We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing!”
Review of 3 Explorers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
3 Explorers Motel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disapointing!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We decided to celebrate my wife's birthday together with the rest of our family at a Christmas in July at the Fairmont Resort.

The birthday was a special one with a zero at the end!

At the last minute, we decided to stay overnight rather than drive back after dinner - this was possibly an error in judgement cos the Fairmont is a bit pricey for accommodation if you dont book in advance

The 3 Explorers had great Tripadvisor reviews so we thought we should give it a try and because of the birthday decided to splurge on the Luxury Spa Suite. Sadly, it wasn't what we expected for the money. At $260 per night, you are getting into a price point comparable with a Sydney CBD 5-star establishment.

My disappointment started at check in - I was in a celebratory space and mentioned we were in the mountains for my wife's birthday - only to be told that they used to give guests champagne in their room for special occasions but discovered that people told lies about this so they no longer do it! I don't drink so I really wasn't interested in champagne but a simple 'hope she has a happy birthday' would have been nice! BTW at the Fairmont, we had Santa sing happy birthday to the birthday girl.

My second reason I was disappointed was the name 'Luxury Spa Suite' - I expected something a little special for this. Yes it did have a spa but the idea of of soaking in the bath was not on the agenda as there is no heating in the bathroom - the only heating in the 'suite' was the standard motel a/c/ in the main room. We weren't going to venture out of the main room in Katoomba in winter! Apart from the necessities of life the bathroom wasnt a good place to be!

The same was true for the second bedroom - two single beds which was handy for storing our suitcases but again - no heating in this room either. The manager was insistent that although it had two single beds - we would have to pay extra for additional guests. Again, there was only myself and my wife but I felt like with the birthday deal, he thought we were trying to put one over on him.

I am not sure if the manager is jaded by being in the industry too long or really doesn't like people. Perhaps he was just having a bad day as other reviewers had a different experience.

The contrast with the service at the Fairmont was marked. If we were to stay in the mountains again, we would definitely book ahead and stay at the Fairmont as it is in a different league.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank DDrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, not to sure if your comments regarding check in are correct, but obviously you were unhappy with your choice of accommodation after you could not reserve rooms at the Fairmont, pleased that you enjoyed the birthday celebrations & your time in the Blue Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    150
    42
    5
    9
See reviews for
111
159
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worrigee, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed at the 3 Explorers Motel in mid-July, sharing a double room with my wife. My parents shared another double room. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a friendly host, who checked us in, then gave us some information on the local area. He gave some great advice about parking and how to avoid parking costs, places to see, things to do and how to get around. He was most helpful.

The rooms were clean and pleasant and of good enough size as a base to explore the area from. The bathroom was clean with a decent shower. The only small issues I had were that the water temperature changed quite a lot as other rooms used their showers at the same time. And the lack of Foxtel was a bit of a letdown for night time TV viewing, though the included free Wi-Fi was a big help.

The Motel itself is ideally located in Katoomba. It's a 5 minute stroll from the 3 Sisters and Echo Point, where you'll find a tourist information, visitors center, gift shops and cafe/restaurant (where they do a decent breakfast!). The main streets and shops of Katoomba are a fairly long stroll, or a few minutes in the car, so most amenities are only a short trip away. Also, directly across the street from the motel is a nice chocolate shop/cafe where you can grab a warm drink, a cake or some locally me chocolate.

If I was to return to the area, I would be happy to stay at the 3 Explorers again, and it would likely be my first choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed for two days over weekend. Gracious host made us most welcome and had some very useful suggestions for activities and eateries that were on the money. Look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daffydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parrearra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A great spot, handy to transport, short walk to town and a 5 min stroll to Echo Point. What more could you wish for. The Motel was clean and had all ammenities that we needed. Staff were extremely helpful as to buses to take you to view the local sites and also with regards to walking in bush. Echo Point is a great viewing platform for the 3 Sisters and also to viewthe extent of the hils and valleys of the Blue Mountains.

Room Tip: Queen Rooms are great -
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robyne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Owner is very friendly and introduce you to the surrounding on arrival. Room is clean, air conditioned and serviced everyday. Excellent location, within walking distance to 3 sisters and scenic world. Quiet environment. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hnjhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've stayed in Katoomba a fair few times over the years and the town has its fair share of shabby guesthouses, seedy B&Bs and faded hotels. The 3 Explorers Motel is a welcome change from this scene - we stayed there in room 3 last Friday and Saturday, and found it to be a very clean, cosy, well maintained motel with good facilities and friendly service. Cleanliness in my accommodation is very important to me, and this place was seriously spotless - you won't find a cleaner place to stay anywhere.

The room was also a good size, it had excellent heating (the heating was also kindly turned on for us before we checked in), the bathroom was large and had a nice big shower with endless hot water, and on the second morning we ordered breakfast delivered to the room, which was generous in size and delicious!

The motel is also well located - it takes 15 minutes or so to walk to the centre of town, and less than 5 minutes to Echo Point.

Finally, I found the motel to be really quiet and relaxing - the room was very well insulated (from sound and weather) and had block-out curtains, comfortable mattresses and high quality bedding. I had an excellent sleep here both nights, which is what it all comes down to in the end. Thank you to the 3 Explorers for a great stay, you obviously put a lot of effort into what you do!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ipex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Me and my 11 year old son stayed here during school holidays to visit Katoomba and 3 Sisters. The location is very good as it is walking distance to the Echo Point as well as Scenic World (15 min walk) The chocolate shop right across the hotel is a good place to wind down after busy day.

We had no.1 room downstairs. We thought it would be noisy but it is not too bad. The room is basic but comfortable with double bed and electric blanket, extra pillows in the wardrobe, plasma tv, tea/coffee, microwave and bar fridge. The bathroom equipped with toiletries and fixed hair dryer as well as towels.

The room also has reverse Aircon which keep our stay quite comfortable as it is freezing outside. The only thing that I don't give a full 5 star is the hot water system is not reliable. My son keep getting the icy cold shower even with only hot water tap turned on. I was too, half way washing my hair, the water turned cold. Not sure if it has to do with other people using the hot water at the same time? But really need to be look at as it is the only downside of our stay. IF this is fixed, we would highly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Maybe upstairs room will be better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanshineSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.0 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
1.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
484 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Explorers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Property: 3 Explorers Motel
Address: 197 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing