We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great customer service”
Review of 3 Explorers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
3 Explorers Motel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great customer service”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Highly recommended! Perfect location, very quiet, clean, comfortable bed, refrigerator, ironing board, Jacquzzi tub. We were able to walk over to the mountain trail within minutes. It's also conveniently located right across the way from Lilianfels, where we considered staying, but it was fully booked. Well, I was grateful for that; we saved a considerable sum. Management was very helpful with maps, recommendations and very responsive. Book it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLCNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, a pleasure to have you visit, hope to see you again should you return to Australia..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    150
    42
    5
    10
See reviews for
109
160
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Arrived here after reading trip advisor reviews with great enthusiasm.big mistake ,met one of the rudest staff I have had the misfortune to come across. Asked if they had a single room and was told only family rooms available said OK could I see the room and was told no go somewhere else as he couldn't be bothered I said how rude to which he replied you're the bloody rude one . nice

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank julian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Firstly I would like to point out that you have not actually stayed at the 3 Explorers Motel, something that we need to take up with Trip Advisor ASAP, reviews are suppose to be from Guests that have stayed at the Motel.
Sounds as though you did not book a reservation & it would be quite likely that only Family Rooms would have been available, Neither I or my Wife who Manage the Property would use the offensive language that you imply, all of which sounds as though you may have been a potential guest that we would have preferred not to have stay,which of course would be our right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The motel was very well located only a few hundred yards from the Three Sisters viewing point and about 15 minutes walk from the town centre.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and provided all we needed. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKtraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, hope to see you again should you return to Australia..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights recently for the 6 foot challenge. Bus transport to the start of the race was just around the corner. Beds were so comfortable, rooms extremely clean, and the Manager was very helpful supplying us with crockery. Nice quiet area as well. Just a short walk to the Three Sisters and a pleasant walk into the heart of Katoomba.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, a pleasure to have you visit & hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

It is a motel so best to arrive in a car. It is about 1 mile outside Katoomba town centre but right next to Echo Point and the Three Sisters. We stayed in a double room. The rooms are comfortable although if you are on a four week trans-Australia visit there is not a lot of room for all your suitcases. Although there is a microwave and fridge in the room there is little room to do any self catering. In fact although crockery can be supplied if required I would discount it. A cooked breakfast can be supplied if you order and pay for it the night before.
There are several cafes and restaurants very close by and you can stroll down to the Echo Point cafe and have a meal at most times of the day. There is also a fairly exclusive and expensive restaurant and hotel next door.
There is a Coles supermarket with free underground parking in the town centre.
The only negative which applies to most motels is that sound tends to carry between rooms and of course if you are in a room located upstairs you have to drag your bags up the stairs.
All in all, it's in a great location, it is comfortable, Chris and Mereoni are very helpful and there is a free unmonitored wifi service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Crusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, a pleasure to have you visit, hope to see you again should you return to Australia..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We just stayed one night in a family room with 3 adults, but Chris made us feel very welcome and made some excellent recommendations for things to do in Katoomba. Loved the layout of the room - I had the bottom bunk on the other side of the room and felt like I had my own space within the room! Very clean and lots of towels. I've been to Katoomba dozens of times and usually stay in B&B's but would not hesitate to stay here again and I've taken a few brochures to recommend to others! If you get a chance don't miss the PINS Restaurant just up the street, yum!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank fionainoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, a pleasure to have you visit & hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this motel in Jan 2013. We traveled to Katoomba on the train which took about 90 mins. The motel is on the outskirts of the town on the doorstep of the three sisters. I would recommend you get a bus from getting off the train, only takes a few mins but a fair walk in any heat. Owner was really helpful with plans for our stay. He booked us into restaurant he recommended at Pins on lurine. See separate review. The room was clean and had everything you needed from a motel, great value. The location allows you to get to the three sisters ahead of the bus loads of tourists and believe me there are some serious crowds that go here!! Onwer stored our bags for our last day when we checked out to allow us another day enjoying the walks around the Blue mountains. Would definately stay here again if in Katoomba.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dippyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, a pleasure to have you visit, hope to see you again should you return to Australia..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.0 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
903 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Explorers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Property: 3 Explorers Motel
Address: 197 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing