We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible,clean the place please!”
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #10 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrible,clean the place please!”
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Ok so I dont mind if things are old, but the dirty room and public areas are terrible. The ceilings, paintwork, carpet,furniture, fixtures and fittings were so encrusted in dirt, I would be ashamed to charge people. The room cost $150, not cheap and the desciptions in the hotel publicity are laughable!..............they need to gut the place and decorate and attend to some serious issues with the floors, every step, by every person it was so noisy we could not sleep. How on earch can you say "2 themed cocktail bars", please get real with your adverts, so misleading. I would never stay again!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank zqyaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    87
    43
    32
    33
See reviews for
47
122
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I stayed at this hotel as a gift from work, with high recommendations. The room is old with a TV that you could barely see it was that small and fixed to the far corner of the ceiling in the room (and the AFL grand final was on to rub it in). When it was night, the room was still lit up like day, as the neon hotel sign was just outside our window which meant we could not sleep. Breakfast was nothing much, I asked for Bacon & Eggs (as there was nothing else I liked on the menu) and I recieved 1 egg and 2 small pieces of bacon after waiting half an hour and going through 8 pieces of toast (that I had to make myself and try to keep warm whilst hoping my breakfast arrived soon). I was meant to get Champagne on arrival, but I had to call them to get it delivered as they had forgotten this also. The staff did not seem very approachable or friendly and I was told that this place had outstanding service and this was why they booked the room for me in the first place as a gift. I would not recommend this hotel, I'd rather stay in a caravan park.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank phantom69er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Katoomba hotels

innisfail
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Hotel Blue is exactly what I was looking for. Very old charm, very private with excellent service. if you want to feel the charm of yesteryear this is a great choice. central to everything with the bus stop outside, rsl across the road yet walking distance to town and many attractions. breakfast was home made and delicious, included in room price. after staying in Sydney at great modern hotels Hotel Blue was a real treat. although Katoomba has many places to choose for accomadation i wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thankyou Rebecca and Chris. wishing you both all the best and keep up the good work

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethstoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

One night stay with my parents that were visiting. As soon as you step in the door you are taken back in time with authentic furniture and decorations, a MUST SEE even if you don't end up staying here. The rooms and bathrooms are adequate. Service is good and staff are pleasant. The fireplaces add to the romantic charm, we experienced that the smoke travels across the whole hotel which was the only minus.....and perhaps after 24 hours the 1920 music gets a bit tiring :-)
The current owner manages the hotel for about 1 year now and has recently upgraded the wiring incl. wifi and tv. We did not experience any electricity issues as other people mentioned.
Ask one of the staff if you can try out the pianola - truly fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supersuus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

I stayed here with my spouse and his family. Clean and functional rooms, though bathroom is tiny. The staff are fantastic, happy, friendly and willing to do just about anything for you. Breakfast was wonderful and included in the price. Close to main road and the train station and so is walking distance to most attractions in the area. I liked the atmosphere of this hotel but concerned about the following. This building is falling apart. It desperately needs work done to it. There is bubbling paint in both rooms that we used which usually indicates water damage or termite damage, furnishings are old and not closing and opening properly so need to be replaced. Floorboards are squeaky and need to be checked, carpets are worn and could do with a good clean. Electrical points are overloaded and in awkward positions. Communal areas are in ok condition it is mainly the bedrooms that need to be fixed and quickly, unfortunately the pool had a smoke alarm that was leaking water extensively and had not been attended to despite several requests. I am very concerned that there seems to be serious structural issues with this building. If these issues are fixed this hotel could possibly be one of Katoombas greatest assets.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We booked online for a two night Spring package which included accomodation, a bottle of champagne each night and a continental and fully cooked breakfast daily. The hotel has a lovely warmth and charm and very welcoming and helpful staff. We were truely impressed by the decor and the amenities. We would strongly recommend a stay at Hotel Blue, we will be coming back again definitely.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitzroy
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2009

I stayed here with my sister on a short weekend break from Melbourne; after a scenic train trip from Sydney Central it was only a short walk to this hotel and it was exactly what I expected: it is not 5 star accommodation, it is exactly as it seems a faded star from the 1900s, but that is why I chose to stay here. The wallpaper in the bar is fabulous for its gaudiness and the games room just oozes edwardian comfort and stolidness.
The indoor pool is absolutely beautiful, and the staff were so friendly. Yes the rooms were very small, but the beds were extremely comfortable which is all I ever ask for - how much time do you spend in a hotel room anyway? I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to stay in Katoomba that is not too expensive.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _castro75_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.5 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Property: Hotel Blue
Address: 88 Lurline St | Cnr Lurline & Merriwa Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Felton Woods Manor)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Australia's spectacular Blue Mountains district, Hotel Blue is a boutique 1920s hotel that captures the charm and character of a bygone era. Hotel Blue features 24 cosy, comfortable Guest Rooms, a spacious Lounge with log fires, a boutique Bar, in-house Restaurant, Cafe, free live jazz, blues or folk music every weekend, free cooked breakfast for all hotel guests and free WiFi. Allow yourself to step back into yesteryear, amidst the rich art-deco style furnishings. Ornate chandeliers, velvet flocked wallpaper, beautiful antique furniture, richly embellished ceilings and hand-carved timber panelling, with old-time jazz and blues tunes playing in the background, give Hotel Blue its unique ambience, reminiscent of days gone by. Sink into a comfortable arm chair and bask in front of a roaring log fire in the open fireplace in the spacious Guest Lounge during the winter months, or enjoy a game of cards or a board game. Refresh yourself with a relaxing drink in the intimate Parlour Bar, which particularly showcases the produce of regional wineries and breweries. The elegant in-house Sisters Blue Restaurant offers fine modern Australian cuisine, with an ever-evolving menu, and also offers unique dinner theatre experiences. The vibrant street-side Cafe 88 is a great place for a relaxing cup of coffee. Hotel Blue is conveniently situated only 5 minutes' walk from Katoomba's central shopping and dining district, 10 minutes' walk from Katoomba Railway Station, and 15 minutes' stroll from Echo Point's World Heritage-listed views of the iconic Three Sisters and the Blue Mountains National Park. Each of Hotel Blue's comfortable Guest Rooms is equipped with a private en suite bathroom, 32-inch LED television, tea- and coffee-making facilities and fridge. Free WiFi is also available throughout all Guest Rooms and public areas of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing