We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$218
US$212
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carrington Hotel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Explorers Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$104
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sky Rider Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
US$272
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Sisters Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Katoomba Town Centre(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
224
207
45
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
207
45
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig kitchenfree laundrytrain stationcommon roompool tablebed dormblue mountainsbig lockersnice place to stayown bathroomone nightclean roomsgreat facilitiesconvenient locationboard gameswould definitely stay here againcommon areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
419 - 424 of 505 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2013

A nice hostel with free laundery and friendly staff. But the siperwebs infront of the windows could haven't been removed for years. The kitchen is very large, clean and well equipped. It a very good location to start walks into the blue mountains.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christoph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Very clean, super friendly staff .. Free Laundry and drying, free Internet & locker with locks..
Very close to the train station - I stayed in a room with 8 other bunk beds - and large bathroom attached..
Really enjoyed my stay - the staff were very helpful - just beside a bottle shop to pick up a few beers and just around the corner on the Main Street there is a Coles to get groceries which can be BBQ or cooked in the large kitchen with all utensils required at backpackers hostel ...
Really enjoyed my stay and highly recommend it !!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Really enjoyed our 3 nights here. We chose a 4 bed dorm and were really pleased with it. Huge personal locker which could fit everything in it including our backpacks. Had hanging space and a drawer so could even unpack a few clothes! had a fridge and freezer in our room and a tv. Very spacious room as well. Although the room was quite hot. Plenty of showers and toilets which were always clean. kitchen is large with lots of facilities. Great location near lots of blue mountains walking tracks and the hostel staff ae some of the friendliest we have come across. Free wifi, free laundry and free use of computers. great hostel and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernpixie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I read some old reviews and had a bad impression about the hostel, but recent reviews in favour of the hostel made me feel like trying. The hostel is located very close to Katoomba Station. The receptionist is nice and friendly. They have a spacious and warm lounge with TV and a pool table. (Unfortunately, the pool table was a bit noisy even after midnight, when I was in the bed.) Many PCs with Internet connection and wifi, which was not mentioned in a hostel-booking site, are available free of charge. The kitchen and rooms are clean. Laundry is free. Their rates are good and weekday & Sunday rates are excellent. Besides, I found a box for a guest's comment about the hostel in order to improve their service and I liked the attitude very much. All in all, this hostel is well-worth staying.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misocutlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A nice friendly hostel with lots of space and free PC with internet, wifi, washing/ drying, pool n BBQ. I only paid 18AUD a night in the week which was very reasonable. The blue mountain trails are all within walking distance as well so cheap activities all day. This was the best hostel I'd stayed in until I hit Queenstown.

Room Tip: The bigger dorms are cheaper but usually not full
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staschy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews