We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of Its Class”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 3 Explorers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
3 Explorers Motel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Malibu
Level Contributor
144 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Top of Its Class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

If you want one of the high end resorts, this is not it. But neither is the price for this cute little motel just moments from some of nature's finest sites! We were in love with the 3 Explorers' proximity to the very amazing sites of Echo Point, the glorious 3 Sisters, Scenic World with its crazy trams and plummeting train, and much more. The room was clean, the beds comfy, and the wi-fi working. Breakfast, which was included in the beyond-reasonable price, was mediocre at best, but definitely filling. With the price of restaurant food and many of the entry fees to various Blue Mountain activities, we were thankful for a reasonable accommodation. If you don't need 5 Star pampering, you will love this little jewel set amidst the glory of the Blue Mountains.

Room Tip: If you need two beds instead of one, ask for the queen/twin combo at no extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LAPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel & your Visit to the Blue Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    149
    42
    5
    8
See reviews for
109
157
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Exactly what we'd expected reading previous reviews. All you need for a weekend of walking exploring in the blue mountains; a cosy warm room and bed to return back to. The people running the 3 explorers are helpful and very lovely. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charmmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for your very kind review & we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & visit to the Blue Mountains, we hope to see you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We rented the family room for 3 of us, for a 2 nights stay. The room was huge, which was something expected of a motel in Australia, at least for those that I have stayed in.

The family room comes with fridge and microwave oven, which was great as we could warm up soups for dinner/breakfast.

Its location was great, a 10 min walk to Echo Point and the 3 Sisters Lookout, and just opposite the Chocolate company. If you don't drive, the bus stop is just located 1 min from the motel, we walked from Katoomba Station to the motel, which took us 20 min and it's not so bad.

Or if you drive (which we did for the 2nd day), plenty of parking spaces for you, and its near the Cliff Drive, that allows you to explore the other Lookout in Blue Mountains.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank _giN_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay & the 3 Explorers Motel & visit to the Blue Mountains, very happy that enjoyed the visit & look forward to a return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

The motel was extremely near to the three sister Blue mountains in Katoomba, The motel was very clean with Beds of Five star rating, Heated beds, also the room was very well furnished. we were so close to the chocolate factory & the Blue Mountains.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Balwant63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Nice motel. I stayed there for two night and found the room big and comfortable. There's a coffe maker and a little fridge that allow you to have some independence. There's free wifi for the guests and the room is cleaned everyday.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Géssica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review of your stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, we hope you will return to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

The 3 explorers motel was a little above average motel. The rooms were actually quite large for a motel, and felt very spacious. There was no real extra services, which is what you generally would expect at a motel, but i had quite a nice sleep.It was very close to the walking tracks around katoomba near the blue mountains, and near the main street of katoomba. Not bad in anyway, just not particularly excellent In comparison to other places out there (bear in mind this is coming from a person who usually stays in 5 star hotels). 3 out of 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
4 Thank Nelson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

My husband baby and myself were very comfortable in our room. The staff were very helpful.The blue mountains is a lovely place to visit when i come back I will be staying at the three explorer's again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.0 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Explorers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Property: 3 Explorers Motel
Address: 197 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing