We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, lovely food, building falling apart”
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #11 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great service, lovely food, building falling apart”
Reviewed 11 July 2010

I stayed here with my spouse and his family. Clean and functional rooms, though bathroom is tiny. The staff are fantastic, happy, friendly and willing to do just about anything for you. Breakfast was wonderful and included in the price. Close to main road and the train station and so is walking distance to most attractions in the area. I liked the atmosphere of this hotel but concerned about the following. This building is falling apart. It desperately needs work done to it. There is bubbling paint in both rooms that we used which usually indicates water damage or termite damage, furnishings are old and not closing and opening properly so need to be replaced. Floorboards are squeaky and need to be checked, carpets are worn and could do with a good clean. Electrical points are overloaded and in awkward positions. Communal areas are in ok condition it is mainly the bedrooms that need to be fixed and quickly, unfortunately the pool had a smoke alarm that was leaking water extensively and had not been attended to despite several requests. I am very concerned that there seems to be serious structural issues with this building. If these issues are fixed this hotel could possibly be one of Katoombas greatest assets.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    89
    46
    33
    36
See reviews for
52
125
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We booked online for a two night Spring package which included accomodation, a bottle of champagne each night and a continental and fully cooked breakfast daily. The hotel has a lovely warmth and charm and very welcoming and helpful staff. We were truely impressed by the decor and the amenities. We would strongly recommend a stay at Hotel Blue, we will be coming back again definitely.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitzroy
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2009

I stayed here with my sister on a short weekend break from Melbourne; after a scenic train trip from Sydney Central it was only a short walk to this hotel and it was exactly what I expected: it is not 5 star accommodation, it is exactly as it seems a faded star from the 1900s, but that is why I chose to stay here. The wallpaper in the bar is fabulous for its gaudiness and the games room just oozes edwardian comfort and stolidness.
The indoor pool is absolutely beautiful, and the staff were so friendly. Yes the rooms were very small, but the beds were extremely comfortable which is all I ever ask for - how much time do you spend in a hotel room anyway? I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to stay in Katoomba that is not too expensive.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _castro75_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Hotel Blue was previously known as Feltonwood Manor and still has the old signage out the front. It is located in Lurline St, which runs parallel to the main street of Katoomba, and is across the road from the Katoomba RSL (the friendliest club I can ever remember visiting). Off street parking is available.

Reception was very friendly and helpful if possibly overworked. The same person checked us in and out, served breakfast, served in the bar, took room and dinner bookings and started and stopped the spa. A real one woman show!!

The hotel including the rooms is furnished in old/antique style furniture in keeping with the period of the building. I found the communal lounge area delightful with its fireplace, piano, large and comfortable sofas, chess games and pool table (free). The adjoining bar offers well priced wine and beer to enjoy in front of the fire. Couples seemed to enjoy spending some time here. The hotel also has a restaurant that is used for dinner and breakfast in the mornings. The breakfast included both cereal, toast, fruit, tea, coffee and a choice of hot dish made to order. The cooked breakfast (sausage, eggs, tomato and bacon) was quite good; however the pancakes were a bit stodgy.

There is an indoor area (down a flight of stairs) with an unheated swimming pool and heated spa. Please note that the spa is extremely difficult to get in and out of as there are no handrails and the steps are very high (knee height). The pool also had no handrail. There is also a change room with a deluxe massage shower which unfortunately did not appear to be plugged in or operating during our stay. This area of the hotel could stand some updating/improvements.

Probably the most disappointing thing for us was that all but two rooms seem to only have a double bed which we find inadequate as my partner is over 6’ tall and doesn’t fit. We were lead to believe when enquiring prior to booking that there were more rooms with a queen size bed and that we could probably get one but this did not happen. This meant that we did not sleep which to me is the whole point of booking overnight accommodation.

The rooms are very small with extremely small bathrooms. Ours contained a cupboard, table and two chairs, double bed, dressing table, bar fridge, kettle and the smallest TV I have ever seen (it was smaller than my old 34cm TV)

Additionally, the wiring in the rooms seems inadequate as do the older appliances. Every time the fridge in our room switched itself on and off there would be a flash of light around the plug/wiring and the TV would flash as well. They were both running out of a power board on an extension cord running across the room. This worried us so much that I unplugged the fridge.

Overall, I think this hotel has the potential to be a great place to stay, but it requires extensive renovations and updating to improve its comfort and safety.

NOTE: The Chinese restaurant across the road at the Katoomba RSL is very good and offers a buffet on Friday nights as well as an a la carte menu.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Katoomba hotels

wertheim
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I booked a room in this hotel with 2 beds on whotif.com. For $150 a night without breakfast we got a tiny room, facing the main street. The wallpaper peeling off the walls and the sixties decor did not entice us to stay for breakfast. The best was the open fire place and the big armchairs in the lounge room in the evening minus the horrible carpet. This hotel is in desperate need for a makeover

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamaroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.5 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
1.0 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Property: Hotel Blue
Address: 88 Lurline St | Cnr Lurline & Merriwa Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Felton Woods Manor)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Australia's spectacular Blue Mountains district, Hotel Blue is a boutique 1920s hotel that captures the charm and character of a bygone era. Hotel Blue features 24 cosy, comfortable Guest Rooms, a spacious Lounge with log fires, a boutique Bar, in-house Restaurant, Cafe, free live jazz, blues or folk music every weekend, free cooked breakfast for all hotel guests and free WiFi. Allow yourself to step back into yesteryear, amidst the rich art-deco style furnishings. Ornate chandeliers, velvet flocked wallpaper, beautiful antique furniture, richly embellished ceilings and hand-carved timber panelling, with old-time jazz and blues tunes playing in the background, give Hotel Blue its unique ambience, reminiscent of days gone by. Sink into a comfortable arm chair and bask in front of a roaring log fire in the open fireplace in the spacious Guest Lounge during the winter months, or enjoy a game of cards or a board game. Refresh yourself with a relaxing drink in the intimate Parlour Bar, which particularly showcases the produce of regional wineries and breweries. The elegant in-house Sisters Blue Restaurant offers fine modern Australian cuisine, with an ever-evolving menu, and also offers unique dinner theatre experiences. The vibrant street-side Cafe 88 is a great place for a relaxing cup of coffee. Hotel Blue is conveniently situated only 5 minutes' walk from Katoomba's central shopping and dining district, 10 minutes' walk from Katoomba Railway Station, and 15 minutes' stroll from Echo Point's World Heritage-listed views of the iconic Three Sisters and the Blue Mountains National Park. Each of Hotel Blue's comfortable Guest Rooms is equipped with a private en suite bathroom, 32-inch LED television, tea- and coffee-making facilities and fridge. Free WiFi is also available throughout all Guest Rooms and public areas of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing