We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable and perfect for hiking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Flying Fox Backpackers
Tintagel, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable and perfect for hiking”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We only stayed a couple of days but wish we had more time and could have stayed longer.
I'd had the place personally recommended so my expectations were high and it exceeded them.

The rooms are very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The bathrooms are also clean. The kitchen was clean, tidy, well-equipped and well organised. Most people cook rather then eat out, being self-sufficient walking/camping types and on a budget; there is an excellent veggie shop 2 doors down and a supermarket 5 mins walk away. One suggestion for the kitchen would be a knife sharpener somewhere handy as with a lot of happy customers using the knives, they soon blunt.

There were some nice touches such as free tea, coffee and milk and the provision of towels which many backpackers don't do. Also the woodburning stove in the lounge area made for a very cosy atmosphere.

We do a lot of walking and had come prepared with the Open Streetmaps on an Android tablet; that was very handy as many of the trails are mapped on it as well as all the bus stops.
We planned our own route the first day from Cliff Drive to Sublime Point. For the second day, Ross suggested a great hike route at Blackheath down the Grand Canyon and Horse Track to the Grose River then through the Blue Gum forest to exit via Perry's Lookout. Overall it was about 25km and we really enjoyed it.

If you are going walking in the Blue Mountains, I strongly recommend you stay here - you won't regret it.

If you're going to Sydney, consider coming here for a couple of days - it's only 2 hours on the train and the scenery is stunning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0oJAo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    36
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
28
68
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was my second time staying at the Flying Fox and I would recommend to anyone interested in exploring the Blue Mountains. Ross, the owner, is super-helpful in giving information about the local area and which walks/trails are suitable and what sights are worth seeing. The atmosphere is great for meeting people, with a cosy lounge/common room complete with fireplace. Breakfast is included, free tea/coffee, free Wifi/internet. Rooms are basic as you'd expect for a backpackers (it's not a hotel) but adequate and clean. Shared bathrooms also adequate and clean. If you want to cook for yourself, the kitchen facilities are great - the kitchen is kept clean and in good condition. The operation is well organised and the staff are also friendly and helpful. Only slight annoyance was the freight trains passing by on the railway all through the night, but you'd probably hear them wherever you stay in Katoomba. Overall, probably the best backpackers I've stayed at in Australia. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpa99c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reese, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed in countless hostels during my 3 months in Australia and The Flying Fox was by far my favorite. Ross is very knowledgable and helpful in pointing you towards some spectacular hikes. I loved the "no technology" rule in the evening as it really encourages you to engage with your fellow travelers. If you are staying in the Blue Mountains you can't miss this place. I booked for 3 days and loved it so much I ended up staying for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuntzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Flying Fox last week and we had a brilliant experience!
Hostel rooms were absolutely clean, so were the bathrooms, kitchen and shared utilities. Beds were comfy and I had a great nights sleep.
Ross, the owner, was very friendly and helpful. We were given maps and advice on the hikes and what to do in Katoomba.
We also met a big bunch of people at the hostel, everyone was really nice and friendly we ended up going out for dinner with everyone which was brilliant!
This hostel was the cherry on top of a great time spent in Katoomba and the Blue Mountains.
Do it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadsy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We felt so welcome at the Flying Fox, had a great time, slept like a baby. It was cold outside at night but the room was warm. Beds were clean and comfy. The owner, Ross, was nice and always available for information. He gave us advice about some hikes in the neighbourhood and those turned out to be stunning. We actually even had a good, tasty dinner for free with everyone else in the hostel, which is something I haven't seen happen before. Would definitely recommend staying here. Cheers guys, thanks for the great time!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEO88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

After a stressful week we arrived at this beautiful hostel. Staff is helpful, prices are reasonable, the hostel feels homely and cosy, walls are colourful. The common room with fire place, chess boards and friendly people is inviting. Everything was very clean and beds were super comfy, slept like a baby. Also, breakfast is included as well as helpful advice on what to do and see. Thank you for the great stay, my favourite Australian hostel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmins, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The overall feel of this hostel is so freaking cool! It has a very layed back and welcoming feel. Although I was traveling by myself I felt right at home with the people working in this hostel and staying in the hostel. The location was great for me as I was staying here prior to the Six Foot Track and I just walked out the door and turned left and was on my way. It's a little on the outside of Katoomba though. The hallways were lined with cool artwork of the area and there were many information boards about cool hikes to do, sites to see, tours they offered, the best places to eat in Katoomba and even info about the best hostels in Sydney which is about a 2 hour train ride away. The rooms and beds were clean and that lounge area was perfect. If I ever make it back to Katoomba, I wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaritimeAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
916 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blue Mountains YHA
Blue Mountains YHA
#3 of 13 in Katoomba
272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
400 reviews
1.4 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flying Fox Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Fox Backpackers

Property: The Flying Fox Backpackers
Address: 190 Bathurst Rd, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flying Fox Backpackers is located in a lovely old building, 400 metres from town. Established to cater for independent travellers and not large groups, it's the perfect place to make new friends. A vibrant Hostel with No T.V. and log fires for warmth and atmosphere, people feel very relaxed at the Fox. Free Breakfast and free wifi internet, lovely double, twins and dorms secure Hostel with a great outdoor area with fires in side and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Flying Fox Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Flying Fox Backpackers Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing