We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Flying Fox Backpackers
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This hostel was an absolute 'home away from home' hostel... from the min you walk through the front door you soak up the chilled-out atmosphere and are made to feel welcome... There is a social-time rule between 1800-2100 every evening where laptops, phones etc aren't allowed in the two social areas which is a great idea encouraging everyone to blether and get to know each other...there was a free pasta night one of the evenings I was there which was a great chance to meet other travellers and then mulled wine and marshmallows in the courtyard the next night....

Extra blankets were provided for the cool nights and the owner is very knowledgeable regarding walks in the local and surrounding area. The dorm itself was standard size with an individual reading light for each bunk. There was a main dorm light and a dimmer 'second' light which was great to turn on if you were the first person to go to sleep as it was dim enough to get to sleep but light enough for everybody else to be able to see. All in all one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in for independant travellers

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homeward2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

The flying fox is one of my favorite Aussie hostels. Small, secluded and alternative, this hostel has a pleasent family atmosphere.

I only stayed for one night and although I was a little cold, I had been supplied a nice warm duvet to hide under.

Everyone was very sociable and the combination of a complimentary dinner, a bonfire and social time made my stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveInIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

When I stayed in Sydney for a week I spontaneously decided to go up to the blue mountains and as It's a 2 hour train ride I booked into this hostel for one night. The owner is a really friendly guy, showed me around and explained me very detailed a walk I could do which was awesome. Rooms aren't too tiny and there are lockers, kitchen is big and there's free coffee and tee (real coffee, not that crap instant stuff). You also get free breakfast (nice bread and cereals, no pancakes though) and every now and then there's free dinner, too. I was lucky and it was pasta night: penne arrabiata, home made, delicious and heaps for everybody!
But: there aren't enough bathrooms at all! Just two for a lot of dorms, no extra toilets in the house, so you always have to wait if you need to use the toilet or wanna take a shower. It didn't bother me too much as I just stayed for one night, but I know it would get really annoying waiting all the time if I had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraaa93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The best hostel I've ever stayed in!
The dorm was very comfy, the duvet was a dream, the bathrooms are absolutely clean and are cleaned several times a day. The living room and kitchen make you feel very welcome. Free breakfast including fresh bread, marmelade, cornflakes, milk, fresh fruit, coffee tea guarantees you a great start in your day.
Had a bonfire outside with free gluwine and cookies.
The staff is amazingly friendly, dedicated and helpful.
It's very quiet at night except for the train which passes by a few times. but its and close to the station, 5 min walk. A nice fruit market is next door.
Free WiFi and a pc for those without their own computer. the hostel cat is really cute(stays outside all the time)
I just loved it and will come back. I had a great time. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank De D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

It's a very familiar hostel to relax. It's a small, very nice place to know travelers from all over the world. Nothing to complain about. Big kitchen. One launch room with fire place and a seperate room with tv and DVD.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlies125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We camped here for three nights (so can't really comment on the bedrooms - although the one double I had a peek into looked clean and comfortable). It was cold but worth it. The hostel is warm and friendly, with cosy communal spaces - lounge (with wood-burning stove), dining room and kitchen. It's a bit short on bathrooms; another one would be ideal. The hosts were really friendly, especially Ross, and pretty laid back. A campfire was lit each evening, and our daughter had a great time sharing travellers' tales and eating marshmallows. Our son enjoyed the free wifi.

We all felt really at home here, especially in the kitchen, where everyone mucked in with washing up etc, not like in most hostels. Ross tries to keep the lounge screen-free between 6 and 9pm, which means people really do talk to each other!

Katoomba is well-situated for seeing the Blue Mountains in all their splendour, and we would love to go back to the Flying Fox some time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

After one year of traveling all over Australia, Nz, Indonesia and Thailand the flying fox backpackers surely stays my favorite accommodation on this not-at-all-lonely planet so far!
It is located in Katoomba, in the blue mountains in nsw which are unfortunately promoted as "just some hours out of Sydney, ideally for a daytrip".
This area of Australia is so wonderful, there is so much to see and to do, a day is never ever enough if you ask me.
Yes, there are no numberless nightclubs or beaches, but breathtaking views over endless almost untouched valleys, forests and waterfalls. There are many different hikes to do, panoramas and sounds of pure nature you will never forget. The air is clear. You have that feeling to arrive somewhere with all your senses and have a rest from all the main-touristy hustle. Most of the times, there are some visitors up there, but the Asians take their pictures and Leave in their tourbusses again, and flashpackers take do the same and tick off their "bm daytrip" before they rush back down to sydney. So it's never too much and ESP the evenings and afternoons are wonderful to stroll through katoombas streets, have delicious fresh coffee or handmade chocolate with katoombas locals - a unique bunch of people, some have a special touch to them, but not a single one is off the peg. Katoomba is a
Little bit different and this is what makes it so amazing. There is an easy going slightly alternative touch to it. You will find good food, magical little thingies, well equipped outdoorshops, proper pubs and an amazing wintermagic sunsolstice festival in late June.
Families, artists, real travel spirits and outdoorsy people gather here, it's a hikers' and rockclimbers' paradise.
And to them I would like to highly recommend to stay in the flying fox.
In march I booked in for one night, and one of the first things I saw was the chalk board writing" you can check out but you can never leave". While wondering what that means, a handful of lovely down to earth guys from all age and heritage offered me tea, coffee, shared their dinner with us and were just so helpful and chilled out. Ross, the owner is a clever guy: he lets wwoofers/volunteer travelers stay for free when they "work" for some hours a day. Indeed, they do a good job, even guests help out sometimes, it seems like people just
Love this place and care for it straight away. One guy who stayed there gave me my first yoga lesson( spontaneously people come
Together and do sessions in the garden or go on hikes or jam together).
The simple breakfast of toast, jams, butter, vegemite,honey, muesli, cornflakes...tastes even better when some happy people wish you a good morning in a clean kitchen and tell you that" tea and coffee is right over there for you; Ross is a bit late this morning( the owner doesn't insist his morning ritual), so more
Bread and milk will be here in a bit but pancakes will be ready in some
Minutes". You might find some top up goodies on the free food fridge shelf or box, where guest share their food.
(otherwise you have your own box or marked food as everywhere). Also there is a priceworthy and very fresh fruit and vegetable shop right next door(also fresh pasta, laksa,pesto,real chiabatta and cheese...for a very fair price!)
Depending on the amount of helping hands is the amount of pancakebreakfasts per week. Til you are done with that, every little mess that might have resulted from the night around the campfire will be cleaned up by then, but normally guests in the fox inspire other guests not to leave a trace. So there are no annoying " clean up behind yourself we are not your mum"signs necessary.
A Irish guy celebrated his 68th birthday with us, while the 2,4 or 9year old kids just hung out with the rest of the travelers.the fox is a place for everyone with the heart on the right spot and an open mind, age doesnt matter.
It's easy to make new friends there, while social time there are no smartphones/pcs... Seen in the shared social areas between 6-9pm. But instruments and free books as well as the people who normally sit around in the fox make you forget about that.
People watch movies together on rainy days,three folders of DVDs wait in the office. Art equipment and games are to be found under the lounge table. For the ones who travel without a laptop, there is a computer in a corner in the dining areA. Free wifi is available all they long.
It's a colorful place with artwork on the walls, pillows and maps remind of even more travels, fireplaces inside and outside make it comfy and some chillout tunes do the rest. (ross'playlist, don't be crazy and plug in your iPod without asking;) )
Every room is unique. The equipment may not be the latest, but that goes well with the cosy charme of the fox and everything is super clean and comfy.
If you need more towels,sheets, pillows, blankets, maps, help- what so ever- ask. If Ross is not in, the wwoofers are in charge. And if no one of them is in, there are friends or regulars who know or know someone who knows someone:) rosses number is written down, he will fly in for a bit on his way if you néed him.
It's a small private alternative hostel that may feel like a home, no chain 08/15 massive off the peg stuff.
There are three dorms, one is a female, one sometimes is a male, a triple and some doubles. The private rooms are individually designed with even more artwork and mindful details like fresh extra towels.
There's guano the hostel cat, but she lives outside, you can meet her around the hut where some prayerflags flatter on the wind or chilling in the sun under the washing line(laundry can be done at the fox, no worries, the coinmaschine is in the extra bathroom you find outside).
While your room has a key, the front and backdoor have pin codes: it feels like a open house but is safe at the same time, what I really liked.
If you prefer to be even closer to nature, you can camp in the backyard either in your own van/tent or in one of the already set up hostel tents: filled with mats, sheets, pillows en masse, the best nests ever. Think about what's best for you, then open your mouth and ask for it, and if possible in any way, people will make it happen for you.
There are free pasta nights every now and then, Ross the owner really know how to make an excellent arrabiata( good enough that I want to write a recipe book about it:)). A really good bottleshop is just up the road, for the glass of wine with it. Ross and the wwoofers may approach you with gluehwein and chocolatecookies, no tricks, they are fine, that's just normal at the fox:)
Well. I could go on for ever.
In the end, we stayed for 2 nights, then for 3. Then we went all out together Which was so good, that we had to stay night 4:) this was my first stay at the fox. I finally checked out(at12 instead of 10am, if you need a late checkout, ask-won't be a prob). But I came back 7 times: as a guest, as a wwoofer and finally as a friend, even crashing on the couch or sharing tents when the place was crowded. That's the way it should be, because it's just unique and absolutely awesome.
I left Australia for now, (i enjoy traveling with some friends i made up there!)but I'm sure it wasnt my last time at the fox: it is definitely true. "you can check out but you can never really leave".

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mickybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
0.6 mi away
Blue Mountains YHA
Blue Mountains YHA
#3 of 13 in Katoomba
279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No. 14
No. 14
#2 of 13 in Katoomba
187 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flying Fox Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Fox Backpackers

Address: 190 Bathurst Rd, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Katoomba
Price Range: £20 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flying Fox Backpackers is located in a lovely old building, 400 metres from town. Established to cater for independent travellers and not large groups, it's the perfect place to make new friends. A vibrant Hostel with No T.V. and log fires for warmth and atmosphere, people feel very relaxed at the Fox. Free Breakfast and free wifi internet, lovely double, twins and dorms secure Hostel with a great outdoor area with fires in side and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your The Flying Fox Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Flying Fox Backpackers Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing