ! It was full of charm from days past, great service and personal charm. They even allowed us to stay a little longer than check out time for a nap after a long morning walk. The location is perfect.... in between the Three Sisters Walk and Echo Point, and the center of Katoomba -- all within walking distance. The owner, Chris, went out of his way to make us not only comfortable but very welcomed!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.5 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
968 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel
0.7 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
The Metropole Guesthouse
The Metropole Guesthouse
#8 of 19 in Katoomba
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Address: 88 Lurline St | Cnr Lurline & Merriwa Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Felton Woods Manor)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range: £56 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Australia's spectacular Blue Mountains district, Hotel Blue is a boutique 1920s hotel that captures the charm and character of a bygone era. Hotel Blue features 24 cosy, comfortable Guest Rooms, a spacious Lounge with log fires, a boutique Bar, in-house Restaurant, free live jazz or blues every Friday and Saturday evening, free cooked breakfast for all hotel guests and free WiFi. Allow yourself to step back into yesteryear, amidst the rich art-deco style furnishings. Ornate chandeliers, velvet flocked wallpaper, beautiful antique furniture, richly embellished ceilings and hand-carved timber panelling, with old-time jazz and blues tunes playing in the background, give Hotel Blue its unique ambience, reminiscent of days gone by. Refresh yourself with a relaxing drink in the intimate Parlour Bar, which particularly showcases the produce of regional wineries and breweries. Mr Jin's Restaurant offers authentic Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner, 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing