We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Katoomba Hiking”
Review of 3 Explorers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
3 Explorers Motel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here Dec 27 2013 while in AU for SCUBA. Decided to head to Katoomba for a day of hiking. This hotel is very convenient to the trails but is about a mile walk from trains and most dining places. The hotel met expectations. It is nothing fancy but it was clean and conveniently located. I would recommend as long as you are not expecting the Ritz.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, hope to see you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for 3 Explorers Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is 2 blocks from the Three Sisters Lookout so was a very convenient place to stay for us. We were in the Blue Mountains for Christmas and one of our party was slightly incapacitated.This motel was within walking distance of our Christmas lunch restaurant. The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robynne_dudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, hope to see you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed one night to see the Blue Mountains at dusk and dawn. Great location, a few minutes drive from Three Sisters and Echo Point. A bit pricey, but is clean, nice and tidy, all you really need. A nice chocolate shop on the opposite side of the street.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golface69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, hope to see you again should you return to Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The hotel was in an excellent location for walking to hiking trails and other attractions, plus a few nearby restaurants. Rooms very clean and comfortable but not overly large. Small fridge and kettle provided.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The room is clean and the service is basic. Probably the accommodation at Blue Mountains is very prices. $205 per night is just a bit expensive at a motel room. Expecting a better room. Paid less at other resorts with much better rooms, views and location during the same period. First time so will not stay at Blue Mountain next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank William Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to offer your views on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel & visit to the Blue Mountains, yes we are a Motel & advertise as such, we prefer to greet all Guests on arrival & explain the area, unfortunately this is not possible with a Family of 4 arriving during the night after we had closed & leaving early in the morning, we hope you do return to visit to the Blue Mountains, there are a few Hotels in Katoomba that offer good views & perhaps you could stay for a few days to enjoy the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Lovely motel. Great beds. Friendly and helpful people. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Walking distance to Echo point and wonderful views. 5 min drive to Scenic World. Fabulous coffee and chocolate shop across the road

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank BrisbaneFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a very kind review of your recent visit to the Blue Mountains & your stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, good to hear that you enjoyed everything & hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

we stayed for 2 nights in the family room and it was great! if all you need is simple lodging without any fancy perks or views, this is the place to stay when in Katoomba. The room was clean and the room does feel like it has undergone a bit of a makeover. The family room was spacious enough for my husband, myself and my 2 boys - 6 and 3 years of age. And because it was really cold in the night while we were there, having electric blankets was such a bonus. Love the free Wifi and ample parking lots. Just a 5 mins walk away to echo point and a 5 mins drive away to Scenic World. Do check out Leura while it in Katoomba. Shops and cafes there are worth a visit!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msbeatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & hope that we see you again, thank you for taking the time to offer future guests information regarding your experience in a very kind review of your stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.0 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
1.5 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
412 reviews
0.0 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Explorers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Address: 197 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: £69 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing