We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay if visiting the Blue Mountains...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if visiting the Blue Mountains...”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Very clean, super friendly staff .. Free Laundry and drying, free Internet & locker with locks..
Very close to the train station - I stayed in a room with 8 other bunk beds - and large bathroom attached..
Really enjoyed my stay - the staff were very helpful - just beside a bottle shop to pick up a few beers and just around the corner on the Main Street there is a Coles to get groceries which can be BBQ or cooked in the large kitchen with all utensils required at backpackers hostel ...
Really enjoyed my stay and highly recommend it !!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    154
    38
    14
    13
See reviews for
27
70
106
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Really enjoyed our 3 nights here. We chose a 4 bed dorm and were really pleased with it. Huge personal locker which could fit everything in it including our backpacks. Had hanging space and a drawer so could even unpack a few clothes! had a fridge and freezer in our room and a tv. Very spacious room as well. Although the room was quite hot. Plenty of showers and toilets which were always clean. kitchen is large with lots of facilities. Great location near lots of blue mountains walking tracks and the hostel staff ae some of the friendliest we have come across. Free wifi, free laundry and free use of computers. great hostel and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernpixie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I read some old reviews and had a bad impression about the hostel, but recent reviews in favour of the hostel made me feel like trying. The hostel is located very close to Katoomba Station. The receptionist is nice and friendly. They have a spacious and warm lounge with TV and a pool table. (Unfortunately, the pool table was a bit noisy even after midnight, when I was in the bed.) Many PCs with Internet connection and wifi, which was not mentioned in a hostel-booking site, are available free of charge. The kitchen and rooms are clean. Laundry is free. Their rates are good and weekday & Sunday rates are excellent. Besides, I found a box for a guest's comment about the hostel in order to improve their service and I liked the attitude very much. All in all, this hostel is well-worth staying.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misocutlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A nice friendly hostel with lots of space and free PC with internet, wifi, washing/ drying, pool n BBQ. I only paid 18AUD a night in the week which was very reasonable. The blue mountain trails are all within walking distance as well so cheap activities all day. This was the best hostel I'd stayed in until I hit Queenstown.

Room Tip: The bigger dorms are cheaper but usually not full
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staschy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

I am in there right now, and if you're like me, which means a backpacker that just needs a shower and a cheap bed, this hostel is the winner! The 12 - bed dorm where I am sleeping in has its own bathroom.

The bed are really good quality, you can move without waking up the guy sleeping above you, and they are really comfy!

It's located near the station, only five minutes walking, which is good and not good. Not good because you can hear the trains, but the last train is at around 2200pm so the night is pretty quiet.
If I had to complain about something it would be about how clean it is. It is clean, but could be a bit more. But as I said, as a backpackers I really don't mind as soon as I have my bed with clean sheets.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monsieurboule109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Value For Money is the bottom line. Its nice and cosy. The environment simply rocks. Perfect location, just 5 mins walk from station and close to most trails. 25 minutes walk to Echo Point/ Jamison Valley. Internet/ Kitchen/ Games provided. OVerall a fun place to stay!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raheel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

What can I say I went to the blue mountains and stayed for over a week. The hostel was cheap clean and peaceful. As it wasn't busy me and one other girl had a 8 bed dorm to ourselves for most of the week. It was cold and even snowed while I was there do we needed extra blankets and the heater on. The kitchen is huge clean and by far the best facilities I've seen in a hostel. I loved it here and will hopefully make it back. If your looking for a place to chill out while discovering all the beautiful mountains this is the place to be.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachybaby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Mountains YHA
Blue Mountains YHA
#2 of 12 in Katoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.4 mi away
No. 14
No. 14
#3 of 12 in Katoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel

Property: Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
Address: 144 Bathurst Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Central Blue Backpackers)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel was opened on May 1st 2009. We are the closest hostel to Katoomba Train Station (turn right from the station and follow Bathurst Road). We have a wide range of clean dormitory, dormitory en-suite, private, private en-suite, family and family en-suite rooms. We cater to travellers, families and can accommodate up to 160 guests. Our lounge is great for all guests, with lots of room to mingle or find a quiet corner in front of the fire. Test your skills on our FREE pool table, FREE table soccer table, FREE guitar or play one of our many FREE board games. The kitchen is spacious, well stocked with utensils and 6 large ovens. Just out from that is a summer BBQ space and courtyard garden. Not only do we have our great reception, friendly staff and clean facilities, we also offer: FREE wi-fi throughout the hostel FREE computers and low priced printing (b/w) FREE games and rainy day activities FREE luggage storage (just leave us a review!) FREE on street parking FREE lockers in all dormitory rooms FREE to use TVs in the lounge and all private rooms FREE tourist information and laundry services In addition, we can help you with Blue Mountains visitor attraction tickets and much, much, more. Please ask! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing