We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Longueuil
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Went there for 2 nights, rooms where great, hot water in the shower! Only one bathroom/shower in the room, but it didn't turn out to be problematic and there's a bathroom in the common area. The location was good as well, 30 min walk from echo point, and lets face it people are there to hike, so 30 minute walk is nothing!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip_lover00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    171
    42
    14
    14
See reviews for
30
72
116
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Highly recommend this hostel if you are in Sydney and need a break from all the noise! A nice quaint area with excellent views of the mountain just round the corner. Everything you need is a nice walk away, there is a nice little pub on the corner, all your shopping needs around the corner and a lovely cafe nearby. The cooking facilities are brilliant, plenty of room and ovens to cook your meals, no waiting around! A nice mixture of nationalities all there for the same reason. The internet and laundry facilities are good also. MAKE SURE YOU SPEND A FEW DAYS IN THE MOUNTAINS!!! a day is not enough to take in the stunning views of the blue mountains, there are plenty of tracks to take, each of which is breathtaking.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harland g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Me And My Family was travel at Blue Mountains. We were stay at Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel. It is very friendly staff and all accommodation facility provides like Family, Group, Individual and Students also. I really impress rate of accommodation and happy also highly recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merk307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I heard about the backpacker from a friend who was there before. He has described it as a reasonable accommodation with friendly staffs and high quality service. Located in the center of the town, the hostel offered travellers all convenience to restaurants in town, beauty spots as well as trip advice for your travel etc. There are lots of good things to say about the Hostel. Come there and enjoy your time!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khoisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed here for a weekend with family. We had a great time. It was clean and quite. Rooms where clean and tidy. And the staff were just great. We had to get a light replaced in the bathroom it was fixed within 10 minutes. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisha86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We were so impressed with this hostel that we changed our plans to stay for longer. Clean, friendly, well-stocked kitchen, private and clean bathrooms, rooms were comfortable with TVs. The free WIFI was pretty good - but 100% free so that was really nice. A huge bonus was the free laundry- we had never seen that before! A private room for $69 a night felt like a steal! We also loved being so close to main street and within a 5 min drive of Scenic World. Highly recommend to stay here when in the Blue Mountains!

Room Tip: Private double bed room was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoardChick_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This place was very clean, nice, and friendly. There wasn't a lot of noises when we were trying to sleep, the beds were clean and comfortable and there was a great TV in our room with probably a hundred channels (great for catching up on Biggest Loser AU and The Voice AU). The kitchen was clean and well-stocked, the wifi isn't the greatest, but its free, and the laundry facilities were free. For only $69 a night for a deluxe room, we were impressed!

Room Tip: We got a deluxe room with a shared bathroom- totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaJ259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
914 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
569 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Mountains YHA
Blue Mountains YHA
#3 of 13 in Katoomba
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
No. 14
No. 14
#2 of 13 in Katoomba
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Flying Fox Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel

Property: Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
Address: 144 Bathurst Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Central Blue Backpackers)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel was opened on May 1st 2009. We are the closest hostel to Katoomba Train Station (turn right from the station and follow Bathurst Road). We have a wide range of clean dormitory, dormitory en-suite, private, private en-suite, family and family en-suite rooms. We cater to travellers, families and can accommodate up to 160 guests. Our lounge is great for all guests, with lots of room to mingle or find a quiet corner in front of the fire. Test your skills on our FREE pool table, FREE table soccer table, FREE guitar or play one of our many FREE board games. The kitchen is spacious, well stocked with utensils and 6 large ovens. Just out from that is a summer BBQ space and courtyard garden. Not only do we have our great reception, friendly staff and clean facilities, we also offer: FREE wi-fi throughout the hostel FREE computers and low priced printing (b/w) FREE games and rainy day activities FREE luggage storage (just leave us a review!) FREE on street parking FREE lockers in all dormitory rooms FREE to use TVs in the lounge and all private rooms FREE tourist information and laundry services In addition, we can help you with Blue Mountains visitor attraction tickets and much, much, more. Please ask! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing