We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
Nearby Hotels
The Carrington Hotel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Explorers Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sky Rider Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Sisters Motel(Katoomba)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
225
208
45
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
208
45
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig kitchenfree laundrytrain stationcommon roompool tablebed dormblue mountainsbig lockersnice place to stayown bathroomone nightclean roomsgreat facilitiesconvenient locationboard gameswould definitely stay here againcommon areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 507 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

the sign out front said under new management, so maybe things have changed as we stayed in March 2012, but our stay here was mixed.

looks a bit rough around the edges, but the building itself looks quite nice, interesting and was probably once a nice hotel or something. location is good, near to station and shops. common area was OK, bit grubby but what is expected of a hostel really. free computers are a bonus, altho not all worked very well. kitchen was nice n big with plenty of utensils etc, and everyone seemed to wash up after themselves. room was OK, noisy beds creaking a lot but again as you'd expect from a hostel.

however, this was all ruined because when eating dinner in the common area one evening we saw a couple of mice running around. didn't mind too much initially as they were by the windows and keeping themselves to themselves. but then that night a saw a mouse in the room, after the lights were off. it was near someones bag, I scared it away back down the pipework but we didn't sleep very well after that!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

When I arrived the lady behind the desk was extremely polite which was a nice warm welcome. I asked for information about what's good to see and she directed me to the trolley tours, she said she could not help any more as she was just covering someone. Really she should be there all the time as the other receptionist who I encounter later is just plain rude. When I enter the room
the bed I'll be staying in sheets give me a shudder as there are stains still upon them and the smell of damp wafting through the room. The rooms are massive I was in a 8 bed mixed dorm. The problem is that everything squeaked, the bed, lockers and the train tracks which are right outside as I was placed on a ground floor room you could here people talking outside and even cars revving engines, even the echo of the common room filter through. It also did not help that they allowed a herd of elephants to stay in the room above. So overall none of us had a good night sleep. One girl even moved her mattress from the top bunk to the floor to get a better night sleep. There was a ensuite in the dorm, except that to close the door you had to slam it which wakes everyone up. The shower also sprays over everything. Used the ones in the internet area but they flood every where. Also the cleaner decides to clean them in the morning when most people are trying to get ready to go out. Clean is not the right word as when I entered the toilet after there was still hair all other the floor, more push the dirt around. Things could easily be better at this place. As well as changing the receptionist who was rude to me about my card key not working as for some tragic reason you have to keep it away from your mobile. I asked how far she commented back with a sarky reply, she went on to explain that its the magnetic fields fault . We all have mobiles and I made sure they did not touch in my bag. God knows where your meant to put the key or mobile. Ridiculous have had no issues like this in other hostels. I guess they have free internet to sweeten people up, to try and obscure all the other issues. This hostel needs a little TLC and it would be superb but the lack of interest and helpfulness leads to it being a dive. Needs these issues sorted pronto! Maybe cheap but don't bother, as the main reason for staying in a hostel is to get sleep which will not be addressed here.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs will probably be quiter due to no one stomping on the ceiling, talking outside or revving car engines.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carly478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed at this backpacker for one night. I was a bit hesitant to stay there when I read some of the reviews. I was pleasantly surprised with the place. I have to admit that this is the first backpacker I have stayed in so I can't really compare but I was expecting an unclean place for the money I was paying. We stayed in a private room which was very clean, we had a heater and a big fridge. The toilets were clean, the kitchen was big and had everything you need. The girl at the reception was very friendly and help us with everything we needed. The location is great and you have internet access included. If I come back to Katoomba I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I didn't see the share rooms but I would recommend you to stay on one of the private rooms
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiLiTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I was only going to need somewhere to sleep - having business that would take up most of my time.
I was a little apprehensive having read some of the reviews but the low price won in the end.
I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodation and staff – cleanliness was not a problem and the location in the heart of the CBD was perfect for me.
I would recommend it to anyone on a budget.

Room Tip: Upstairs is a little quiter on weekends.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews